My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I wrote a review for..., March 9, 2013
I wrote a review for the silver one, but since the issue (rattling button) affects both, here it is again...

The pen feels nice, very nice. The only issue that I had with it is that while writing, the retract-o-button rattled around a little bit. It is snug when the pen is sheathed, although is writing position is has room to move around and make a little bit of noise. Enough to drive a man crazy.

I used a small piece of .0025 inch plastic shim stock and tucked it down into the gap between the button and the pen body, thereby saving it from a lifetime of darkness in the drawer.

If the rattle would have not been fixable, the pen would have gotten the lowest possible rating. If the rattle was absent upon arrival, the highest.
  No question this is an..., September 25, 2013
By lin...
No question this is an excellent looking pen -- and it feels great in the hand. It's all quite nice until you try to use it, really. The mechanism has a cheap feel to it; the knock is a bit wobbly. The included refill, a fairly standard ballpoint, is also surprisingly small given the length and breadth of the pen. It's a pity you can't swap it out for a Jetstream.
  I bought this as a gift,..., October 22, 2011
By sos...
I bought this as a gift, and was really worried about the scraping sound and writing performance but the sound is fine (I was expecting nails on chalkboard) and it writes smoothly. Although, the button is loose enough to rattle a little while writing, which is more annoying than the scraping sound imo.
  Plunger makes a hollow,..., September 17, 2010
Plunger makes a hollow, unpleasant metal-on-metal scraping sound with each click and is loose enough to rattle, especially in the down position. Ink is unremarkable at best. Clip seems solid. I like the color of the body, but the whole thing is larger and more ostentatious than I'd prefer.
  I really like the body..., August 28, 2010
By fly...
I really like the body of this pen. Looks great and isn't too heavy for a metal bodied pen, though the mechanism is a bit clacky. I added a longer spring to improve the action. The stock clear plastic ink refill was a bit disappointing, though. Scratchy and not much different than a cheap Bic pen. Maybe the metal A.G. Spalding refills are better? Does anybody have experience with the refills? They've been sold out so I haven't been able to try them. Instead, I took a spare Pental Selfit refill and modified it to fit. Quite a bit better, though the Uniball Jetstream refills are the smoothest. I might try to modify that to fit.
  Nice pen. A bit bulky..., April 5, 2010
By kjf...
Nice pen. A bit bulky but overall comfortable with smooth ink flow. Good pen for the price and would recommend it to anyone
  Overall, this is a pretty..., December 12, 2009
Overall, this is a pretty nice pen. It has decent ink flow (although could be better), and it's very proffesional. It's body is beautifully crafted, and this is reccomended for general businesses and architects.
  The pen feels lighter..., November 4, 2009
By ire...
The pen feels lighter than I thought it would be for a pen with a metal body. The clicking system feels a little flimsy. I'm not sure I really like this pen as much as I hoped. The ballpoint doesn't write better than a cheap papermate ballpoint pen. But this pen looks good and people will comment positively on it.
  This pen looks very profession..., September 2, 2009
This pen looks very professional and elegant. This pen is great for writers, engineers, etc. The navy blue is a very good choice (a lot better than the silver in my opinion). I want to get this pen so badly.
  Not a huge fan of this..., August 12, 2009
Not a huge fan of this pen. It's heavy so when I dropped it about a foot once and it made a huge dent on the top silver cap area. It writes well but it just isn't how I like my pens.
  This is a very nice pen..., April 22, 2009
By kgse6
This is a very nice pen and well worth the price. I think the only ballpoints in the $15-$20 price range that I would rate higher would be the Caran d'Ache 849 and the Lamy Safari.

However, it is a pity that Spalding has seemingly discontinued the wood series ballpoints. They had the same fine quality and affordable price. The orange one was particularly nice. JP doesn't sell them but stay away from the Spalding 'Streamline' collection. I think they are the line that replaced the wood ballpoints. They are a cheap plastic and of an obviously lower quality. Spalding has them for $15 but I'm not sure they are even worth half that.
  I own five of these and..., March 28, 2009
I own five of these and I am happy I found this website. Good weight, writes smooth, and they look fantastic. The blue is better looking than the silver (in my opinion). I found a little trick in terms of refills, they use zebra f-refills. The refills offered on this website are reasonably priced it is just easy to get the f-refills if you need them.