My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I just wanted to write..., September 1, 2011
By liz...
I just wanted to write a follow up review of my previous one. I often find it helpful to know if the product will last after the initial year.

I still love my transformer pencil case and it's held up wonderfully. I got it last year in January and it still is extremely sturdy after all the abuse I put it through. I carry it from school to work to home and the seams are still as tight as every, though I've overstuffed it and the internal structure still stands up perfectly. I can sort through my pens in no time to pick the write tool.

Anywho, I have nothing but good things to say about this pencil case. I highly recommend it to anyone.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome, awesome pencil..., July 16, 2010
By suin2d
Awesome, awesome pencil case. Colour is slightly darker than on screen, but it looks better in person. Base is very sturdy and doesn't tip over at all. The height can holy full length pencils which is something I was initially worried about.

Testing the storage capabilities, I was able to fit either:
- 17 Sakura inking pens (25 if open)
- 9 Copic markers (13 if open)

It's a fairly tight squeeze if you want to add an eraser at the bottom, but definitely a small detail that can be overlooked.

I'm 100% satisfied with this product.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Good, durable pen case...., January 9, 2012
By sas...
Good, durable pen case. however i must give it 4 stars due to the fact that when you put something in the middle pocket, it holds less than expected. Mabey six writing utensils of different sizes. it is very good for holding lead.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Works exactly as designed!..., April 20, 2010
By adc...
Works exactly as designed! This is the perfect thing to travel between your home, school and studio, because you can bring along all your most used pens and set up shop where ever you go. It's lightweight with a good amount of padding and structure.
  Very happy with the quality..., July 23, 2014
By min...
Very happy with the quality and colour. I keep about 8 pens in it and I love how easy it is to find what I need. Stays upright, saves space on my desk, and some how it encourages me to put pens back into it rather than on the table. A+
  I oogled all the pen..., August 31, 2013
By mil...
I oogled all the pen cases on JetPens for ages before finally buying this Dark Green / Yellow one.

Good:
- Stands up well (I'm guessing the girl whose pen case fell over during exams did not fold the top back...or had a very tilted tiny-desk-attached-to-a-chair)
- In folded-over standing position, my Signo UM-151 pens and shorter Jetstream Standard pens could sit with tips up in the case *without* the nibs touching the sides, which was great so I could leave the uncapped pens in the case while I work and switch back and forth between pens. The similar Nomadic VS-01 Virgo cases don't fold down enough for that--you can see in the pictures that the pen nibs would touch the sides of the case while upright, thus potentially marking the interior of the case.
- It's great to not have my desk space cluttered with my various pens while working!

Bad:
- Personally, I did not like this color combination. The green is more green than in the picture (aka less dark), the yellow is pretty accurate (slight orange hue, not a blindingly pure yellow). But together with the stiff design, I felt like it was very military, but ugly-military not pleasantly-natural-military. Obviously lots of reviewers like this color combo and you may be one of them, but I thought it was clashing. They could've chosen better tones of green and yellow.

Going to return and try again in Dark Blue / Blue. So yes, the good outweighed the bad, but not so much as to keep me from exchanging colors. :)
  Shipping: Very impressive!..., January 31, 2013
By mec...
Shipping: Very impressive! It took Jetpen only 9 days in total to pack and ship this case to Sydney, Australia! I guess the credit also goes to USPS (I used First Class shipping, which usually takes 2 weeks or more), but Jetpen was really fast with their packing, as promised. Very happy here!

Product: The case looks big in the picture, but is quite small in my hands. The green fabric has a subtle 'grid' pattern, which is nice to look at, rather than just a pure green nylon outer casing. The case is relatively soft, due to a minimal layer of foam in between the fabrics. I would love to have a harder foam insert to better protect the pens and toughen up the case, but I guess this will do.

The secret to this style of pencil case is a piece of flat, rectangular cardboard or plastic (I hope it's the later, which is tougher and water-resistant) hidden between the fabrics that bends and curves around the case, allowing it to stand up solidly. Then again, it's a bit on the thin side so I'm a bit afraid that without packing this case with pens, you will end up crushing it in your bag and permanently flatten it!

