JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 7, 2012
Does not suprise me one...
Verified Purchase
Does not suprise me one bit that this pen sold out immediately. I was lucky to
get mine. . .figured it would sell out. What a beauty it is! Too much money? Nope.
Worth every penny. I have an extensive pen collection from high end fountain
pens to 99 cent ball point pens but I have never encountered anything like
the CW7T Pen Type-A. To say that it is exceptionally well made doesn't do it
justice. I am not being corny when I say you can actually feel the love that
went into the making of this pen, both from the inventors and the people who
crafted it. It is a pure delight to hold. The case is wonderful. It is fun to
play with! And writes beautifully. In short: perfect. I am totally in love with
this pen.

4 people found this helpful
catbuddha
 
May 22, 2013
The good : this pen is...
Verified Purchase
The good : this pen is definitely special. The craftmanship is exceptional, is very heavy and it makes for a fine toy - for example, you can spin the "cap" and the thin air layer acts as lubricant, can make a "pop" sound with it, or you can even use it as a weapon in more than one way !

The bad : the pen is so heavy, so it is fairly easy to damage the fine point. Then, being perfectly cylindrical it rolls easily - this can be corrected by adding a small bump at the top of the cylinder. Finally, the low air pressure in the container might mess up the gel ink continuity, meaning that there's an impression of running out of ink after you start writing.

Overall, the good parts definitely compensate the bad ones, and the pen should be used as intended - meaning as a toy that writes rather than a pen. A line to cw&T : make it of gold ( spend 10k) and sell it for 100k :)

2 people found this helpful
 
July 21, 2013
I recieved this pen as...
I recieved this pen as a gift from my daughter, it is the best! As a designer from the old school I still like to use ink and paper for my craft and this is perfect. My lines are smooth and the designs look great. Everything is uniform. Thanx for the creation of this fabulous pen.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 2, 2012
I received my pen as...
I received my pen as part of the Kickstarter campaign as well. I was one of the last to receive mine, but it was well worth the year wait. The most unique thing about this pen is definitely the pop sound it makes when you pull it from the sleeve. This is due to the amazing tolerances that they manufacture these pens to. Writing with it gets a little tiring after long periods though, the barrel has a bit more thickness to it than I'm used to and no grip, so my fingers tend to get a little tired of holding it. My normal writing pens are hi-tec cavaliers and rotring 600's for comparison.

All in all it's a lovely pen and eye catching.

2 people found this helpful
 
June 13, 2014
While I have a couple...
Verified Purchase
While I have a couple more expensive writing instruments, this pen is the prize of my collection. I guess I end up appreciating a work horse more than a race horse. And that's what this pen is, a beautiful writing instrument that is rugged and offers a range of pen tip sizes via the Hi-Tec C cartridge. I usually like the .25mm for all of the creative work that I do, but I carry a .4mm in my pen case in the event I'll be taking a lot of notes. The ruler pen case is also the perfect accompaniment, another tool that comes in handy almost every day.

meethook10
 
February 15, 2014
I had my Pen Type-A for...
I had my Pen Type-A for a few months and then sold it on eBay. I have to say, it's a lovely pen, but not terribly practical. The edges of the case are so sharp that they can damage the point of a hi-tec c if you use it as a ruler. It's quite heavy. Certainly can only live on a desk. No chance that this can be carried or live in a bag. It must be reinserted into the case every time you put it down (as it will roll off your desk, likely breaking the tip). Overall, it's definitely a worthwhile piece if you are willing to live with the limitations. And it would certainly be fair to say that there's no such thing as a practical $150 pen anyway. But for the money, I think there's better options.

jasoncons
 
January 14, 2014
I had one briefly and...
Verified Purchase
I had one briefly and returned it. Mine had what looked like a peen mark from the inside on the case. For $150, I expect it to be perfect. (It may have been designed in the U.S., but it is apparently manufactured in China.) It's very heavy, so not practical for pocket carry and there is no clip anyway. The edges of the case are very sharp (I suppose you could use it as a weapon in an emergency situation). The pen is perfectly cylindrical so you have to be careful when/where you set it down -- it rolls on any slope, no matter how slight, or if you give it a little momentum. Unless you like extremely fine lines (0.3, IIRC), you have to order a a refill. Kind of a nice toy, but not a practical tool, and way overpriced for what it is. I was unimpressed, even though I'm a pen/mechanical pencil collector. There are very few things I return, even if not that great; unfortunately, this was one of things.

1 person found this helpful
 
December 4, 2013
I have had my eye on...
I have had my eye on this pen, as an engineer it appeals to me. One question for those who own one: How difficult is it to hold on to the barrel? The smooth finish on other pens usually means it is difficult to write with, especially for older people such as myself who have dry hands.

gary.brunner
 
November 2, 2013
I was a bit disappointed...
I was a bit disappointed with my Pen Type A. The construction is phenomenal and the pop sound is pretty fun. My problem is I've gone through 2 ink refills already since the suction created by the pop sucks the out ink inside the barrel =(

sponger562
 
September 6, 2013
this is a fantastic pen!...
Verified Purchase
this is a fantastic pen! bought one early Sept and have been using it for everything writing / drawing related. couple of items that buyers should be aware:

- pen comes with 0.3mm refill. this is a very fine point and perhaps not most people's point of choice as it can be a little rough on some paper types. i'd go ahead and include a 0.4 / 0.5mm refill along in the purchase.

- pen body is smooth. for those who get sweaty palms easily when writing, do factor this into your decision. everyone else should be ok. all my co-workers (team of 20) had a go at this and none had issues.

- pen holder (the rectangle ruler box) has freaking sharp edges and corners. i guess it looks cleaner that way but i'd prefer the edges / corners to have a bevel. makes it a bit annoying for pocket carry as the sharp corners will not play nice with most fabrics. pen holder has a matte bead blasted finished and has proved to be fairly scratch resistant so far.

- use a penny to unscrew the tail as the coating on pennies are softer than the pen material. DO NOT use dimes as it'll screw up the circular edges a bit... don't ask how i figured this out =P

- hi-tec-c refills are actually a little difficult to find. aside from the office friendly blue and black ink, you'll definitely have to hunt around for other colors. it may be easier to just purchase the pen in your desired color and pop out the refill... kind of wasteful but i haven't really seen a viable alternate solution.


most of the caveats are nitpicking and/or easily solved. this is a really great pen! took my girlfriend all of three seconds to declare she wanted one as well. two other coworkers promptly ordered one after testing it out.

in my job you get a sea of Montblancs and other big mall brands... a boutique item like this really stands out.

This Product
CW&T Pen Type-A - CW&T PEN TYPE-A
$150.00
Not Available