JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.9 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 18, 2009
I ordered this along...
I ordered this along with the regular version of this pen, and i was a little upset with the quality. The ink seems to leak out of the pen, and then takes like thirty minuets to dry. I thought i could use this for lettering in my comics, but it just isn't a very good quality pen.

2 people found this helpful
poof8urmail
 
December 5, 2011
Great pen - I was looking...
Verified Purchase
Great pen - I was looking for something different to write with and I had read about this on a blog. This is also my first brush pen and I have to say I love writing with this pen. This pen provides a clean line and makes my notes 'readable' - definitely worth trying.

1 person found this helpful
jpsabogal
 
June 23, 2010
This is my favorite multi-purp...
Verified Purchase
This is my favorite multi-purpose pen/marker. Although the point does lose some of its stiffness over time, it creates nice crisp lines that are great for writing in both English and Japanese. Looks great for art projects including cards and scrapbooks. Be sure to test it on the surface before writing too much, however; like other reviewers have mentioned, it takes a while to dry and it some cases it DOESN'T dry on a given surface.

I've bought this pen twice already and now I'm coming back for my third.

1 person found this helpful
joannabclark
 
November 15, 2013
This was a really great...
Verified Purchase
This was a really great pen the first time around - tiny, firm brush tip, awesome lines, doesnt smudge with solvent markers, great. But after a few months of sparing use the little point of the felt brush broke off and there went my nice tiny lines! Soon I started noticing the pen was growing leaky (I store my pens upright) but figured this was due to the tip having broken a little and use. I had also purchased the Regular version of this pen and found that for being a little wider, the felt brush tip was flexible enough to give me comparable line variety from small to broad and was also smudge-proof.
Ordered a new one of the Super Fine and got a super leaky pen, I'm afraid :C Only used it once or twice, but even after dabbing the excess ink, it is unsuitable for doing any artwork at all.
Sticking with the Regular from now on.

thepurplehusky
 
March 20, 2012
I love writing with this...
Verified Purchase
I love writing with this pen but there seems to be problem with ink-leakage, my fingers are black after using it. Its easy enough to wipe off before using it but it's too much of a hassle for a pen.

oscar.marklund
 
February 15, 2012
I think I'm having the...
Verified Purchase
I think I'm having the opposite experience with this pen. At first I thought the pen was dried out. It requires a bit of pressure to release the ink and may take a little to get used to. Once released it does produce fine lines but it doesn't flow like other pens. The tip is sturdy and good for fine details if you need a sturdier tip. I would suggest the FINE tip version of this pen because the FINE tip flows nicely and it gives you good varied line weights. This pen is okay.

I always wait for the ink to dry on the paper--so i can't speak to the time it takes to dry...

 
March 8, 2011
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK...
Verified Purchase
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR. I'VE FOUND THESE TO BE A GREAT BRUSH PEN FOR MY WORK. THE TIPS ARE NOT AS DURABLE OR "SILKY"/RESPONSIVE AS THOSE OF THE ZEBRA BRUSH PENS. ALSO, AS SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWERS NOTE, THE DRYING TIME IS A TAD SLOWER. (NOT ENOUGH TO BE A PROBLEM FOR ME, BUT IF YOU LIVE IN A HIGH HUMIDITY AREA IT COULD BE MORE OF A PROBLEM.) THAT SAID, THESE HAVE A DIFFERENT, SLIGHTLY "DIRTIER" CHARACTER THAT I LIKE A LOT-- ESPECIALLY FOR ACTION ADVENTURE SCENES SET IN THE OUTDOORS. ALSO A GREAT PEN FOR CONVENTION SKETCHES! I USE THESE A LOT. THE ZEBRAS FINE AND SUPER FINES ARE MY FAVORITE, BUT THESE ARE ALSO HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. (ALSO CHECK OUT THE TOMBOW "FINE" DISPOSABLE BRUSH PENS.)

 
August 19, 2010
Does what it's supposed...
Verified Purchase
Does what it's supposed to do -- allows a really fine line when necessary. But I'm not an artist and never found much use for it. Still kind of cool to have around.

walkershurlds
 
December 3, 2008
The point is very stiff...
Verified Purchase
The point is very stiff and has very little give - to help keep its super fine point. Likewise, this pen is also disposable and the ink is dark and thick. In fact, it seems to take a little longer for the ink to dry, so I advise folks to be patient and wait until the "wetness" of the ink disappears.

Like the name says, this is a super fine point - probably ranging from .3 to 1.5 mm depending on how heavy (or light) a hand you draw with. The lines are smooth and tapered, perfect for finer details that a larger brush would be overkill for. It's very easy to use, and almost feels like a regular multi-liner - highly recommended for its price and practicality~!

kyubikitsy