My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.9 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Just received my first..., October 9, 2012
By kel...
Just received my first J Herbin refillable rollerball and am wishing I had ordered 2 as they are now sold out. I LOVE this pen! The convenience and ease of writing with a roller ball but able to use the beautiful, subtle fountain pen inks that Herbin are famous for. Be aware that this pen is picky about what paper types it likes to write on (seemed happier, smoother with 'rougher' paper types), but when the paper and pen match it is writing heaven.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Saw these come back in..., November 11, 2012
Saw these come back in stock the other day and ordered two right away. They were sold out within a day! Buy one (or some) if you get the chance, they are so fun and awesome. I do wish J. Herbin would make one of these available with a finer tip, but it is still great as is. The ink flows very well, too fast if you let the tip rest on the paper (tends to bleed fast on some paper), but it's pretty easy to get used to.

Anyway, get this pen, you'll be happy.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I bought two of these..., September 24, 2013
By ann...
I bought two of these pens after reading the reviews here, and it is a complete disappointment. The nib is very scratchy and thin, and when I write fast the ink doesn't even reach the paper. I took out the cartridge and put it in a Kaweco Roller (same type of pen, different brand) and it's working beautifully (nice smooth line, not to wet, not scratchy at all). I wanted to check that the ink wasn't the problem. I love the idea of refillable roller pens, but the Herbin pen didn't work for me.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  all of my friends love..., February 19, 2013
all of my friends love this pen with me! in class they always grab for my "pretty purple pen!" i bought mine in a store in taiwan- last one on the rack! this is one of my favorite ink pens. the colors are all great, but they leak through some papers. long lasting and light. BUY IT.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is the most disappointing..., March 19, 2014
By may...
This is the most disappointing item I have ever purchased from Jetpens. I didn’t expect a high quality pen at this price, but it looks cheaper than the cheap rollerballs you can grab at the drugstore. Those cheap pens at the supermarket write better, too. This pen is extremely scratchy, and the ink only flows if you press it down like a ballpoint pen. I have used the Gris Nuage ink (which is a gorgeous color and will be loaded into my Kaweco Sport next time if it fits) and the black ink that came with it.
Pros: It is a refillable rollerball
Cons: Cheaply made, looks cheap, and writes badly.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  These are a really nice..., February 2, 2014
These are a really nice way to have the beautiful colors of the J Herbin inks around in a handy little pocket pen. I ended up buying two so I could keep two different colors "on tap". I've only used the J Herbin cartridges but they work wonderfully, nice and bright with a very smooth line.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I was wary about buying..., January 23, 2013
By kay...
I was wary about buying this due to its size, as I have fairly large hands. I'm happy to report this isn't an issue. In fact, I think it would be spoiled if it were any larger.

Posted, it is -perhaps not coincidentally- the exact same length as a retractable Jetstream. Capped, it is about a centimeter longer than a Pilot Petit.

It's a smooth writer too. I put Pelikan Brilliant Black through and it glided page after page. No skips, no blobbing, no scratching.

A note for those planning to eyedropper (I know I was): There are three teeny tiny holes at the butt end of the barrel. You'd probably need a microscope to get a sealant in there without making a mess. The feed nipple is the right width for an international standard size converter, but the barrel isn't even close to long enough.

This is a great FP alternative for everyday use. It's comfortable, light, portable, and inexpensive. I just wish it could be ED'd more easily.
  Adore this pen. Back..., February 16, 2014
Adore this pen. Back to order more and a few of the converters. Fun and inexpensive and the best of this type I have found. So happy they are in stock. I have not found a paper that it did not do well with so far and I have used inexpensive to expensive ink without problems. Hope it takes to noodlers ink.
  This pen is really good...., December 14, 2013
This pen is really good. It writes smoothly. I use it with a blue ink. You can use a mini converter to use bottled ink. When you want to use another color ink, you can put water in a mini converter so you can put water in and to suck it out of the pen. I tried this and it works great to clean the pen. The only thing is that it will be wet and you have to wait about a couple of days for it to dry.
  I just received my J...., October 18, 2013
I just received my J. Herbin Rollerball Pen today, even a day earlier than expected. Installed the ink cartridge and did an initial test. It writes very smooth for a rollerball pen, most rollerballs are somewhat scratchy due to design but this one seems to be very smooth, not quite as smooth as a ballpoint, but not scratchy enough to tell its only a $9 pen. Great quality and it refillable not many rollerball pens are refillable so this is a nice plus. I'll definitely be buying different ink colors soon.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  When I used this pen..., August 15, 2013
When I used this pen for the first time it was great. I wished I had known about the holes at the top of the barrel. I filled it with ink and had a mess! I will try it again using super-glue. Great service and fast delivery
G Magee, Ontario CAnada
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought one for note..., August 13, 2013
By pug...
I bought one for note taking and it worked great for a couple of weeks. I left it in a drawer for a couple of days and the tip clogged. The ink was still liquid in the cartridge (J. Herbin ink), but I think that the internal wick dried and clogged. I tried soaking it for a couple of days, eventually even trying a weak ammonia solution and an ultrasonic cleaner, but I couldn't revive it.
3 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I converted this pen..., May 30, 2013
I converted this pen to an eyedropper. I filled the tiny holes in the end of the barrel with super glue. Took a couple of applications. Blow into the barrel to determine if you have a good seal. Greased up the threads with silicone grease. No o-ring. Filled with Noodler's Cactus Fruit.

There has been some migration of ink up the threads, but no leaks. Will keep you posted.
  Write wonderfully, too..., January 3, 2013
Write wonderfully, too short of a body but works SUPER well with my Field Notes books. Good tip and smooooth writer.
  Just started using my..., January 1, 2013
Just started using my new J. Herbin and it is fun! Yes, I wish it came in a finer point but this isn't bad. I expected closer to a BOLD tip like in a Uni-Ball and it is not much to my delight. I love being able to change inks - just wish I wrote a little more so I could do it more often! Definitely will order another when they return to stock. Thanks JetPens.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Here's what happens when..., January 25, 2013
Here's what happens when you are too excited about trying out a new pen. I received a J. Herbin Rollerball and highly anticipated Rouge Hematite ink. Now mind you, I read reviews of this pen because I always do my homework. But in my excitement, I forgot that it only uses a Monteverde converter, so I loaded an international converter, and the thing flooded with ink. Then, not realizing that there is, inexplicably, a tiny hole in the end of the pen, I tried to use it as an eyedropper. Yeah, a lot of my new ink wasted. I still haven't used the pen, or the ink for that matter as I don't have an empty pen right now, so I guess I'll go grade some papers or write a sympathy card to remedy that.