x
1 - 10 of 15 |  | 
One of the best papers...
February 27, 2013
One of the best papers for fountain pens if not the best (can be used with other pens too) available. I also use it to sketch and draw on this paper. Very smooth, perfect. Included in each pad is a lined sheet of paper which can be placed behind the blank white sheet as a guideline if want to write neat or cannot control a straight line.

Top paper.
9 people found this helpful
No ink I have thus far...
February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase
No ink I have thus far used on this paper has feathered or bled through. It is excellent in that regard, and has a nice weight to it. However, it is extremely glossy, almost slick, in a way that I definitely did not anticipate. Rohrer and Klingner's old gold green ink on this paper almost feels like it doesn't take (It does. The low viscosity of the ink plus the smoothness of the paper just makes it feel like it won't.). Note that these observations are from a dip pen, not a fountain pen though. It's vastly better than regular printer paper. Just a warning that the surface is very slick.
4 people found this helpful
sauman.smc
Crisp and wonderfully...
February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase
Crisp and wonderfully smooth without appearing to be glossy. The texture is ideal for writing with fountain pens, and the A4 size is perfect for letter writing.
3 people found this helpful
The pad is sorta falling...
March 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
The pad is sorta falling apart and pages don't stay together. Other than that, it's the best paper I've used.
1 person found this helpful
wangminze
If you enjoy snail mail...
March 20, 2016
Verified Purchase
If you enjoy snail mail and lengthy handwritten letters, then you have found your birthright. This is a silky smooth paper that takes fountain pen ink wondrously with no feathering (even using that wide italic nib, you fancy so and so). It's A4 and the line spacing of the guide is such that you can begin and finish a brief idea on even a single sheet of this wondrous paper. If I must make a complaint, then it is that the lines of the guide are not very dark so, with a paper of such virtuous voluptuousity, one must press use or write somewhere especially well lit. Or, you may simply trace over the lines with a thick, dark gel pen. Voila! No complaints left.

Yes, $9.00 is by no means cheap for a pad of 50 sheets of paper, but those to whom you send the letter will appreciate the extra touch. If you truly like writing handwritten letters, this will change the game for you. We live once!
Don't get me wrong, I...
March 9, 2016
Don't get me wrong, I adore Clairefontaine. I use their Rhodia dotpads often and am thoroughly satisfied with it. This, however, has got to be a total miss for me, not because of the paper quality but because of the horrible design. This notepad has very strong glue on the top portion of the notepad (for obvious reasons) that often sticks to the cover flap. Why is this bad? Because the first paper also gets stuck on that glue together with the cover flap. This just results in a huge mess everytime I use the notepad. When I close it, it never closes flat and when I open it, the paper sticks out from one side.

For such strong glue, you'd think that the pages don't come out on their own. But sadly, they do! All I did was keep the used papers flipped over at the back but they come detached so easily! (I flipped that paper back and forth around 2-3 times only) I've used much cheaper notepads with much better endurance than this.... what a pity.
Excellent...
October 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
Excellent
The paper has a gorgeous...
September 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
The paper has a gorgeous finish and would have been perfect if I'd needed something for letter writing. Triomphe's slick surface, however, meant that the nib of my 1.5 Rotring art pen skipped horribly. No matter how I played with the pen angle, the pressure, etc. this skipping along the letter edges could not be eliminated. The Pilot Plumex (a smaller nib) and the Pilot Parallel Pen (a wetter option) performed better, but the edge of their nibs still refused to stay in complete contact with the page. Before buying I read as much as possible, and inferred form reviews that both Triomphe and Tomoe River were the best options for this project I'm planning. I wish I'd gone with my gut and purchased the Tomoe River first. It works like a dream with no skipping issues on the horizon. Clairefontaine Triomphe was not a *bad* purchase, I just have to find a new use for it now which is kind of annoying.

TL;DR - Beautiful paper that is fantastic for normal fountain pens. If you plan on using italic/calligraphic nibs, buy Tomoe River instead.
photographerleia
Very Nice...
August 19, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very Nice
perfect! great writing...
July 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
perfect! great writing surface.
janrichgmr
1 - 10 of 15 |  |