My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Does not suprise me one..., December 7, 2012
Does not suprise me one bit that this pen sold out immediately. I was lucky to
get mine. . .figured it would sell out. What a beauty it is! Too much money? Nope.
Worth every penny. I have an extensive pen collection from high end fountain
pens to 99 cent ball point pens but I have never encountered anything like
the CW7T Pen Type-A. To say that it is exceptionally well made doesn't do it
justice. I am not being corny when I say you can actually feel the love that
went into the making of this pen, both from the inventors and the people who
crafted it. It is a pure delight to hold. The case is wonderful. It is fun to
play with! And writes beautifully. In short: perfect. I am totally in love with
this pen.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  The good : this pen is..., May 22, 2013
By cbu...
The good : this pen is definitely special. The craftmanship is exceptional, is very heavy and it makes for a fine toy - for example, you can spin the "cap" and the thin air layer acts as lubricant, can make a "pop" sound with it, or you can even use it as a weapon in more than one way !

The bad : the pen is so heavy, so it is fairly easy to damage the fine point. Then, being perfectly cylindrical it rolls easily - this can be corrected by adding a small bump at the top of the cylinder. Finally, the low air pressure in the container might mess up the gel ink continuity, meaning that there's an impression of running out of ink after you start writing.

Overall, the good parts definitely compensate the bad ones, and the pen should be used as intended - meaning as a toy that writes rather than a pen. A line to cw&T : make it of gold ( spend 10k) and sell it for 100k :)
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I recieved this pen as..., July 21, 2013
I recieved this pen as a gift from my daughter, it is the best! As a designer from the old school I still like to use ink and paper for my craft and this is perfect. My lines are smooth and the designs look great. Everything is uniform. Thanx for the creation of this fabulous pen.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I received my pen as..., November 2, 2012
By pen...
I received my pen as part of the Kickstarter campaign as well. I was one of the last to receive mine, but it was well worth the year wait. The most unique thing about this pen is definitely the pop sound it makes when you pull it from the sleeve. This is due to the amazing tolerances that they manufacture these pens to. Writing with it gets a little tiring after long periods though, the barrel has a bit more thickness to it than I'm used to and no grip, so my fingers tend to get a little tired of holding it. My normal writing pens are hi-tec cavaliers and rotring 600's for comparison.

All in all it's a lovely pen and eye catching.
  I had my Pen Type-A for..., February 15, 2014
By jas...
I had my Pen Type-A for a few months and then sold it on eBay. I have to say, it's a lovely pen, but not terribly practical. The edges of the case are so sharp that they can damage the point of a hi-tec c if you use it as a ruler. It's quite heavy. Certainly can only live on a desk. No chance that this can be carried or live in a bag. It must be reinserted into the case every time you put it down (as it will roll off your desk, likely breaking the tip). Overall, it's definitely a worthwhile piece if you are willing to live with the limitations. And it would certainly be fair to say that there's no such thing as a practical $150 pen anyway. But for the money, I think there's better options.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I had one briefly and..., January 14, 2014
By rca...
I had one briefly and returned it. Mine had what looked like a peen mark from the inside on the case. For $150, I expect it to be perfect. (It may have been designed in the U.S., but it is apparently manufactured in China.) It's very heavy, so not practical for pocket carry and there is no clip anyway. The edges of the case are very sharp (I suppose you could use it as a weapon in an emergency situation). The pen is perfectly cylindrical so you have to be careful when/where you set it down -- it rolls on any slope, no matter how slight, or if you give it a little momentum. Unless you like extremely fine lines (0.3, IIRC), you have to order a a refill. Kind of a nice toy, but not a practical tool, and way overpriced for what it is. I was unimpressed, even though I'm a pen/mechanical pencil collector. There are very few things I return, even if not that great; unfortunately, this was one of things.
  I have had my eye on..., December 4, 2013
I have had my eye on this pen, as an engineer it appeals to me. One question for those who own one: How difficult is it to hold on to the barrel? The smooth finish on other pens usually means it is difficult to write with, especially for older people such as myself who have dry hands.
  I was a bit disappointed..., November 2, 2013
By spo...
I was a bit disappointed with my Pen Type A. The construction is phenomenal and the pop sound is pretty fun. My problem is I've gone through 2 ink refills already since the suction created by the pop sucks the out ink inside the barrel =(
  this is a fantastic pen!..., September 6, 2013
By wh1...
this is a fantastic pen! bought one early Sept and have been using it for everything writing / drawing related. couple of items that buyers should be aware:

