JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 28, 2012
This is my second FP...the...
This is my second FP...the first was 30 yrs. ago in college. This is a heavy pen. With the cap snapped to the back in writing position, it's quite back heavy. I find myself writing with the cap setting on the counter most of the time due to the back weight it creates. This is the second one of these for me. The first clogged up after 60 days of daily use and could not be made to work properly no matter what cleaning method I used. JetPens came to the rescue and replaced it. Great! customer service here.

Against what has been said by others, I'm not sure this would be my first FP of choice. The Med. nib is actually quite broad. If I were starting out, I would want something lighter and more balanced. The ink flow is good but this replacement will stop flowing properly if you stop writing for more than 20 sec. Something the first one I got did not do. You could lay it down, answer the phone, then go right back to writing, no problem.

Quality of fit and finish are top notch for such a reasonably priced pen. And as most have said, the cap snaps on quite firmly. Maybe to much so. I got the Maple version because I just finished a cabinet project using Maple... seemed logical. Don't shy away from getting this pen. It's quite pleasing to the eye and is an 'average' writer. I'm actually going to see if I can reshape the nib to be finer and smoother or replace it altogether if possible. Until then, it puts ink to paper to the best of my limited penmanship abilities.

4 people found this helpful
trimsterc22
 
February 28, 2013
I really enjoyed the...
I really enjoyed the aesthetics of this pen. But I was hesitant at first to purchase it because it is manufactured by a sporting good company that isn't necessarily known for their quality. The limited reviews online of this pen also made me slightly hesitant as well.

However, I was pleasantly surprised. As a left hander not every fountain pen works well for me; but this pen actual works great. It has a good design and the construction is actually top notch. I purchased the Pelikan C499 Fountain converter with it, and it fits great as if it was made for this pen; It provided no problems while providing excellent ink flow. I have used a variety of inks with this pen and the pen handles them all with no problem. The nib provides a beautifully balanced medium nib that flows very smoothly on copy, notebook, and expensive paper that I have tried it on.

It writes first time every time with no flow problems. Another concern of mine was the wood appears to be slick as glass in the photos on the site, and I thought that it would be a slippery pen and hard to use; but it actually is not. It has a light shine to the wood but the wood still feels like wood and provides a good amount of grip so the pen will not slip from your hands, even after long use. The metal on the pen feels of good quality and is thick.

The cap has a nice firm snap to it when taken off or placed on the pen. Overall all of my concerns for the pen diminished upon receiving it and using it. It flushes easily, it writes great. It has a great feel to it. It writes great and has a really excellent build quality. It is now my everyday pen and it writes flawlessly every time.

2 people found this helpful
joshuabd52
 
February 17, 2012
I enjoy the look and...
Verified Purchase
I enjoy the look and feel of this pen. It wright smoothly but could use a finer nib.

I also enjoy how you can see the wood grains, combine that with a little ware on the finish and no two pens look like.
I would recommend this pen for those who are staring out with fountain pens.

side note: wood feels warmer than metal, which I like.

2 people found this helpful
agskinner
 
April 8, 2013
It took months of research...
Verified Purchase
It took months of research to find a new daily writer - I finally settled on this one and I'm glad I did. I've been using it for a little over a month and can't put it down. The ink always starts flowing immediately (or with a little coaxing after it's been sitting open for awhile) and there is never any skipping. The wood body is a nice touch as well - it's never cold like some metallic bodied pens - and it adds a somewhat rustic look to the otherwise modern design. This has quickly replaced several others as my daily writer.

The one small complaint I've had, and have heard from other people, is that the cap is too heavy when it's posted. It's true, but it really hasn't been a problem, the cap just sits on the table while writing. This pen is weighted wonderfully and it fits so well in the hand without the cap, there's no need to post it.

On an ink level, it does come with a cartridge - and has room to carry a spare inside - but I never used it because I immediately switched to the Kaweco Standard Converter and use J. Herbin Inks - a personal preference, but one that has made this pen a joy to use.

It's a great buy and I recommend it to anyone.

