My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
17 out of 17 people found the following review helpful
  I own about 15 different..., July 11, 2011
I own about 15 different shade of red ink from different company such as pilot, pilot iroshizuku, herbin, diamine, but there are only 2 different ink that I keep on coming back using them. This J Herbin Aniversary ink is one of them (the other one is iroshizuku momiji). This is a special ink, red blood color with a shade of gold. If you use a fine nib fountain pen, you won't notice the gold shade that much, but try to fill in your broad fountain pen or sometimes I use this ink on my pilot parallel 3.8mm ... the gold shade are amazing and the color are very astonishing. Not too bright but bright enough to catch your attention.
The only complain I have is the wax on the cap crack easily no matter how gentle you open the cap.
Anyway If you love red ink, you will like this ink. I know I am.
16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful
  I love this ink. I have..., June 13, 2011
By jan...
I love this ink. I have been using it for a while and continue to be fascinated with the shading. It goes on red then has shades of brown and gold. I have written many pages in my my Rhodia "Webbie" journal and it is a beautiful look. I think this ink is worth every penny for the shading alone. I am buying a second bottle right now just to make sure I never run out.
11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  I just ordered my second..., October 19, 2011
By red...
I just ordered my second bottle of this extraordinary ink. It is, indeed, expensive, but, for me, it is worth it. Rouge Hematite is a luminous, warm, golden red like no other red ink. I have been journaling with a Pilot Custom Heritage 91 broad nibbed pen filled with this wonderful J. Herbin ink. I think that the luminescence and shading are pronounced when a broad nib is used. The words glow on the page and they produce an ethereal, ambient music in my heart. Although the ink and bottle are beautiful, the only very minor deficit is the wax covered cap. The wax flakes can be bothersome so try to remove all the wax before opening the cap. I highly recommend that you try this J. Herbin "Edition Anniversaire" before it is no more.
10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
  This is the most incredible..., January 7, 2012
This is the most incredible red ink I've ever seen. I believe that the pigment is partly derived from the actual hematite stone. People have said in other reviews that there seems to maybe be some gold in the ink but I believe, after having seen the examples of hematite, that it is hematite dust. And like Platinum's Carbon Black this adds a density and beauty that other inks don't have. I understand that it may only work in certain pens (like carbon black) but it is worth finding one of those pens. I use only Platinum Pens, especially the "Music" pen and have no problems. And the contrast between the 2 inks is extremely dramatic on the same page. I like to switch from one to the other while taking my notes simply because it creates such a beautiful effect. But I can see how some might be put off by the color since it is extremely "bloody". I am going to have to get some more before too long to make sure I don't run out as this is the anniversary edition and that seems to insinuate that it is a temporary thing. 50 mls is a lot of ink but I write a lot of notes and I don't think I will ever grow tired of it.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I particulary like to..., April 5, 2011
I particulary like to use Pilot Iroshizuko Yama Budo ink in my Sailor fountain pen, using a cartridge. Recently, with the cartridge half empty, I topped it off with the 1670 Anniversary ink and, to my eyes, 50:50 Yama Budo and 1670, the result was good. Correct me if I'm incorrect, but the J. Herbin 340th Anniversay Ink appears to have gold flakes in it which are noticeable when the ink bottle is agitated by turning upside down a few times. For a one-off Anniversay ink, I think the purchase for the bottle alone is worth it.

Best,
Andy
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  FYI, the newest bottles..., September 8, 2013
FYI, the newest bottles of Rouge Hematite (as of this review on Sept. 8th, 2013) have absolutely none of the gold pigment the original formulation had. I have one bottle of the original formula and one bottle made about a year ago—the difference is certainly visible one the page, but even in the bottle it's obvious when looking at the pigment that's settled on the bottom of the bottle. The newest bottles, however, don't even have any of the gold pigment, and are MUCH lighter on the page with none of that beautiful gold sheen.

It's still a good ink with fairly heavy shading (different than the metallic-looking sheen of the old bottles, mind you), but it's *just* a red ink now.

Just an FYI for those with the old bottles looking to get a new bottle.

-MHPHOTO
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Although I love the color..., April 18, 2013
Although I love the color of this ink, I do not recommend it for fine or extra fine point nibs. I tried using it in my Pilot Prera with a Fine nib and I found the ink flow to be kind of clogged up by the gold minerals in the ink. The line would break unless I pressed down with more pressure on the nib. Only then could I see the color variation, which was actually very beautiful to look at. After inspection, I could see the mixture gunking up the gills of the pen. I really want to try this ink with a broader nib, maybe even a Pilot Parallel. But for now, I really don't recommend this ink for fine writing nibs.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I really like the color..., May 30, 2012
I really like the color of this red. When it's first applied to the page it's the color of blood and as it dries it gets a few shades darker and in certain lights, the edges of the writing are gold. This effect is best shown off in a broad wet writing pen or a calligraphy pen. I currently have it in my Pelikan GO! pen. I've also used it to great effect with a watercolor brush.

The bottle is decorative enough to leave on a desk top.

This is a great ink color that I thoroughly enjoy both writing and drawing with.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  VERY IMPORTANT - DO NOT..., December 9, 2013
VERY IMPORTANT - DO NOT SCRAPE OFF OR TRY TO REMOVE THE RED WAX COVERING THE SCREW-ON CAP.

WHY? - because you don't have to, it just screws off and the red wax is to make it look pretty and old-fashioned.
I'm such a divvy, my husband still can't stop laughing at the memory of me scrapping, cutting, slicing, peeling the red, wax-like covering on the screw-on cap. I only managed to get tiny bits off, when my brain went into gear and I turned it and guess what? - IT TURNED AND UNSCREWED just like it's supposed to.