- pen comes with 0.3mm refill. this is a very fine point and perhaps not most people's point of choice as it can be a little rough on some paper types. i'd go ahead and include a 0.4 / 0.5mm refill along in the purchase.

- pen body is smooth. for those who get sweaty palms easily when writing, do factor this into your decision. everyone else should be ok. all my co-workers (team of 20) had a go at this and none had issues.

- pen holder (the rectangle ruler box) has freaking sharp edges and corners. i guess it looks cleaner that way but i'd prefer the edges / corners to have a bevel. makes it a bit annoying for pocket carry as the sharp corners will not play nice with most fabrics. pen holder has a matte bead blasted finished and has proved to be fairly scratch resistant so far.

- use a penny to unscrew the tail as the coating on pennies are softer than the pen material. DO NOT use dimes as it'll screw up the circular edges a bit... don't ask how i figured this out =P

- hi-tec-c refills are actually a little difficult to find. aside from the office friendly blue and black ink, you'll definitely have to hunt around for other colors. it may be easier to just purchase the pen in your desired color and pop out the refill... kind of wasteful but i haven't really seen a viable alternate solution.


most of the caveats are nitpicking and/or easily solved. this is a really great pen! took my girlfriend all of three seconds to declare she wanted one as well. two other coworkers promptly ordered one after testing it out.

in my job you get a sea of Montblancs and other big mall brands... a boutique item like this really stands out.
  Wow! What a sweet pen..., June 16, 2013
By mau...
Wow! What a sweet pen this is! I've always been a gadget man and sure enough seeing this on Jetpens got me thinking, "I need this pen". It is way too over the top to EDC but it will be in my new pencil case just to show off to the coworkers and anyone else that will appreciate this well crafted writing instrument. I like the design and having it made completely out of 304 stainless steel is not short of amazing. It is beautifully executed and designed. If I don't lose it before it's time, I will pass this on to my daughter. For now, I am enjoying this pen immensely.
  Got mine off kickstarter,..., May 16, 2013
Got mine off kickstarter, it's *awesome* :)
  I absolutely love this..., March 8, 2013
I absolutely love this pen/ruler set, and it uses my favorite Hi-Tec C refills. But I won't take it on business trips ... TSA gets nervous when they see this in my backpack. They think it's some sort of high-tech hypodermic weapon. TSA nearly confiscated it at the Kansas City airport last night ... I had to take it completely apart and prove to them it was a pen. Sheesh.

I'm using it at my desk from now on, because I'd hate to lose it.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I was one of the first..., October 24, 2012
I was one of the first to support the Pen Type-A on Kickstarter and fortunate enough to receive mine a long time ago. The Pen Type-A is amazing... the build quality is nothing short of excellent. It is sleek, solid, well made, and truly does look 'heirloom quality.' I'm sure it will be passed down to someone in my will.

0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I purchased my Pen Type-A..., November 3, 2012
By sim...
I purchased my Pen Type-A during the Kickstarter campaign. I can't imagine writing without it.
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I got my Pen Type-A during..., October 24, 2012
I got my Pen Type-A during the Kickstarter campagin. It is a great pen to throw in my bag and not worry about getting banged around. It accepts Pilot Hi-Tec-C refills, which are wonderful pens alone. The combination of the Hi-Tec-C and the metal casing make this pen unbeatable.
This Product
CW&T Pen Type-A - CW&T PEN TYPE-A
$150.00