JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 5.0 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 21, 2010
This is my absolute favorite...
Verified Purchase
This is my absolute favorite ink! It looks like a much less saturated Noodlers Baystate Blue, but without the worries. It has nice shading and it is quite safe compared to other inks I've tried. It has the quality one would expect from a company that has been around as long as J. Herbin. The bottle's built in pen rest is quite convenient for resting one's pen on one's desk. I've bought two bottle from JetPens and will definitely buy more in the future.

4 people found this helpful
beavis_diablo
 
December 20, 2010
I absolutely love this...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this color. I am usually not partial to blues, but this one almost reminds me of a blue violet (a color which I absolutely love). I can tell that I will be ordering a second bottle soon, because I am sure that this ink will run out quickly.

3 people found this helpful
lksandrock
 
September 28, 2010
I borrowed this ink from...
I borrowed this ink from an uncle of mine to write a letter for a good friend overseas. I'm not a big fan of colors other than black - the richness of a good black ink makes me so happy - but when I used this I thought I had fallen in love.
The blue is, well, blue! A truly rich and wonderful one. I didn't want to let it go, but I was forced to return it to my uncle.
If you're a fan of J. Herbin and blue, I would definitely recommend that you pick this up. Your letters will be beautiful - I promise!

3 people found this helpful
 
October 20, 2012
This was my first JHerbin...
Verified Purchase
This was my first JHerbin purchase months ago and have been loyal fan since. Shade of blue is magic, especially on white white paper, actually jumps off the page. Second purchase was 1670 Anniversary Formula...equally impressed with it. Will not be without either of these in the furure. I've noticed they work equally well in all of my pens (Sheaffer, Safari, Al-Star, Kaweco), but I'm especially favorable toward the Kaweco F or M nib with Saphir refill. Writing is smooth (zero scratchiness), flow is excellent and lines are perfect thickness. To top it off, the notch in JHerbin bottle is custom made for storing a Kaweco that is loaded and ready to perform. Quality of JHerbin and JetPens goes hand-in-hand.

2 people found this helpful
 
May 12, 2011
wonderful bright blue...
Verified Purchase
wonderful bright blue with vibrant color to rival Iroshizuku Asa Gao. Good flow, more saturated than some other Herbin inks

2 people found this helpful
vincents1278
 
March 26, 2014
I decided to start out...
Verified Purchase
I decided to start out with J. Herbin's inks due to their non-toxic ingredients and wash-ability. (As a beginning fountain pen user, if my pens leak I want to make sure I can get the staining out.) After trying out Eclat de Saphir, I'm staying for the wonderful quality ink!

This is a deep, saturated blue that flows really smoothly through my pens. There is some variation in color between the pens- the extra-fine makes the ink look a lot lighter than my italic nib. But both are a recognizably true blue.

The ink behaves very well even on cheap paper in the extra fine, but bled through my really ultra cheap Mead notebook. I haven't had any trouble on copy paper, so I think it's just that notebook is extraordinarily bad (even ballpoints bleed through it.) My Mead Graph paper notebook, however, shows no bleed-through and minimal show-through. Overall, I've been very satisfied with the ink's performance on paper.

The ink is also easy to clean from my pens and has left no staining. Although I manage to get it on my hands somewhere every time I refill without fail, the ink washes off with a bit of scrubbing and is completely gone in a few hours.

Jetpens shipped the ink to me well wrapped and in very good condition. I have been very happy with their service and Herbin's product, so I'm ordering some Perle Noire to act as my black ink. I'm a very happy customer!

thegrammarjedi
 
March 5, 2014
This was my first J....
Verified Purchase
This was my first J. Herbin ink purchase and I don't think I could be happier.

The blue is rich and deep, but it's bright quality makes it so you can tell it is indeed blue. A lovely color all around, perfect for professional use or for personal letter writing. The ink flows smoothly in my Pilot Metro, and the nib stays clean.

This ink also comes off the skin cleanly. I have a bad habit of getting ink all over my fingers, no matter how hard I try not to, but usually an alcohol wipe will take it off the first go around. The black I have purchased from J. Herbin is the biggest pain to get off my fingers, even with soap and water AND an alcohol wipe.

sliljestrom
 
December 28, 2012
Great ink for the Fine...
Verified Purchase
Great ink for the Fine nibs. I have a Pilot Prera (F) and the flow is absolutely great. No scratchiness. This ink doesn't dry out on the nib either. The color is a nice saturated blue that I will never get tired of.

karinawiser