1 person found this helpful
justintrupiano
 
October 2, 2012
One of the best pens...
One of the best pens in my collection. Worth much much more than it's more elite counterparts. Writing is smooth as silk. Buy it! It's worth every penny till the last drop of ink!

1 person found this helpful
pranaygodha
 
January 22, 2014
I was super excited to...
Verified Purchase
I was super excited to order my Spalding fountain pen. I had bookmarked it during my first order, deciding that if I liked fountain pens, some day I would come back and "splurge" (which, I think we all know in fountain pens, "splurging" is a very relative thing).

Fast forward a year, and I decide to take the plunge. Overall, I'm a bit disappointed, but the pen still has some great qualities.

As far as the benefits go, the pen is stunning to look at and the nib is excellent. I absolutely love the wood finish and think it looks great. Mine is lighter in shade than the image led me to expect. If you're hoping for it to dark, red or even a medium type wood shade, it is not. It's a very light wood color. But I still think it looks absolutely magnificent. The nib has a great flow. I personally prefer a bold nib, if possible. I like thick, dark, even outright wet lines being laid down on paper. The Spalding is far lighter than what I'd like, but it feels great. Super smooth. For comparison purposes, my main fountain pen thus far is as TWSBI Mini with a Bold nib.

Unfortunately, I do have complaints. So much so, that the Spalding will not be much in my regular routine, though I do keep trying to work it in.

First, I will say, the pen is extremely poorly balanced. The cap is exceedingly heavy. It may be an exaggeration saying that 90% of the pens weight is in the cap, but it doesn't seem much like it. Whatever end of the pen the cap is on, you can feel it and it really just makes it feel cheaper than it should. And it affects my writing to some degree as well. I feel like I have very poor control when attaching the cap to the end (I know there are more formal terms for some of these parts, and I apologize for my crude method of relaying these details). Since the pen uses an international short cartridge, there is a large amount of room inside the barrel. I have considered trying to fill the barrel with some heavy material, since it would balance the pen much better. And overall, the pen is too light for my tastes anyways.

The nib and "mount", the parts that screw in to the barrel of the pen are always slightly unscrewed when I go to use the pen. I am able to write, but even with the mount loose 1/8 of a turn, there is flex between the nib/mount and the pen barrel. It's just frustrating since I know when I remove the pen from my pen cup, I'm inevitably going to have to do a quick turn to cinch down the nib before I continue. When I'm busy and not consciously thinking, I just start using the pen and end up with a bit of a mess on my hands, since my handwriting is affected by this. I may look in to some chemical to try to cinch down the threads, but not lock them permanently.

I am using the included black ink cartridge. I bought an international short converter, but it does not fit. It's just a hair too long in the initial stem that mates in with the pen (or so it seems). I like the color of the ink quite a bit (I like my black ink to be very dark). However, whenever I take the cap off the front side of the nib has a coating of black ink on it. I will dab it off with some tissue, but if I cap it and leave it nib down in a pen cup, within 30 minutes the front nib will be coated again. I suspect the cartridge will not last very long if this keeps up. It was also extremely messy to install, I've never had trouble before with cartridges or converters, but made a very large mess on my hands, old shorts and 3 or 4 paper towels. This almost certainly was more my doing due to inexperience; But the process may not be as fool proof as it was on my Pilot / TWSBI / Lamy pens.

 
September 24, 2013
This is now my favourite...
Verified Purchase
This is now my favourite pen. Not only does it look beautiful, but the nib and ink flow are perfect for me. It's a rather wet nib so may not be for everyone, but I love the way it glides.
Because it's made of aluminium, when the body is screwed on the nib section, it can make an unpleasant metal-on-metal noise. There are probably some products I can use to lubricate the parts a little so that it goes away, but even that grating noise isn't enough to ruin the experience of writing with this pen.

annechristine.gasc
 
June 13, 2012
This is a remarkably...
This is a remarkably lovely pen, and unexpected as I was totally unfamiliar with the brand. It stays inked, writes well, and is user friendly. I am writing up a full review on my blog this week.

http://pentamento.blogspot.com/

parsifalsSister