JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 12, 2011
I do not understand how...
I do not understand how someone could honestly write that they can only hold 5 pens or pencils in this case. I own both the small size and large, inside the small I carry 2 Kaweco sport fountain pens (large diameter), 1 Propus Highlighter, and one jet stream ball point pen. It is tight but never a problem zipping or bulging. I don't carry the large as often but I can fit much more in that than in the small, do the math. This case can fit more than "5 pens or pencils" comfortably.

Very sturdy, opens well and stands perfect even when loaded to the max. Very nice product especially if you have a bunch of stuff in your pack and don't want the case to bend or get beat up.

3 people found this helpful
jlanedc18
 
February 25, 2012
Great little handy thing....
Verified Purchase
Great little handy thing. I bought this to dodge my previous problem of having so many pencils stuffed in one bag that I'd always have to go digging for things. This works beautifully and carries just what I need along with some extras. Contents as of now: 1 6-inch ruler, 3 drafting pencils, 1 container of Ain lead, 2 small eraser refill tubes, 1 Tuff Stuff knock eraser, 1 Pilot envelope addressing pen, 1 Zebra brush pen, 1 3-color Slicci multipen, 2 Style Fit single slim pens, and a Boxy eraser that fits in the gap between the pens and the top of the case. Works just as advertised and has protective shell-like sides and a small footprint on my desk. My one issue is that the zipper does tend to get stuck at the top because of the way the end of the zipper track tucks into the case and dangles loose there - you have to pinch the top while beginning to zip it closed. This could be remedied by a few stitches or a dab of good glue.

Overall a nice solid case that does exactly what I want it to. I've had it for a while now and abused it in an overstuffed bookbag - it hasn't taken a bit of damage. You're paying for very solid construction.

1 person found this helpful
lilpeacey
 
March 8, 2014
crap, the zipper gets...
Verified Purchase
crap, the zipper gets stuck at the top, hard to view all pens when case is filled, cheap material and bad design, I really wished i did not waste my money on this. I can't believe this item had such a high rating. Extremely disappointed.

urmilgpatel
 
October 26, 2012
I buy several mechanical...
Verified Purchase
I buy several mechanical pencils every year, and have trouble parting with any of them. As a result, my collection has grown to a point where even the ones that I like to use don't fit in my pencil case. This led me to this product.

In general I like the design, and I may buy the smaller one as well so that I can sort my pencils by manufacturer and have a color-coded set of pencil cases. This particular case is currently holding 9 pencils and there is significant room to spare. It does stand up on a desk as shown, and this can be convenient when your large desk is as cluttered as mine is.

Based on prior reviews and my own experience with this case, it seems like the zipper can be a problem. If the case is to open all the way, and form a stable base, then on mine (as is the case in the review written by Lil) when you fully open this, there is a strong tendency for the zipper to get stuck, and this is annoying. I tend to open the case once or twice a day, and so for me, this is a small annoyance. For a student moving from classroom to classroom to library to cafe to... this could be a more significant annoyance. I don't know whether it is a common feature and some just don't open the case fully, or whether it is a common flaw on a fraction of these pencil cases.

All in all I like it, and would buy it again. If the zipper issue were fixed, I would give it the full five stars, but with this problem, four stars.

 
August 24, 2012
Love my pencil case it's...
Verified Purchase
Love my pencil case it's smaller than I expected it to be but it's still perfect!!!

indianasuriel
 
December 3, 2011
Look: 5 Practicality:...
Verified Purchase
Look: 5
Practicality: 4
Durability: 5
Ergonomics: 5
Cost: 4

This case looks great. I'm able to hold(so far) and assortment of 11 different stationary (pens/pencil/markers/highlighter/mini architectural ruler/exaco knife/pen eraser+refills) items. Thick walls with smooth exterior and "hard" textured interior. It has a great shape and easy to hold. It may be $16.50 but I do feel it was worth it. Great product and highly recommended.

 
June 11, 2011
Liking this alot. It...
Verified Purchase
Liking this alot. It was smaller than I thought, which is a plus and fits my pen set perfectly. Isn't much bad I can say about this.

johnny.of.lau
 
March 9, 2011
Great pencil case for...
Verified Purchase
Great pencil case for everyday use. Lightweight, durable and pleasing to the eye. Don't have any problems with the zipper and the stitching is decent.

 
March 21, 2010
Very nice case, it stands...
Verified Purchase
Very nice case, it stands up well on my desk and I can easily see the 5 or 6 pens and pencils inside. Two things that I don't like: (1) the inner mesh pocket could have been the entire depth, but they made it only half -- not deep enough to store Pilot ink cartridges or lead pencil refills; (2) the zipper sometimes gets stuck at the top and I can't zip it closed without fiddling with it a lot (after only 2 months of use).

pauloverseas
 
January 16, 2010
I purchased the orange...
Verified Purchase
I purchased the orange large case and really loved how sturdy it appeared to be, as well as its ability to care a bunch of lamys. However, before purchasing the black case, I was curious as to how sturdy the zipper was if overstuffed. Would the stitching rip, would the zipper come off its tract. Not that I encourage overstuffing, but I overstuffed the case to the max and managed to closer the zipper without damage to the case or zipper itself. Thus, I felt satisfied that indeed this was a sturdy product, able to hold up in the roughest of situations, good for students or those who don't baby their tools. The outside wipes clean quickly (if needed) and can take a beaten without showing off too many scuffs. I am pleased with both my purchases and I do believe they will be in use a very long time.

smithl325749