My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Quick to dry, and a beautiful..., June 18, 2012
Quick to dry, and a beautiful smoky purple-grey shade. Not intense, so if you want a bright color try something else, but it shades beautifully with a broad nib. Highly, highly recommended.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  This ink is GORGEOUS...., August 29, 2010
By min...
This ink is GORGEOUS. It writes so smoothly, and although it writes in a more auburn rosy color, it dries in an elegant ashen-purple. The ink shades beautifully as well. Definitely my favorite purple.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  This ink is a high quality..., February 20, 2009
This ink is a high quality product. This particular color is a dusky purple and is so beautiful on paper.
8 out of 12 people found the following review helpful
  You should be able to..., March 14, 2012
You should be able to trust the reviews you read but unfortunately so many people spoil the system with erroneous statements, flawed understanding of the customer review process, and arbitrarily writing reviews. I beg of all the people who love purchasing products on Jetpens to please respect this process. It has the potential to make everyone's experience more pleasurable and feel more secure when buying products they have never used before. It is not difficult to leave a review that helps the process. make sure to hit these few points and it is a successfukl review
1.) You have personally used the product. (not read about it or had a friend tell you how much they like it)
2.) You used the product for the purpose the product was designed for and are basing your opinion on that use.
*example would be to not like and give a bottle of ink that is not superposed to be used for fountain pens, a terrible review because it sucked in your Lamy Safari. That is not the fault of the product and your review would not accurately represent the product.
3.)You are actually reviewing the product and not requesting them to restock a product. This is completely unacceptable. I had never seen anything like it before I started shopping on Jetpens. It ruins the rating system completely therefore wasting the time of anyone else who has written a review for that product and it makes it unusable to the consumer for assistance in decision making.
*Jetpens has a special button to request restocking issues. Please use the correct website features for their intended purposes. This is a community where everyone should be respected and treated the same.

If you do those things I am sure you will be helping the community instead of harming. One final piece of advice is if your going to leave factual information be sure you are correct. You are welcome to any opinion and that is respectable even if one disagrees, but when what you are saying is right or wrong, do your best to make sure your are passing along correct information

I do not usually comment on other peoples reviews in this format so please excuse me this one time. She writes "I would rank them with Noodlers inks in quality, but easier on the wallet" and this is not a very accurate statement. It is actually completely off base. The price of this bottle (all prices refereed to from this website) $9 for 30ml which equals 30 cents per ml. The price for most regular bottles of Noodler's ink is $12.50 for 90ml. I think you an see with out the math how much cheaper this is than our previous example, but we will do it anyway.

J.Herbin:
$9.00/30ml=30 cents per ml

Noodler's ink
$12.50/90ml=14 cents per ml

You pay double , more than double for J.Herbin.

I am not saying that is a bad thing becasue almost every J. Herbin ink I have used I love. I think generally speaking their inks offer more shading the any other brand (not including Pilot iroshizuku which is also in another league speaking of cost). Moon dust purple is one of the colors of J. Herbin that I find unique to their brand. Which is saying a lot about anything the color of purple.

One of the things I love most about writing with fountain pens is using bottled ink and I especially love all of the different bottles. J. Herbin bottles are really cool and offers a pen rest just above the front label.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Herbin makes one of the..., March 31, 2010
Herbin makes one of the best quality inks I ever use and this in particularly I LOVE. It's a great color and works good and almost any paper. Highly recommended
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This purple is subtle...., June 5, 2012
This purple is subtle. It is darker than shown, similar to a very purple plum colour. I think it is just vibrant enough as I like my purple to be more subdued. It is quite smooth.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  beautiful ink. i was..., April 14, 2010
By kof...
beautiful ink. i was a little afraid it'd be too red and light, but it's actually quite a dark purple-burgundy colour. dries very quickly. i've been using it to take notes for the last few days, and it hasn't let me down yet. :)
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I extremely LOVE this..., October 30, 2012
I extremely LOVE this purple. I used it to take notes and showed to my friends and the complements came in on how they liked it. it is like a burgundy purple color it is pretty.
3 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Ink flows well and was..., January 5, 2012
By jea...
Ink flows well and was a wonderful introduction to J. Herbin for me. But I agree with the other reviewer this is an 'ashen' purple -- I'll call it a 'conservative', subdued purple -- I favor the Diamine Majestic Purple for a much bolder impact hence the -1 star. If you compare color swatches it will help you decide what 'strength' of purple you desire.
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Indeed a beautiful color...., January 16, 2010
Indeed a beautiful color. I have began using the J. Herbin inks and I would rank them with Noodlers inks in quality, but easier on the wallet. I am also a user of Private reserve which I have become disappointed in, finding sludge in several of the colors. This is my third purchase of Herbin inks and definitely I am going to buy more colors.