OK, silly aside... It really is beautiful ink. It's very late at night which means I have artificial light on now, and, I don't know if that is the reason, but I can't see that rusty, goldy effect, perhaps tomorrow in natural daylight, but I can however, appreciate the lovely red colour and it is so smooth.

The bottle is a work of art, and thanks to my cutting, slicing and peeling mine looks even more antique, like something found in the Titanic's recovered items.

Very attractive exterior and contains a beautiful, smooth ink that is now one of my favorites.

Excellent service again from Jet Pens. Thank you!!!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  A lot of reviews have..., August 30, 2013
A lot of reviews have mentioned that the color is a blood-red. So perfect. I kind of feel like I am writing with blood, as odd as that may sound. If you have every purchased a bottle, or when you receive yours, you will probably agree that the ink itself looks very similar to blood. Another review said that the ink was an odd shade of brown, and that is also characteristic of (dried) blood. However, on the right paper (I use kokuyo campus paper, it works well enough, as I don't carry around tons of rhodia notebooks for school notes) with a wet pen, this ink is a beautiful dark-red with the most gorgeous gold/green/red sparkle to it. So beautiful! If you have this same experience, I also recommend Sailor Jentle Sky High ink, pretty basic blue with a red sparkle sheen! This Rouge Hematite ink is beautiful inside the bottle and outside.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is my first (and..., April 12, 2013
This is my first (and long-awaited) bottle of Rouge Hematite and it's fun stuff! Finer strokes are vivid red. Medium and broader lines add a beautiful darker component which people describe as green or brown or gold, depending. The result is a very dignified red as long as the nib is well-supplied with ink. The new bottle caps are covered in a supple wax that doesn't crumble like the old wax apparently did. The box carries a label advising "Don't leave ink in fountain pen reservoir." I intend following that advice so I don't experience any crusting or clogging. It means using this ink from the bottle with a dip pen only, but that suits me. The ink will simply last longer and I won't have any trouble cleaning it from my fountain pens. Thank you again JetPens for a nice product at an attractive price with lightning speed.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love red ink and use..., August 3, 2012
By sue...
I love red ink and use it frequently. However, I've tried this ink in 3 different pens and with none of them coes the ink look red to me - it seems more brown than anything. I like J. Herbin inks but I don't see me using this ink much at all.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is my favorite red..., January 13, 2012
This is my favorite red ink.

Bright and bold.
  This is my favorite ink..., March 21, 2014
This is my favorite ink with shading.

The ink lays down a bright red, like the kind of red in a dry erase marker. Super vibrant. In the more saturated areas, the ink will dry with a gold sheen with a tint of green. The ink is quite viscous, and you'll see that some sediment does build up in the glass bottle, so it may clog a dry writer or fine nib. The ink will leave a pink slime sometimes on the nib, but this is cosmetic and usually does not impede ink flow and is easily wiped off. But with that being said, I would not recommend using this ink in a demonstrator or a very fine nib (eg Pilot fine nib or western EF nibs), as this may cause the nib to clog and the thin lines won't bring out the shading in the ink anyways.

I am currently using this in a Pilot 78G with BB stub nib, and it really shows the shading. I've also used this with the Brause "Blue Pumpkin" dip nib, and that also works really well, with almost all the writing turning to a beautiful gold due to the dip nib's higher level of saturation.

  Lovely ink. Fantastic..., September 3, 2013
By jga...
Lovely ink. Fantastic color.

Don't use it with an extra fine nib. Fine or greater keeps it from skipping.
  I love this ink! The..., July 9, 2013
By sno...
I love this ink! The shading is incredible. It initially looks bright red but, when it dries, it has a golden color as an overtone. I currently have it inked in a TWSBI VAC700, 1.1 and a TWSBI Diamond 530, EF. It looks great with both sizes of points. I wonder how it would work with the Monteverde One Touch Engage but, mine is filled with another color presently.
  An absolutely gorgeous..., January 23, 2013
An absolutely gorgeous red, and the gold particles are the icing on the cake. Very pigmented, so be careful not to leave it in any of your prized pens - it can be a pain to wash out. Be sure to shake well before filling your pen - a lot of the gold particles and pigment seperate and fall to the bottom of the bottle. A bit expensive, but I think this one lives up to the cost. Also the bottle is very sophisticated and pleasing to look at.
  I must admit I was really..., October 15, 2012
By GDd...
I must admit I was really disappointed to see absolutely no shading of brown, or gold in the ink. I've tried 6 different types of paper, and nibs ranging from fine point to a calligraphy C-4 dip nib. I must have held the paper in every light condition imaginable... nothing, try as I might.
Having said that, I must say this is an absolutely beautiful "blood" red color. In my experience, the ink shades nicely from red to dark red in color. The red is not too bright like some red colors, and is not a red you see everyday. I have this ink loaded up in a couple of fountain pens, but really enjoy how it handles so smoothly with my dip nibs. The fact that the bottle is so nice to look at is a plus.
Soooooo, would I buy this ink again....? If I had some extra money to spend on ink then sure, but without the brown and gold shading I'd probably explore other brands first. Then again, maybe I just got a bad batch.
  This instantly became..., October 9, 2012
By dai...
This instantly became my favorite ink color. It's not too bright, not too dark. It is the quality that I expect from J Herbin, and this color cannot be beat.
  Beautiful ink...deep..., July 2, 2012
By mar...
Beautiful ink...deep and rich. More of a brownish red than a red-red but I'm using it with a rather fine point dip pen. I tested it with a broader nib and it seemed more red but I didn't notice any of the gold flakes the other reviewers were talking about. The bottle is gorgeous!