JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 24, 2011
Without a doubt the best...
Verified Purchase
Without a doubt the best black fountain pen ink in the world. A very deep black, with great flow, good lubrication, limited feathering and bleed-through on most papers, nice dry-time and very safe in all pens. I just wish that Jet Pens would stock the cheaper 100ml plastic bottles!

8 people found this helpful
dancaspersz
 
December 2, 2010
I am using this ink in...
Verified Purchase
I am using this ink in a Lamy Safari. This ink flows quickly and writes smoothly. I like it a lot. A very good black.

3 people found this helpful
darwish.lf
 
May 12, 2012
A great black ink! A...
A great black ink! A deep black, no feathering on my Clairfontaine paper, and thats using a Kaweco double broad! It also flows very well.

2 people found this helpful
ninjandrew
 
October 21, 2011
I just loaded the ink...
Verified Purchase
I just loaded the ink into my Hi-Tec Cavalier Fountain Pen. The color comes out much darker from the pen than the swatch, but I haven't actually taken a small amount and smudged it across the paper, so I suspect that it's true to the color shown on my screen. It writes very smoothly and is fairly wet. All in all a great buy, and so much more economical and fun than cartridges!

1 person found this helpful
jchan27514
 
April 29, 2011
I just received my order...
Verified Purchase
I just received my order and I am currently dipping a preppy platinum fountain pen in the ink. I also ordered Violette Pensee. I am in love with this ink, its wonderful and writes beautiful. It's rich and color and I use it for everyday school work. I love jetpens!!!!! Keep it up, I will always be checking in on this website for new products. The best online stationary store yet.!! :)

1 person found this helpful
cute.gingerbreadman
 
November 12, 2014
This ink has revitalized...
Verified Purchase
This ink has revitalized all my pens. I had previously filled mine with Noodler's Black and I think I got a bad batch. The Noodlers came out very rough and I was wondering if I had somehow gotten a bad pen from all the different companies.

After receiving the J. Herbin, I thoroughly flushed, soaked and washed my pens and filled them. Every single one writes wonderfully! I'm now looking to convert my Pilot Metropolitan to an eyedropper so it can take this ink. I doubt I will buy another brand, ever again.

jimmy jo jim Bob
 
October 10, 2014
I have been using the...
I have been using the J. Herbin Fountain Pen Ink ever since Jr High, and they are wonderful inks. But I will share a secret with you! You can use these inks full strength or diluted with distilled water as air brush colors, and diluted 1:1 with distilled water they are wonderful as brush inks -- best when applied with a squirrel hair brush that is pre-wetted with water. The 30 ML from JetPens is almost a dollar cheaper than at my local art store.

MayKitten1
 
August 19, 2014
Noodler's level depth I...
Verified Purchase
Noodler's level depth
I am a huge fan of noodlers inks however since jetpens stopped carrying them i needed an alternative
This black ink shares some of the really deep qualities most of the noodlers inks have when u use it in wash
Its great cuz i can use it as a black ink for writing, and then a wash that has multiple layers
when u add water it starts out in a smoky purple and then fades into a gorgeous light deep sea green
It also doesnt feather on copy paper so its great for school as well
the one problem is the bottle as it kind of ruins the ability to stick ur nib in there
overall great ink

colinfig2000
 
September 14, 2012
I find Perle Noire only...
Verified Purchase
I find Perle Noire only to be black enough when used in a free flowing pen, at least a medium nib or higher. In my fine and extra fine pens (Sailor ProColor and Pelikan M215) the lines came out faint and charcoal-like. I wish Jet Pens would stock my FAVORITE black, Aurora Black. A much truer black, thick and inky.

 
July 13, 2012
This is a very good ink...
Verified Purchase
This is a very good ink with nice black shade. If you are looking for a pure, 100%, darkest black in the world, this may not be your ink. However, if you want a black ink for sketch with a little bit tone like I do, this is the right one. It is more watery than I thought. This ink works very well on most of the paper, however, it tends to bleed a little on smooth surface like Moleskine sketchbook which makes it look uneven.

jackywinter