JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 1, 2011
I just wanted to write...
Verified Purchase
I just wanted to write a follow up review of my previous one. I often find it helpful to know if the product will last after the initial year.

I still love my transformer pencil case and it's held up wonderfully. I got it last year in January and it still is extremely sturdy after all the abuse I put it through. I carry it from school to work to home and the seams are still as tight as every, though I've overstuffed it and the internal structure still stands up perfectly. I can sort through my pens in no time to pick the write tool.

Anywho, I have nothing but good things to say about this pencil case. I highly recommend it to anyone.

6 people found this helpful
 
July 16, 2010
Awesome, awesome pencil...
Verified Purchase
Awesome, awesome pencil case. Colour is slightly darker than on screen, but it looks better in person. Base is very sturdy and doesn't tip over at all. The height can holy full length pencils which is something I was initially worried about.

Testing the storage capabilities, I was able to fit either:
- 17 Sakura inking pens (25 if open)
- 9 Copic markers (13 if open)

It's a fairly tight squeeze if you want to add an eraser at the bottom, but definitely a small detail that can be overlooked.

I'm 100% satisfied with this product.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 9, 2012
Good, durable pen case....
Verified Purchase
Good, durable pen case. however i must give it 4 stars due to the fact that when you put something in the middle pocket, it holds less than expected. Mabey six writing utensils of different sizes. it is very good for holding lead.

1 person found this helpful
Sasegelhorst
 
April 20, 2010
Works exactly as designed!...
Verified Purchase
Works exactly as designed! This is the perfect thing to travel between your home, school and studio, because you can bring along all your most used pens and set up shop where ever you go. It's lightweight with a good amount of padding and structure.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 23, 2014
Very happy with the quality...
Verified Purchase
Very happy with the quality and colour. I keep about 8 pens in it and I love how easy it is to find what I need. Stays upright, saves space on my desk, and some how it encourages me to put pens back into it rather than on the table. A+

mindy_fraser
 
August 31, 2013
I oogled all the pen...
Verified Purchase
I oogled all the pen cases on JetPens for ages before finally buying this Dark Green / Yellow one.

Good:
- Stands up well (I'm guessing the girl whose pen case fell over during exams did not fold the top back...or had a very tilted tiny-desk-attached-to-a-chair)
- In folded-over standing position, my Signo UM-151 pens and shorter Jetstream Standard pens could sit with tips up in the case *without* the nibs touching the sides, which was great so I could leave the uncapped pens in the case while I work and switch back and forth between pens. The similar Nomadic VS-01 Virgo cases don't fold down enough for that--you can see in the pictures that the pen nibs would touch the sides of the case while upright, thus potentially marking the interior of the case.
- It's great to not have my desk space cluttered with my various pens while working!

Bad:
- Personally, I did not like this color combination. The green is more green than in the picture (aka less dark), the yellow is pretty accurate (slight orange hue, not a blindingly pure yellow). But together with the stiff design, I felt like it was very military, but ugly-military not pleasantly-natural-military. Obviously lots of reviewers like this color combo and you may be one of them, but I thought it was clashing. They could've chosen better tones of green and yellow.

Going to return and try again in Dark Blue / Blue. So yes, the good outweighed the bad, but not so much as to keep me from exchanging colors. :)

millie7000
 
January 31, 2013
Shipping: Very impressive!...
Verified Purchase
Shipping: Very impressive! It took Jetpen only 9 days in total to pack and ship this case to Sydney, Australia! I guess the credit also goes to USPS (I used First Class shipping, which usually takes 2 weeks or more), but Jetpen was really fast with their packing, as promised. Very happy here!

Product: The case looks big in the picture, but is quite small in my hands. The green fabric has a subtle 'grid' pattern, which is nice to look at, rather than just a pure green nylon outer casing. The case is relatively soft, due to a minimal layer of foam in between the fabrics. I would love to have a harder foam insert to better protect the pens and toughen up the case, but I guess this will do.

The secret to this style of pencil case is a piece of flat, rectangular cardboard or plastic (I hope it's the later, which is tougher and water-resistant) hidden between the fabrics that bends and curves around the case, allowing it to stand up solidly. Then again, it's a bit on the thin side so I'm a bit afraid that without packing this case with pens, you will end up crushing it in your bag and permanently flatten it!

If you have mechanical pencils, chances are that the pointy guide pipes will eventually poke through either sides of the case: the zipper and especially the broad side (a.k.a. bottom of the standing case) because the fabric there is thin. But this happened to almost every nylon case that I've owned in the past, too. Therefore, leave your pencils pointing up and not over-pack the case, guys.

Overall this is a lightweight, functional, minimalist pencil case that you can show off your absolute essential tools of trade and nothing more. A perfect EDC or every day carry. For the hoarders out there, steer clear, unless you want to add this to your even larger collections of stuffs you carry around! :D

Oh, and it's "Made in China".

 
April 3, 2010
This pencil case is awesome....
Verified Purchase
This pencil case is awesome. No more fumbling for pens and there's a perfect little pocket for my eraser!

squishy28
 
January 23, 2010
I got my transformer...
Verified Purchase
I got my transformer pencil case in green the other day and I absolutely love it! Everyone comments on how cool and practical it is. I especially love how roomy it is. I know it doesn't seem like much, but it can fit quite a few pens and pencils in it. I even fit a scissor and ruler inside. :D

 
November 5, 2009
Just received my cases...
Verified Purchase
Just received my cases today. I love them. Quality material and able to hold quite a few pens and/or pencils. I think they will provide excellent value for the money spent. Thanks Jet Pens!