Page 1 of 2 |  | 
Such a great set. I highly...
January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase
Such a great set. I highly recommend it. I posted a review with examples of how I used the watercolors on etegami postcards (also ordered from Jetpens) here: http://simplicityembellished.com/review-kuretake-little-red-gift-set/
13 people found this helpful
cole.imperi
This gift set is beautiful....
November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase
This gift set is beautiful. It's perfect for trying out Kuretake's watercolor palettes, brush pens, and waterbrush pens. I bought this to test out this brand and see if their products were to my liking. Now I want more. The watercolors are lush and vibrant, and, combined with the convenience of the waterbrush pen, make painting surprisingly mobile. The brush pen included in the set has also become my favorite, preferred over both my Zebra and Tombow portable brush pens. All-in-all, a great investment, and a bridge to many future purchases.
5 people found this helpful
natalieskerlong
Just got this in today,...
January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase
Just got this in today, and had to try it out immediately! The pen is very waterproof and good for use with the watercolor and the waterbrush is also awesome. I had some difficulty controlling the amount of water I wanted to come out, but maybe that's beginner's syndrome. The gold is absolutely wonderful, and the rest of the colors are very vibrant as well. I used the gold watercolor here along with some gouache: http://verdantrising.tumblr.com/post/72754183438/gouache-and-watercolor-with-w aterbrush-3-5

I would definitely recommend this as a gift for anyone who likes to paint with watercolors. :) I agree with the earlier review; more colors!
4 people found this helpful
lilium.bell
LOVE this! It is really...
May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase
LOVE this! It is really fun! This is my first try with a water brush, and I'm so excited to have this new treat. I'm hooked! The paints are really lovely. This is my first gold watercolor, and I'm spoiled now. It could only be better with more colors.
4 people found this helpful
mybuttercup
The colors are vibrant...
December 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
The colors are vibrant and transparent, with no sign of chalkiness. The standout colors, for me personally, are the blue and the red. The blue is a rich, deep blue, and the red is lovely as well. The gold is surprisingly opaque and visible when loaded heavily onto the brush, even on white paper. The brush pen included with the set doesn't seem to be very waterproof, so it might be better to outline after watercoloring, as opposed to before. The colors mix well on a palette, though after drying on the palette they do flake a little. However, even when dried out on the palette they re-hydrate well.
1 person found this helpful
These watercolors are...
May 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
These watercolors are so pigmented! What I thought was black is actually navy, and the red is pretty fuchsia, I think, but the gold is spectacular. So much fun! I went right out and bought some more fine-tip brushes.
heliotropic
Great gift for an artist...
April 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great gift for an artist friend!
robin.lynn.smith
great for beginners....
February 25, 2015
Verified Purchase
great for beginners. the brush pen that comes with it is just awesome, but I'm still working out the waterbrush, figuring out how to use it more efficiently, but this is a great product, I loved it & I highly recommend it to anyone interested in watercolor.
edmar.vaz88
Wanted to edit my original...
January 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
Wanted to edit my original review after further experimentation with this set, but there doesn't seem to be a function for that. Regarding the waterproof-ness of the brush pen, it seems to become waterproof instantly on some papers, and on others it needed a little time to set. If you don't scrub too hard with your brush and wait a little while for the ink to fully dry, there shouldn't be a problem with the ink lifting off.
Really good set to start...
December 26, 2014
Verified Purchase
Really good set to start off with.

The colors are definitely quality and it's my favorite type of colors; a sort of earth tones. This set actually made me more interested in watercolor than before because it's so much easier and smoother to use. Though I did use a regular brush instead of the waterbrush pen.
Page 1 of 2 |  |