JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 10, 2011
An excellent product...
Verified Purchase
An excellent product for the $. The ink is nice and dark; however, it is not waterproof, so be careful if you want to watercolor over it.

The tip is molded felt, so this pen is not capable of producing the same expressive lines you get with brush pens that utilize real bristles (such as the Pentel Pocket brush pen, or the Kuretake No. 13...both of which Jetpens carries!) In addition, it is not refillable...at least to my knowledge! However, if these points aren\'t a big deal for you, you are getting a very nice brush pen that will work perfectly for kanji/character writing or art.

2 people found this helpful
emilychang07
 
February 22, 2012
I love this pen!! It...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen!! It writes smoothly & the ink dries quickly - I use it for everything!

1 person found this helpful
 
February 15, 2012
i really like this pen....
Verified Purchase
i really like this pen. i'm going to pick up a few more.
i haven't had the leaking problems with this pen.

the ink applies relatively wet but dries real fast.
nice solid construction and good pocket clip.

1 person found this helpful
kenthenoob
 
February 26, 2010
I'm so impressed with...
Verified Purchase
I'm so impressed with this pen, it's almost the only pen I'll ever need!

1 person found this helpful
morganzax
 
December 29, 2009
I love the quality of...
I love the quality of line that this pen produces. Fair warning - I own three of these, and all of them leak ink. I have to thoroughly clean them every time I remove the cap. Luckily, the ink's water soluble, so no permanently black fingers!

2 people found this helpful
 
November 18, 2009
This is a very, very...
This is a very, very good brush pen. It works amazingly well for comics and stuff such as that. If you are a big cartooning fan, then here is a suggestion on what you should do: You get free shipping on orders over 25$ So buy 1 and make sure they're what you want. If you want to stock up on them keep adding them until they're over 25$

1 person found this helpful
poof8urmail
 
November 10, 2009
This was my first brush...
This was my first brush pen. The regular tip seems best for writing Kanji and Chinese characters about 1-2 cm tall. I'm looking for a waterproof pen now because Kuretake ink is water soluble.

1 person found this helpful
qmechanic
 
December 16, 2014
For a gift....
Verified Purchase
For a gift.

louandcecil
 
December 14, 2014
A great pen with some...
Verified Purchase
A great pen with some of the best flexibility that I've seen in a non-hair fiber tipped brush pen, going from thin to broad quickly and snapping back. The ink is a dark dark black, not dark grey. The tip also seems to be fairly robust, as I seem to remember my last pen's tip lasting through its ink reservoir, rather than blowing out halfway through (worst offenders in this category being Faber Castell's brush pens and Sakura Pigma Brush). Cons of the fudegokochi is that it is non-refillable, and it is not waterproof at all, so using it in conjunction with watercolors is a no no unless you use it after everything has fully dried.

 
December 11, 2014
I've been using these...
Verified Purchase
I've been using these brush pens for YEARS; I always get them from here, and now I include several in every order, just to have backups because I use them so frequently. They've never failed to be absolutely fantastic, and I've never received a bad pen.
One thing to note is how they change with use-- there's a good amount of ink inside, so it will last you quite a while. However, after a lot of use the nib will become less and less rigid (not that it's particularly stiff normally anyway), so super tiny, thin lines will become more difficult if you don't have a steady hand, but I actually prefer the line width variation of a more used pen, anyway.
One thing I have noticed between this and the super fine brush pen of this same brand (besides that the standard doesn't leak ink lmao) is that the blacks are different colors. One is tinted blueish, the other is more brown-- I don't know whether this is normal, or if I just got a weird super fine brush pen, but unfortunately I'm unable to use these two together. I stick to this one, and use a Pilot pen or my Deleter G nibs and some bottled ink to do the really fine lines.
Overall, 10/10 on this pen. I'll continue to use this specific model of pen for YEARS to come.