JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 13, 2012
This is my favorite pencil...
This is my favorite pencil sharpener.

This is a two stage sharpening system. First use the hole on the left to cut down the wood around the lead, then use the hole on the right to sharpen the lead to a long, very sharp point.

Be careful not to be to aggressive with your sharpening as it is easy to eat through a pencil in short order. You can use the right hole to sharpen the lead several times before needing to shave down the wood again with the left hole.

Sometime I will only use the left hole when I want a long lead that doesn't need to be very sharp, such as while holding the pencil underhand and doing a more painterly style.

I use it for graphite pencils and for hard color pencils such as verithin and col-erase. I don't think the long narrow point will work well with softer leads.

The blades aren't the longest lasting that I have used, but an extra set is included and they can also be easily resharpened on a small stone or emery board.

5 people found this helpful
 
April 15, 2011
This is a really good...
This is a really good sharpener. I always get a nice point. My only criticisms are that it is not very durable, the plastic cover broke off and I am holding it together with tape, and the reservoir fills up fast. One needs to dump shavings after one sharpening.

It's a great deal! Just be careful with it!

3 people found this helpful
RamonN3242
 
April 29, 2013
Works with standard pencil...
Verified Purchase
Works with standard pencil grades like HB and softer. Does not work with hard drafting pencils like 6H for light colored layout lines. Breaks the lead every time. I tried Berol and Hi-Uni 6H Pencils.

2 people found this helpful
jack.wilkerson
 
August 19, 2012
As others have pointed...
Verified Purchase
As others have pointed out, I've noticed the sharpener does an excellent job of turning out a long, fine point. It ends up saving quite a bit of your pencil in the long run from constantly-broken lead. The replacement blades are also a big plus.

However, the plastic housing doesn't hold up well to tough use, and the cover can very easily break off (mine hasn't yet, but I've treated it gently).

3 people found this helpful
shah_jayashree
 
April 30, 2013
Just sharpened three...
Verified Purchase
Just sharpened three pencils without filling the case, the result is a long and great point.

1 person found this helpful
 
September 8, 2012
I love this thing! I...
Verified Purchase
I love this thing! I use this every day on my Hi-Uni F wooden pencils. Works very well. Gives a nice long, sharp point.

Don't try it on large diameter leads. For example, most 4B and softer or colored pencils simply have lead that is too fat. Don't try it on small diameter soft lead -- the fine tip will just break. That said, when used on the kinds of pencils it is designed for, this thing is GREAT!

1 person found this helpful
 
December 19, 2014
This pencil sharpener...
Verified Purchase
This pencil sharpener is really excellent. As far as I can tell from the pictures, it's exactly the same as the Palomino-branded one that costs almost twice as much. Go figure.

I have the red one, which has a really sturdy feeling plastic housing, that almost feels like lexan or polycarbonate — not brittle or thin at all.

The two-stage sharpening system produces quite a nice point, though I do have to go back and forth between the holes a bit. It makes sense to focus on the wood and the graphite separately though, so as to get a nice sharp point without wasting too much pencil.

I have only tested it with the Palomino 602 pencil.

cupertino
 
December 18, 2014
Easily manipulated, won't...
Verified Purchase
Easily manipulated, won't eat your last fry.

smallminded
 
June 23, 2012
This is a good sharpener...
This is a good sharpener housed in a mediocre case. The blades are sharp and do a wonderful job of cutting, and the point produced by this sharpener is, in fact, long. But the plastic cover snapped off after I had used it for only a few weeks. Meh. I much prefer my K-Zool, which is intact after over a year of daily pocket carrying and relatively hard use.

1 person found this helpful
wvfiddler
 
October 4, 2011
Kum Automatic Brake Long...
Verified Purchase
Kum Automatic Brake Long Sharpener, Garbage.