1 - 10 of 21 |  | 
Great pen - I was looking...
December 5, 2011
Verified Purchase
Great pen - I was looking for something different to write with and I had read about this on a blog. This is also my first brush pen and I have to say I love writing with this pen. This pen provides a clean line and makes my notes 'readable' - definitely worth trying.
2 people found this helpful
jpsabogal
This is my favorite multi-purp...
June 23, 2010
Verified Purchase
This is my favorite multi-purpose pen/marker. Although the point does lose some of its stiffness over time, it creates nice crisp lines that are great for writing in both English and Japanese. Looks great for art projects including cards and scrapbooks. Be sure to test it on the surface before writing too much, however; like other reviewers have mentioned, it takes a while to dry and it some cases it DOESN'T dry on a given surface.

I've bought this pen twice already and now I'm coming back for my third.
2 people found this helpful
joannabclark
I ordered this along...
November 18, 2009
I ordered this along with the regular version of this pen, and i was a little upset with the quality. The ink seems to leak out of the pen, and then takes like thirty minuets to dry. I thought i could use this for lettering in my comics, but it just isn't a very good quality pen.
2 people found this helpful
poof8urmail
The regular is suited...
December 27, 2014
Verified Purchase
The regular is suited to drawing, this one's my favorite thing to write with.
1 person found this helpful
Of the 5 pens I ordered,...
December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase
Of the 5 pens I ordered, the Kuretake Fudegokochi Brush Pen - Regular, Pentel Aquash Watercolor Brush Pen - Pigment Ink - Light Black, Pilot Fude-Makase Color Brush Pen - Extra Fine - Black, Pilot Pocket Brush Pen - Soft & this one, I use this and the Pilot Fude-Makase Color Brush Pen - Extra Fine - Black the least. Not because they are bad pens, but because I just haven't found a way to fit super fine and extra fine pens into my rotation yet. Also I try to draw a little thicker. With that said, I have used this pen a little, and it is a fine pen, which is why I give it 5 stars.
1 person found this helpful
allisonranieri
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK...
March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR. I'VE FOUND THESE TO BE A GREAT BRUSH PEN FOR MY WORK. THE TIPS ARE NOT AS DURABLE OR "SILKY"/RESPONSIVE AS THOSE OF THE ZEBRA BRUSH PENS. ALSO, AS SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWERS NOTE, THE DRYING TIME IS A TAD SLOWER. (NOT ENOUGH TO BE A PROBLEM FOR ME, BUT IF YOU LIVE IN A HIGH HUMIDITY AREA IT COULD BE MORE OF A PROBLEM.) THAT SAID, THESE HAVE A DIFFERENT, SLIGHTLY "DIRTIER" CHARACTER THAT I LIKE A LOT-- ESPECIALLY FOR ACTION ADVENTURE SCENES SET IN THE OUTDOORS. ALSO A GREAT PEN FOR CONVENTION SKETCHES! I USE THESE A LOT. THE ZEBRAS FINE AND SUPER FINES ARE MY FAVORITE, BUT THESE ARE ALSO HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. (ALSO CHECK OUT THE TOMBOW "FINE" DISPOSABLE BRUSH PENS.)
1 person found this helpful
My only critque with...
January 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
My only critque with this pen is that if you want stroking lineweighting, you have to either go over the same line mutiple times our press really hard, and risk the nib. The ink also takes a while too dry, so work with caution. Other than that this pen is perfect!!! I'm in love!!!
kaileebird123
I was recommended this...
November 24, 2015
Verified Purchase
I was recommended this pen from a few friends, and it's honestly one of the nicest pens I've ever drawn with! I've only used Faber-Castell pitt artist pens for years, and while I loved the quality of the ink, the tips of the pens made me strain to produce anything presentable. It's the reason I shyed away from traditional art for years, but now, I'm not ashamed to use my sketchbook anymore! This pen is wonderful for small details and controls super easily.

With this product, I was also recommended the "Pilot Futayaku Double-Sided Brush Pen (Fine & Medium)" and the "Pentel Pigment Ink Brush Pen." If you plan on producing traditional art or comics, skip anything labeled "manga drawing pens" and purchase these instead.
nat.goggans
Like other reviewers...
October 31, 2015
Verified Purchase
Like other reviewers mentioned, this pen does have issues. However, it's been my go-to brush pen for years! The size, weight and feel of the brush tip are just right for a wide variety of uses! Whether it's detailed line work, sketching, calligraphy or simply writing, this pen is great! The tip has a nice, firm-yet-springy feel, the resulting line is quite crisp and ink is a rich, solid black. Yes, I've had leakage issues with a few of these. Yes, the tip eventually wears out and comes loose. And yes, on some papers, the ink takes forever to dry! None of this is much of a problem for me, though. I don't mind the long dry time and if the pen leaks or breaks, I just replace it. It's pretty inexpensive for such a useful pen. I hope they never discontinue it!
Liked it when I first...
July 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
Liked it when I first got it--90% of the time the Kuretake pens are terrific. But it seems to be a pen you have to use quickly: the ink leaked into the cap and the inside of the pen after a little while of keeping it in a pen case, after which it was dried out and unusable (but, fortunately, did not leak at all outside the cap). Probably would have had a better outcome if I had stored it upright, but I'm often on the move with my pens.

I have other pens that leaked into their caps in storage but still carried on writing after minimal cleaning. This one is so inexpensive, I was considering trying it again or trying a refill, but the one I have is such an inky mess, and there are so many other good pens, I decided that it's not worth it.
1 - 10 of 21 |  |