JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 12, 2012
I bought this pen to...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen to carry when I'm riding my motorcycle. Keep it either in my jacket pocket or pants pocket.

It always writes the first time, no matter if it has stayed in the jacket for weeks. And, I've found that by replacing the cartridge by making it an "eyedropper," just putting a little silicone grease on the barrel and filling the barrel with ink...I carry the Bad Black Moccassin ink in it....waterproof, that I have the perfect carry pen.

It's a known fact that when you go to sign the gas receipt at a service station, or use the pen they give you at the Post Office, or Bank, that you are picking up one of the most germ laden devices for spreading disease!

Therefore, you should ALWAYS carry your OWN pen.....and when the check comes at a restaurant and they hand you a BIC, just pull out your Kaweco, and watch them gaze in awe as if you pulled a rabbit out of a hat!

6 people found this helpful
mitchellbillings
 
August 27, 2011
This is my second Kaweco...
Verified Purchase
This is my second Kaweco Sport. The first, which I purchased for college in the 60's, a piston filler with a gold nib,
was made of "destructible plastic." The plastic on the new one is much better. The fine nib writes puts down a nice line is
is relatively smooth. If you buy the pen, watch the Jetpens video on installing the first cartridge; it contains a useful
tip. I'm very happy I found the Jetpens site.

6 people found this helpful
 
April 14, 2011
One of the best under...
Verified Purchase
One of the best under $20 fountain pen purchase I have made from JetPens. The size is small when closed and in the pocket. Make sure you purchase a clip if you want it to settle in a bag or pocket so it will never reach the bottom on it's own (total length closed with cap is just near 4.25"). The nib is smooth, clean, no issues and writes a near 0.6 line. I currently use the Kaweco ink cartridges which do not bleed and dry quickly (I am a lefty). This is a great gift for a non-fountain pen user as well as a good purchase for a pen lover. My next purchase is the metallic model at the $70 range, knowing what to expect the larger price range is less of a gamble.

4 people found this helpful
richard.henning
 
October 26, 2010
A pretty good user pen...
Verified Purchase
A pretty good user pen for the $, I got it with the clip as well. It writes a pretty true fine line maybe even a little closer to a extra fine than medium. I did have to tweek the nib a bit to align the tines, they seemed a bit out of place. Once they were aligned it is a pretty smooth with some pleasant feedback. The flow is dry, but I have only tried it with a cartridge of anonymous ink, I think it would work better with one of my PR inks. Its pretty tough too, the plastic has already survived a 3 foot fall, plus the threading kept the cap pretty secure so no complaints there. All in all a pretty good notes pen.

4 people found this helpful
bdubscifi
 
November 16, 2011
This is my standby always-in-m...
This is my standby always-in-my-pocket fountain pen. The writing is consistent, the case is durable, and its size makes it perfect for this purpose.

3 people found this helpful
kbondelli
 
July 16, 2011
I had this pen for about...
Verified Purchase
I had this pen for about a month. I liked it at the old $, but at the new price I don\'t think I\'d buy it again.

3 people found this helpful
jorge.math.basilio
 
January 14, 2013
I've had this pen about...
Verified Purchase
I've had this pen about three days and so far I'm disappointed.

While I like the look and feel of this pen, the ink flow is awful. If you pause between words too long it dries up for a bit. You have to go back and redo it before the ink flow starts flowing again.

Like a previous reviewer stated, I bent the nib a bit but that didn't help at all. it still stutters when I try and use it.

2 people found this helpful
 
July 14, 2012
I love the compact size,...
Verified Purchase
I love the compact size, portability, and ease of carry of this pen. The only drawback I have is that the pen is horribly inconsistent with ink flow. Even a medium nib in the same model gave me the same issue - very dry writer, non-starting, and if you pause in between words while writing it forget it.

I finally ran into someone more versed in fountain pen use than I and he recommended bending the nib away from the support piece underneath it. That helped somewhat. He said an entry level pen like this shouldn't need an adjustment out of the box. These issues are using the manufacturers own ink by the way.

2 people found this helpful
sean.seevers
 
April 15, 2012
Contrary to the other...
Verified Purchase
Contrary to the other reviews, I'm having a terrible experience with this pen. I've cleaned it, changed inks, and it still writes "dry" to the point of not writing at all unless I scribble a bit with it to get it started--not only every time I uncap it, but sometimes every time I pause a bit to move down to the next line. I purchased it as a gift, and I'm glad I decided to load the cartridge and check it out before giving it.

I'll give it one more try with the wettest inks I have before I declare it completely defective, but after fussing with it for two days, I'm not sure it's worth spending a lot more time on this pen.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 21, 2013
The Kaweco Sport is a...
The Kaweco Sport is a fantastic purchase for the price. I've recently been given the black, fine version for Christmas and it has become my favorite fountain pen thus far. The fine nib is slightly larger than a Lamy Safari Extra Fine nib.

Writing on Kokuyo Campus notebooks with Sailor black ink, this pen glides like a dream. The fine nib has a smooth, modestly heavy flow. Coupled with the body size and flow of the nib, this pen is a delight to take notes with.

I highly advise that you do research in making this pen an eye-dropper conversion. I immediately converted my pen into an eyedropper with a little silicone grease that I picked up at Home Depot. So far I've had no spills in my pocket, however, pressure changes due to temperature change can cause the pen nib to bleed. I have no problem with this since the top is a screw on and the amount of money you save from the conversion makes it well worth it.

1 person found this helpful
blakedietz