If you have mechanical pencils, chances are that the pointy guide pipes will eventually poke through either sides of the case: the zipper and especially the broad side (a.k.a. bottom of the standing case) because the fabric there is thin. But this happened to almost every nylon case that I've owned in the past, too. Therefore, leave your pencils pointing up and not over-pack the case, guys.

Overall this is a lightweight, functional, minimalist pencil case that you can show off your absolute essential tools of trade and nothing more. A perfect EDC or every day carry. For the hoarders out there, steer clear, unless you want to add this to your even larger collections of stuffs you carry around! :D

Oh, and it's "Made in China".
  This pencil case is awesome...., April 3, 2010
By jen...
This pencil case is awesome. No more fumbling for pens and there's a perfect little pocket for my eraser!
  I got my transformer..., January 23, 2010
By liz...
I got my transformer pencil case in green the other day and I absolutely love it! Everyone comments on how cool and practical it is. I especially love how roomy it is. I know it doesn't seem like much, but it can fit quite a few pens and pencils in it. I even fit a scissor and ruler inside. :D
  Just received my cases..., November 5, 2009
By tenr
Just received my cases today. I love them. Quality material and able to hold quite a few pens and/or pencils. I think they will provide excellent value for the money spent. Thanks Jet Pens!
  This case is too freaking..., August 5, 2009
This case is too freaking cool! If they restock the other colors then I'll be getting those as well!
  This is a very clever..., February 13, 2009
This is a very clever pencil case and I hope to buy another one in blue when it is back in stock. I have had this green one for about 6 months and it is istill n great shape even though I frequently overstuff it with my assortment of interesting pens. The pencil stand feature works beautifully.
  I'm waiting for more..., January 28, 2009
I'm waiting for more stock in this type of pencil case.
  At first I wanted to..., December 30, 2008
At first I wanted to hold out for the blue to go back in stock, but, finally broke down and ordered this Green version.

I am so glad I didn't wait! It's a very awesome pencil case. No fumbling around for the correct pen as you'd have with other cases. Zips right up.

It has two little pockets: one very short one at the base and one that's inside the flap with a velcro seal. I find the short one to be handy to hold an easier or ink cartridges. Don't really use the velcro seal one because I got the case full of pens.
  This case was compact..., February 3, 2008
This case was compact and efficient, it carried all my sketching pencils, pens, erasers, and about a dozen cases of lead. It was a joy to have on my desk due to it's standing feature and was very easy to carry around. I wish to see you guys have it in stock soon so I can buy a few more!!
  I am certainly in love..., December 14, 2007
I am certainly in love with this pencil case. It is very light, and has two tiny pockets inside, where you can store, say, an eraser or paper clips. Functionality itself!
  This bag is definitely..., October 17, 2007
This bag is definitely not a transformer. But personally, this bag is better than a transformer as a stationary bag. First of all, every pen stands out once you open the wonderful bag; it is like a boutique of beautiful flowers. It is a peasant thing to put this bag beside you while writing or studying. I don't know, it is very soothing to look at it. When you close the bag, you feel all your pens are safe and sturdy. I change my pencil cases from time to time. But I simply can't find a better bag better than this : ) Please buy it because it is only 13 bucks in exchange for such a beautiful bag.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Wow! These things are..., February 1, 2008
Wow! These things are seriously popular! You guys should order more at a time, because they sell out quick!
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Made in China! I thought..., September 16, 2013
By ron
Made in China! I thought I was buying a Japanese made product. I paid for a product that probably cost less than a dollar to make and ship to America . . . the Chinese workers are getting screwed on this, while the cronies are making out like bandits. Part of the reason I bought this product is because I thought it was made in Japan where workers are treated fairly for the most part.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This product has been..., February 6, 2008
This product has been out of stock for Over A Month! =(
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Please re-stock ='(..., January 7, 2008
Please re-stock ='(