JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 18, 2011
I've used many types...
Verified Purchase
I've used many types of comic/manga ink, and this is one of the best-performing. It flows like a dream, dries quickly, and doesn't smear ONCE DRY (I just dragged my hand across my latest drawing, REALLY TRYING to smear it-- not a mark! And if you're fast and working on smooth bristol board, you can wipe away smudges before they dry with a carefully applied wet tissue.). Alcohol-based markers go over it without any smearing too. I've used both my brush and nib with it, and am so pleased with its performance. Will be ordering this one again.

3 people found this helpful
blackberryminttea
 
September 16, 2013
Unlike other reviewers...
Verified Purchase
Unlike other reviewers I find this ink to be slow to dry and when it does it leaves a shiny finish. I don't know how this is beneficial to artwork being scanned. If you work under a drafting lamp the gloss will get on you nerves. The opening on the bottle is small and looking down it seems that a third of the inside is empty which means you have to dig to the bottom to apply ink on the nib.
The ink is dark and adheres to primed nib but it is a little gooey for my taste. Kaimei Lettering is Sol is so much better than this ink. In my opinion it's a waste of money.

1 person found this helpful
jvakalopoulos
 
April 24, 2011
Ink's great. Flows well...
Verified Purchase
Ink's great. Flows well and dries fast. And no blurring or anything like that when used with my Copics. Very nice all around! =)

1 person found this helpful
 
March 6, 2011
This is the first manga...
Verified Purchase
This is the first manga ink I've bought, and it was great! It dries really fast, is smooth and doesn't smudge at all after. Absolutely reccomended!

1 person found this helpful
sacimi_winnieliu
 
December 23, 2014
Need to add this: its...
Verified Purchase
Need to add this: its says its waterproof when dry but I just did a test on a couple of ink strokes from the night before and still smeared when I did a wash of plain water over it. I researched if there was a complete dry time amount somewhere online but everyone has said the same that this ink isnt waterproof at all. Dont use it for any washes!

amandarias
 
December 23, 2014
From using Higgins and...
Verified Purchase
From using Higgins and Deleter inks, this is the best one I have used! I love how quick it dries and the shiny finish. OMG! The fade resistance is amazing! I tend to erase either too hard or go over a line too many times. But this has withstand the erasing process in my drawings. I love it! Will be stocking up lol.

amandarias
 
October 22, 2014
I've had absolutly no...
Verified Purchase
I've had absolutly no problems with this ink, it makes clean crisp black lines and works perfectly with all of my dip pens!

robinneumann1
 
March 24, 2011
Absolutely love this...
Verified Purchase
Absolutely love this ink! No smudging whatsoever with my Copics. My Speedball India ink smudges horribly with my current paper. Higgens drawing ink didn't fare any better.

As I was beginning to think it was my paper (some type of smooth paper, not exactly bristol, but not some cheap printer paper. It's 180g/ m paper), this ink does not smudge no matter how much I douse the page with ink.

My only complaint is the opening isn't so big, but there's a nifty holder next to it.

Perfect for aspiring manga artists!

yinstanley
 
November 25, 2010
This ink is great! Smooth...
Verified Purchase
This ink is great! Smooth and flows really well. Once it dries on paper, it doesn't go anywhere. It doesn't fade or smear at all, even when I vigorously erase or drench the paper with marker ink. (I use Copics)

 
October 21, 2010
Ink works great, I haven't...
Verified Purchase
Ink works great, I haven't run into any problems with it. it provides good coverage and goes on smooth. It dries very quickly and I have had no issues with smudging. Best of all it works with copic markers. I prefer working with a brush, but inks just didn't seem to get along with alcohol based markers, so i had to rely on just a pen. with the kaimei ink i'm able to use a brush on all my commission work, and not have to worry about the line bleeding once i hit the piece with the copics.
mariochavez.deviantart.com

mchavezart