My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
17 out of 17 people found the following review helpful
  These brush pens definitely..., May 21, 2010
By ale...
These brush pens definitely have their pros and cons.

Pros:

-Excellent Blending (with water & the other colors)
-Great Brushes (that are not too soft or hard and they're not imitation foam brushes)
-Light Weight/Travel Friendly (I take them anywhere and everywhere)
-No Odor/No Mess

Cons:

-No light-fastness (this is a HUGE deal-breaker for me)
-Not meant for large artwork (painting an entire 8/11" page will be T-E-D-I-O-U-S!)
-Little Ink (For the price you would expect the chambers to be full of ink!!! If I knew
that these were just glorified markers with brush tips on the ends I would have
just settled for Crayola Brand.)


Final Judgement:

These pens allow me to PAINT (actually paint!!!) without the mess and can be used/taken anywhere. While I have my complaints about these pens, I cannot put them down!!! Although these pens will not fully replace an actual water color and brush set, they are so convenient that at the moment I use nothing else!!!
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  love them!!!! there the..., March 24, 2011
love them!!!! there the best and this is my first time using watercolor pencils:), if anything the color is amazing the tips are fine and prefect! and they can work with any medium!!!

tip- they work very well with copic markers and ink pens:)
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this one to..., January 11, 2011
By rea...
I bought this one to try out before getting the whole set and after the first stroke I wish I had the whole set. If you have used Akashiya's Fude disposable brush or Pentel's pocket brush, this is the same feel. The Pentel brush has more width diversity but that one has longer bristles. It looks really good even before you put water on the ink. If you do watercolors or brush painting this is a good buy. I gave it four stars for not being refillable. The length of the brush is really a good compromise, long so it has a larger ink capacity but not so long that it does not fit in most pockets and needs a special case.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I've been buying these..., August 1, 2010
I've been buying these in the 5-pen sets. Since I can't spring for it all at once.
But I have most now and boy do I love them.

I love the water-based media and since I like to bike and move around alot I bought these. They let me paint spontanesly whenever I break at the park, without the fuss of using a cup of water and brush and pans taking up room in my pack. (Now I can carry my extra snacks _3)
I like how you can dilute them simply by dipping them in a bit of water, how brilliant they come out, and the small sets are beutifully matched to eachother, and they do blend well.
They don't replace my watercolors entirely, but for the artist on the go they are fun and really worth it.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  i work in water color..., August 10, 2009
By tcapko
i work in water color and inks, and these brush pens are not only fun but have brought a whole other level of style and look to my art work that i just love!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The case is easy to fix...., May 30, 2009
The case is easy to fix. Slide the tray out, and turn it around so the brushes will be cap-up. Then, before you slide it back in, cut off just the top end of the tray, so the brushes can slide out of their tracks.
There are advantages and drawbacks to not having to stop and dip the brush.
I started out sketching the flowers from the yard, as I have since I was a little girl. I had an epiphany: every brushstroke is a Brushstroke. If I had realized it 50 years ago, I might be an art teacher today, instead of a chemistry teacher. Or maybe, it was as a chemist and a teacher that the philosophical insight arose, and it just came to the surface while I was holding a brush.
As a chemist, the continued fluidity of the water-based ink delights and amazes me.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Beautiful, quality pens...., September 5, 2008
Beautiful, quality pens. We bought this as a gift for my sister. Shes a professional artist who uses mainly water colours and travels alot. She is sure to love these beautiful brush pens. There is nothing like this available in Australia, not even remotely close. Hooray for Jet Pens! I am VERY tempted to buy these for myself as well. I probably will :)
  @mport84 - That's such..., July 9, 2009
@mport84 - That's such a simple, elegant solution for the case - works perfectly! Thanks!
  Pros: Great control,..., April 7, 2009
Pros: Great control, smooth feel, love the portability factor and how you can dilute them by dipping in water. I think they may be more versatile and generally useful than the old paint + brush... Blasphemy!

Cons: Wish the package functioned better as a carrying case. The snaps are cheap and difficult to open / close. The pens are difficult to remove and replace, I always end up pulling the entire tray out and they scatter all over the place. I ended up loading them into a pen case and that's that. For having made such great pens you'd think they'd put more thought into the package design.

Verdict: Pens are wonderful, get a different case for streamlining frequent use
Grade: A-
  These pens are fab! They..., July 8, 2008
These pens are fab! They have amazing blending properties and are fun!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  does it have a guide..., January 29, 2011
does it have a guidebook?
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  got this for my mom as..., October 15, 2009
By choyan
got this for my mom as a gift. It didn't look as nice as the pictures showed here. and it did not com with the pamphlet of teaching you how to use it. Very disappointed.