My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
13 out of 15 people found the following review helpful
  Very good ink for drawing..., March 13, 2010
Very good ink for drawing comics or other illustrations; very black and permanent. The bottle is very nicely designed as compard other bottles of other india ink manufacturers; it is wide and not narrow which makes it easier to insert your brush or dip pen into the bottle.

My fave ink is French Sennelier india ink but this Kuretake is second best in my opinion.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  The comments and item..., June 28, 2013
By nat...
The comments and item description of this ink do not accurately describe its performance. I bought this ink as a go to workhorse for large, detailed dip pen illustration and found that it was an unusual specialty ink that's qualities make it inappropriate for illustrators.
It is very high quality with more pigment and shellac than any other ink I have used giving it a beautiful satiny luster and darkness on the page. This thickness is due to an extremely high shellac content. Because of this it never feathers even on soft papers and can produce extremely fine detail.
The shellac however makes it unusable for anything more than a quick drawing. It dries on the nib within ten to fifteen minutes and is so thick it must be scraped and washed off under water. Over The course of a six hour illustration it had to be washed off over thirty times and still caused erratic and inconsistent lines. The more you use the ink the more these problems accumulate.
The ink dries on the tip so thick it causes skipping in lines and inconsistency in stippling. In addition small pieces of dried ink can come of the nib at any time ruining an illustration. Eventually the ink will accumulate to a point where it causes the entire reservoir to be dumped onto the page. This ink was tested with the G nib, mapping pen and a flex nib and worked worst with the smaller nibs. The shellac also lends the ink a satin finish which, though it is pretty, is problematic for scanning. This ink is in every aspect; line work, stippling flow and consistency, outperformed by a budget india ink like speedball. Even when diluted, the shellac to pigment ratio is too high to make this ink function properly and it's unreliable performance can easily ruin hours of work, unacceptable for most illustrators.
Nevertheless the ink is of very high quality and looks beautiful, I could see it having fine art or calligraphy applications though I would not use this with a nice brush as it will abrade the bristles. Hope this is helps people know what they are getting and if anyone does use this for inking manga every day please post how to deal with the nib clogging.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome ink, the best..., December 10, 2011
Awesome ink, the best i have ever tried! Unfortunately, this ink dont work with copics. If you are not going to use copics with it, then i really recommend!
8 out of 12 people found the following review helpful
  Kuretake Manga Ink Pros:..., February 23, 2011
By voltv
Kuretake Manga Ink
Pros: Thick, Very Black Ink. Smooth flow. Dries quickly to reduce smudging on drawing. VERY WATER RESISTANT! Comes in a great 60ml container that's topple proof w/ a very wide mouth to make ink dipping easier!
Nitpicks: DO NOT use Copics/ Alcohol markers with this ink. Because it dries fast, it tends to build up dry ink residue on the nib-clean with alcohol or any other liquid/solution that helps remove waterproof ink.

Final thoughts: Excellent ink. Great glossy finish. Very dark. And a great ink to use with watercolors! Nitpicks aside this is one of the best inks out there in the manga market!
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I really appreciate the..., August 8, 2013
By mcv...
I really appreciate the fast drying for copic proof and water proof and such, but what I don't like about it is that when it fast drys on my g pen, every time I take it off with water and a tissue, the ink comes off in pieces of chunks and that's when it messes up my nib badly. Comparing that to DELETER black 6, it's the worst I have ever tried for creating manga! DX
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This lays down a very..., December 27, 2011
By jswope
This lays down a very black line compared to a lot of inks I’ve used and works well with a nib or a brush my only issue is I wouldn’t go over it with a alcohol based marker but if you’re going to leave it black and white or color it digitally I have zero complaints about this ink. I also find the wide base of the bottle very hand for avoiding spills and the wide opening is great for brushes.
  It is a good ink that..., June 14, 2014
By Rav...
It is a good ink that is great for drafting and water colors and it does dry really fast. However it is not compatible with copic markers. This was my intended purpose and I wish I had read the comments first before I bought it.
   It's very dark and beautiful..., June 18, 2013
It's very dark and beautiful on paper but it is an annoyance to clean off the nib. Have a clear idea what you're going to do before you dip because it does dry pretty fast and doesn't really allow for you going "Duuuuuh, where should I start...?" :B I did have this one instance of smudging but that was my own fault.

I accidentally swiped my hand across the drawing right after inking the eyelashes and of course it wasn't dry. I really wouldn't recommend using a brush with it unless you dip in water right after making a mark. I haven't let it stay on a brush too long but I can only imagine what a nightmare it'd be if it dried on a brush. INSTANT KILL!

I highly recommend this ink but always keep a damp tissue nearby if you plan on working a long time.
  Awesome ink!!!..., June 4, 2013
By sil...
Awesome ink!!!
  Very responsive ink for..., February 27, 2013
Very responsive ink for both brush and pen. Solid black, smooth finish, great coverage. Very good ink.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Using Tachikawa G nib..., November 8, 2012
By lot...
Using Tachikawa G nib or Zebra G nib - this ink works great on plain cheap copy paper! Keeps a tight and tidy line without and very low needing fancy paper, even when making fat lines. Just what i was looking for. A little messy to clean off the nib, but the results are worth the cleanup.

G nib on copy paper, this ink is better than deleter 4, speedball super black, winsor & newton wp black indian ink
Ink is very waterproof, even with constant rubbing with a wet brush i do not see any release of the black.

Ink worked poorly in a Tachikawa Spoon Nib - didnt flow fast enough and left broken lines. (nib was heavily cleaned)

bottle has a wide funneled mouth,

main negative is that the ink level seems really low to start with. it feels like its only half full and your nib will hit the bottom trying to fill it. its going to be a pain as it gets lower. might have to transfer to another bottle later.


Highly recommended.
  It is okay. It's waterproof,..., October 8, 2012
By nat...
It is okay. It's waterproof, but the down side of it is that it dries fast -may its good for some people- since I use it to outline things. lol.
  This is a good ink, but..., August 5, 2012
This is a good ink, but it is NOT alcohol proof!!!! Tried coloring over with copics and it smeared all over!
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I think it's really nice..., March 21, 2012
I think it's really nice ink and the only thing that bugs me is that it says it's fast drying but I got a couple smears. Also it is a bit difficult to clean it off the nib but othe than that it is really nice for drawing.
  This ink is most definitely..., November 6, 2011
By mov...
This ink is most definitely the blackest ink i've used recently. I was very happy with my previous ink choice before purchasing this. very consistent with natural sable brush application as well as nib use. (escoda brush/series 7 brush and nikko G nib/ principal nib)
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Love them!..., March 24, 2011
By dav...
Love them!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  awsome!..., February 20, 2011
awsome!
0 out of 13 people found the following review helpful
  -Taro Kawaguchi (from..., December 7, 2010
-Taro Kawaguchi (from Bakuman)
"I seriously wanted to marry her back then. But I knew no matter how hard I worked, I'd probably just end up as a cog in a small, mediocre company. I wanted to do something that would get her to notice me. I didn't have any monry, but I figured that as long as I had some paper and a pen, I could become a novelist or A manga artist. And that's how all this began."