1 - 10 of 19 |  | 
Such a great set. I highly...
January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase
Such a great set. I highly recommend it. I posted a review with examples of how I used the watercolors on etegami postcards (also ordered from Jetpens) here: http://simplicityembellished.com/review-kuretake-little-red-gift-set/
17 people found this helpful
cole.imperi
This gift set is beautiful....
November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase
This gift set is beautiful. It's perfect for trying out Kuretake's watercolor palettes, brush pens, and waterbrush pens. I bought this to test out this brand and see if their products were to my liking. Now I want more. The watercolors are lush and vibrant, and, combined with the convenience of the waterbrush pen, make painting surprisingly mobile. The brush pen included in the set has also become my favorite, preferred over both my Zebra and Tombow portable brush pens. All-in-all, a great investment, and a bridge to many future purchases.
8 people found this helpful
natalieskerlong
Just got this in today,...
January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase
Just got this in today, and had to try it out immediately! The pen is very waterproof and good for use with the watercolor and the waterbrush is also awesome. I had some difficulty controlling the amount of water I wanted to come out, but maybe that's beginner's syndrome. The gold is absolutely wonderful, and the rest of the colors are very vibrant as well. I used the gold watercolor here along with some gouache: http://verdantrising.tumblr.com/post/72754183438/gouache-and-watercolor-with-w aterbrush-3-5

I would definitely recommend this as a gift for anyone who likes to paint with watercolors. :) I agree with the earlier review; more colors!
7 people found this helpful
lilium.bell
The colors are vibrant...
December 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
The colors are vibrant and transparent, with no sign of chalkiness. The standout colors, for me personally, are the blue and the red. The blue is a rich, deep blue, and the red is lovely as well. The gold is surprisingly opaque and visible when loaded heavily onto the brush, even on white paper. The brush pen included with the set doesn't seem to be very waterproof, so it might be better to outline after watercoloring, as opposed to before. The colors mix well on a palette, though after drying on the palette they do flake a little. However, even when dried out on the palette they re-hydrate well.
5 people found this helpful
LOVE this! It is really...
May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase
LOVE this! It is really fun! This is my first try with a water brush, and I'm so excited to have this new treat. I'm hooked! The paints are really lovely. This is my first gold watercolor, and I'm spoiled now. It could only be better with more colors.
5 people found this helpful
mybuttercup
Very versatile watercolor...
January 13, 2016
Verified Purchase
Very versatile watercolor set. The colors blend into vibrant hues.

I made this little ref sheet: https://flic.kr/p/D4TWSA

-Paper used is also from Jetpens, New Soho series SKETCH, in B6 format.
-For the black circle outlines, I used the black brushpen that comes with the set before painting, and it's perfectly waterproof.
-The Gold is relatively opaque; it doesn't cover perfectly but the shine is there and the effect is really nice.
-I used a regular brush, water container and palette to work. (Meaning, I didn't use the waterbrush that comes with the set).
-The colors really stain, especially the yellow. I'd recommend getting a good brush soap (The Masters is particularly easy to use and works well) and wash everything with it, palette, water container, brush. It still stains, but less. I also never let the paints dry on my palette.

Overall, these colors are amazing. I've painted a few sketches with them and got some of the prettiest blends on paper that I had seen in a while. I was surprised by the versatility of this "primary" trio, and by how it's not hard to get a wide range of hues that never fall into the "dirty" category. Used the way I use them, they stay on the medium to pale range of tones, but that's fine for me, for now.
1 person found this helpful
This was an impulse buy...
November 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
This was an impulse buy but I can't tell you how much I enjoy using it. I am not an artis,t but I have started doing some coloring and journal art and this portable kit fits the bill.
1 person found this helpful
hughesaj1
Wanted to edit my original...
January 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
Wanted to edit my original review after further experimentation with this set, but there doesn't seem to be a function for that. Regarding the waterproof-ness of the brush pen, it seems to become waterproof instantly on some papers, and on others it needed a little time to set. If you don't scrub too hard with your brush and wait a little while for the ink to fully dry, there shouldn't be a problem with the ink lifting off.
1 person found this helpful
Have as a gift. I love...
February 29, 2016
Verified Purchase
Have as a gift. I love it for travel!
jcccteresi
Clean bright colours,...
December 15, 2015
Verified Purchase
Clean bright colours, good size pans. Enjoy using all of it, including the Waterbury rush and pen. Now that I know I like it though, I'd like a more permanent case/palette to store the pans in. Needs a follow-up product
panoramafinance
1 - 10 of 19 |  |