JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 21, 2010
These brush pens definitely...
These brush pens definitely have their pros and cons.

Pros:

-Excellent Blending (with water & the other colors)
-Great Brushes (that are not too soft or hard and they're not imitation foam brushes)
-Light Weight/Travel Friendly (I take them anywhere and everywhere)
-No Odor/No Mess

Cons:

-No light-fastness (this is a HUGE deal-breaker for me)
-Not meant for large artwork (painting an entire 8/11" page will be T-E-D-I-O-U-S!)
-Little Ink (For the price you would expect the chambers to be full of ink!!! If I knew
that these were just glorified markers with brush tips on the ends I would have
just settled for Crayola Brand.)


Final Judgement:

These pens allow me to PAINT (actually paint!!!) without the mess and can be used/taken anywhere. While I have my complaints about these pens, I cannot put them down!!! Although these pens will not fully replace an actual water color and brush set, they are so convenient that at the moment I use nothing else!!!

21 people found this helpful
alethia.bodis
 
March 24, 2011
love them!!!! there the...
Verified Purchase
love them!!!! there the best and this is my first time using watercolor pencils:), if anything the color is amazing the tips are fine and prefect! and they can work with any medium!!!

tip- they work very well with copic markers and ink pens:)

6 people found this helpful
Quistiscan
 
January 11, 2011
I bought this one to...
I bought this one to try out before getting the whole set and after the first stroke I wish I had the whole set. If you have used Akashiya's Fude disposable brush or Pentel's pocket brush, this is the same feel. The Pentel brush has more width diversity but that one has longer bristles. It looks really good even before you put water on the ink. If you do watercolors or brush painting this is a good buy. I gave it four stars for not being refillable. The length of the brush is really a good compromise, long so it has a larger ink capacity but not so long that it does not fit in most pockets and needs a special case.

4 people found this helpful
 
August 1, 2010
I've been buying these...
I've been buying these in the 5-pen sets. Since I can't spring for it all at once.
But I have most now and boy do I love them.

I love the water-based media and since I like to bike and move around alot I bought these. They let me paint spontanesly whenever I break at the park, without the fuss of using a cup of water and brush and pans taking up room in my pack. (Now I can carry my extra snacks _3)
I like how you can dilute them simply by dipping them in a bit of water, how brilliant they come out, and the small sets are beutifully matched to eachother, and they do blend well.
They don't replace my watercolors entirely, but for the artist on the go they are fun and really worth it.

4 people found this helpful
April.hurtado
 
August 10, 2009
i work in water color...
Verified Purchase
i work in water color and inks, and these brush pens are not only fun but have brought a whole other level of style and look to my art work that i just love!

3 people found this helpful
 
May 30, 2009
The case is easy to fix....
Verified Purchase
The case is easy to fix. Slide the tray out, and turn it around so the brushes will be cap-up. Then, before you slide it back in, cut off just the top end of the tray, so the brushes can slide out of their tracks.
There are advantages and drawbacks to not having to stop and dip the brush.
I started out sketching the flowers from the yard, as I have since I was a little girl. I had an epiphany: every brushstroke is a Brushstroke. If I had realized it 50 years ago, I might be an art teacher today, instead of a chemistry teacher. Or maybe, it was as a chemist and a teacher that the philosophical insight arose, and it just came to the surface while I was holding a brush.
As a chemist, the continued fluidity of the water-based ink delights and amazes me.

2 people found this helpful
 
September 5, 2008
Beautiful, quality pens....
Verified Purchase
Beautiful, quality pens. We bought this as a gift for my sister. Shes a professional artist who uses mainly water colours and travels alot. She is sure to love these beautiful brush pens. There is nothing like this available in Australia, not even remotely close. Hooray for Jet Pens! I am VERY tempted to buy these for myself as well. I probably will :)

2 people found this helpful
evieheffernan
 
December 6, 2014
Awesome!!!!!...
Verified Purchase
Awesome!!!!!

handworks1771
 
November 1, 2014
Great set of pens--they...
Verified Purchase
Great set of pens--they write and draw beautifully--good ink flow--good point and flexibility. Prompt shipment, arrived unscathed. Can't ask for any better.

glasspoppy
 
July 9, 2009
@mport84 - That's such...
Verified Purchase
@mport84 - That's such a simple, elegant solution for the case - works perfectly! Thanks!

ihavecomputer