JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.5 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 30, 2011
The Kum Automatic Long...
The Kum Automatic Long Point Pencil Sharpener has to be one of the best small portable sharpener I have so far used. Like the previous person said, I strongly recommend this sharpener to anyone who uses wooden pencils.

Pros: Easy to use. Small and portable. Gives a great very pointy lead. Comes with two replacement blades. Also has a sharpener for leadholders that use 2 mm or 3 mm leads.

I mention this end bit because I was really pleased with it. I bought a Lamy Scribble 3.15mm drafting pencil from here. And though I was really pleased with the pencil. I had no way of sharpening it. I bought this sharpener from Amazon a couple of months before I bought the Scribble, and then I had no idea what a leadholder was. I was incredibly pleased to discover that I could sharpen my pencil graphite with this sharpener.
Cons: It fills up with lead shavings really quickly becaue it's so small. The blades became pretty dull after +5 months of use, but that may be because I used this alot and I had people asking me for this sharpener too. It would also sometimes but rarely break the lead of my pencils when I was sharpening ithem.

All in all, this is a wonderful great sharpener. Easy to use and gives a great point. But like I said, it fills will pencil shavings pretty quickly. And the blades dulled somewhat quickly. I have now though found a solution. I only use this sharpener when I am at University or not home. When I am home though, I use my Classroom Friendly Supplies Pencil Sharpener that can be bought here. Note: I'm not affiliated with them. I just really like their pencil sharpener:
http://www.classroomfriendlysupplies.com/
Which I argue to some extent that it may sharpen a little better than this. But since it's so big, I don't take it with me to classes haha.
Buy this Kum sharpener. You honestly won't regret it. I know I haven't.

11 people found this helpful
djuarez.jr12
 
November 1, 2010
I reccomend this to anyone...
I reccomend this to anyone who uses wooden pencils! This is a very good pencil sharpener - works great on any pencil (HB, F etc.) and depending on wood length, the lead can be very long, which is very useful, e.g. for shading.
It may seem expensive, but looking at the quality and the items (it includes spare blades after all), it's worth buying!

3 people found this helpful
m.natsuko.s
 
February 9, 2013
Have you ever before...
Verified Purchase
Have you ever before bought a pencil sharpener with adjustable and replaceable blades?

This is a precision instrument. And and inexpensive one, at that.

If you have some nice pencils - Faber-Castell, Rhodia, Staedtler - you will love how this sharpens them.

Step one "sharpens" the wood, grinding it back from the graphite.

Step two puts a beautiful point on the graphite.

The result is a long, slim, perfect point. Little breakage while sharpening (unless the pencil is a cheap one), and a clean, nice point at the end.

I bought several of these, so I'd always have one available.

2 people found this helpful
 
September 9, 2011
This is a great sharpener....
This is a great sharpener. I really like it. The blades are very sharp. The only complaint that I have is that I cannot find replacement blades. It's cheap enough that you can just buy another...but I'd rather just buy more blades.

2 people found this helpful
shawnrgranger
 
February 1, 2014
A bad batch (?) or just...
A bad batch (?) or just bad? And needs some improvements. I bought this last fall, and Hole No. 1 basically wouldn't sharpen anything. So a friend at the store where I bought it, switched the blade for me. That used one of the spare blades. Now it mostly works, but I really didn't get four working blades. At the same time and same store, I heard that another customer bought 10 at a time (to use as gifts!), and returned 4 of them; I believe it was for the same reason.

I'm not that impressed with the actual sharpening that this does, but I think the concept is wonderful. Here are the things (besides a dull blade) that get in the way of functionality for me:

1) It's hard to see what you are doing: the shavings quickly cover up the blade on the left side, so you really can't see when you've gotten the pencil point to the stage where it's time to switch to the right blade. The blue color makes the interior dark, so another hard to see factor. In addition, the etched/embossed branding on the plastic cover also reduces visibility.

2) The spare blades are at great risk of falling out when you empty the shavings. That's happened to me twice, and the first time almost made me throw the whole thing away. I had emptied the shavings into the trash at a "food court", so you know it wasn't nice trash. As I was walking away, I noticed the spare blades were gone. Fortunately, I was able to go back and find the blades caught in some paper and retrieve them.

When one blade is DOA, and if you lose the other replacement blade because of poor product design, I think it's time to find another sharpener, despite the wonderful concept.

1 person found this helpful
 
August 2, 2013
I got this KUM sharpener...
Verified Purchase
I got this KUM sharpener after reading the glowing reviews here. I use clutch pencils as well as your standard wood and I have sharpeners for both lead holders and pencils...happen to be mostly Staedtlers. I thought here's an all in one for 5 bucks so what the hey...easier to stick one sharpener in the pencil box when on the road...maybe not.
I can't say that this is a worthwhile item. The 2 mm lead pointer barely pointed the lead...Maybe I have to adjust the blade? Kind of annoying that it needs adjusting..and the long point sharpener..having problems with that as well. Needs adjustment? ....sorry but can't agree with the other reviewers here. When something claims to do more then one thing well....clever idea KUM but it is barely one step above a .50 cent kiddie pencil sharpener. Get a Staedtler if you need to sharpen 2 mm lead.

1 person found this helpful
suncityphoto
 
June 11, 2014
I do love this pencil...
I do love this pencil sharpener and feel it's a wonderful sharpener. It even takes a slightly wider diameter pencil such as the palomino and puts a point on it like a dream. I'm surprised at the one negative review. I think it does a better job then my german brass sharpener or my DUX (which I love the container that holds the pencil shavings as it holds more) but you can't go wrong with this sharpener. I hope they upgrade it to something that holds more shavings for convenience then it would be perfection.

delorestaylor
 
April 1, 2014
Very disappointed. I...
Verified Purchase
Very disappointed. I have attempted to sharpen Ticonderoga Staedtler and no names. No good points. This sharpener is no better than the little round $0.25 kiddie sharpeners.

 
September 14, 2013
I love this sharpener....
Verified Purchase
I love this sharpener. Haven't tried it for clutch pencils, but for wood pencils it works like a dream. I just got it and the blades are the sharpest I have ever encountered. I have not seen the spare blades...maybe they are in a compartment on the sharpener? The spare blades were not a consideration in my purchase. If you want a very sharp, long point on your quality wood pencils, try this sharpener.

 
December 25, 2012
I just got this sharpener...
Verified Purchase
I just got this sharpener today and I love it! It sharpens really smothly and soesnt break the points, like some other sharpeners do. I mainly got this to sharpen my 2mm lead holders and my 3.15mm Worther Shorty Pencil. I thought the lead pointers on this sharpener were just somethign extra and wouldn't be the best. Boy was I wrong! It gave an amazingly long point to the leads to! This is the best sharpener I've ever had. Its good for lead holders and regular wooden pencils. Recommended.