JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (19 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 13, 2010
Very good ink for drawing...
Verified Purchase
Very good ink for drawing comics or other illustrations; very black and permanent. The bottle is very nicely designed as compard other bottles of other india ink manufacturers; it is wide and not narrow which makes it easier to insert your brush or dip pen into the bottle.

My fave ink is French Sennelier india ink but this Kuretake is second best in my opinion.

13 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
June 28, 2013
The comments and item...
Verified Purchase
The comments and item description of this ink do not accurately describe its performance. I bought this ink as a go to workhorse for large, detailed dip pen illustration and found that it was an unusual specialty ink that's qualities make it inappropriate for illustrators.
It is very high quality with more pigment and shellac than any other ink I have used giving it a beautiful satiny luster and darkness on the page. This thickness is due to an extremely high shellac content. Because of this it never feathers even on soft papers and can produce extremely fine detail.
The shellac however makes it unusable for anything more than a quick drawing. It dries on the nib within ten to fifteen minutes and is so thick it must be scraped and washed off under water. Over The course of a six hour illustration it had to be washed off over thirty times and still caused erratic and inconsistent lines. The more you use the ink the more these problems accumulate.
The ink dries on the tip so thick it causes skipping in lines and inconsistency in stippling. In addition small pieces of dried ink can come of the nib at any time ruining an illustration. Eventually the ink will accumulate to a point where it causes the entire reservoir to be dumped onto the page. This ink was tested with the G nib, mapping pen and a flex nib and worked worst with the smaller nibs. The shellac also lends the ink a satin finish which, though it is pretty, is problematic for scanning. This ink is in every aspect; line work, stippling flow and consistency, outperformed by a budget india ink like speedball. Even when diluted, the shellac to pigment ratio is too high to make this ink function properly and it's unreliable performance can easily ruin hours of work, unacceptable for most illustrators.
Nevertheless the ink is of very high quality and looks beautiful, I could see it having fine art or calligraphy applications though I would not use this with a nice brush as it will abrade the bristles. Hope this is helps people know what they are getting and if anyone does use this for inking manga every day please post how to deal with the nib clogging.

8 people found this helpful
nativesignpainting
 
February 23, 2011
Kuretake Manga Ink Pros:...
Verified Purchase
Kuretake Manga Ink
Pros: Thick, Very Black Ink. Smooth flow. Dries quickly to reduce smudging on drawing. VERY WATER RESISTANT! Comes in a great 60ml container that's topple proof w/ a very wide mouth to make ink dipping easier!
Nitpicks: DO NOT use Copics/ Alcohol markers with this ink. Because it dries fast, it tends to build up dry ink residue on the nib-clean with alcohol or any other liquid/solution that helps remove waterproof ink.

Final thoughts: Excellent ink. Great glossy finish. Very dark. And a great ink to use with watercolors! Nitpicks aside this is one of the best inks out there in the manga market!

8 people found this helpful
gstrikedragon
 
August 8, 2013
I really appreciate the...
Verified Purchase
I really appreciate the fast drying for copic proof and water proof and such, but what I don't like about it is that when it fast drys on my g pen, every time I take it off with water and a tissue, the ink comes off in pieces of chunks and that's when it messes up my nib badly. Comparing that to DELETER black 6, it's the worst I have ever tried for creating manga! DX

3 people found this helpful
 
December 10, 2011
Awesome ink, the best...
Verified Purchase
Awesome ink, the best i have ever tried! Unfortunately, this ink dont work with copics. If you are not going to use copics with it, then i really recommend!

4 people found this helpful
ivan_mello7
 
December 27, 2011
This lays down a very...
Verified Purchase
This lays down a very black line compared to a lot of inks I’ve used and works well with a nib or a brush my only issue is I wouldn’t go over it with a alcohol based marker but if you’re going to leave it black and white or color it digitally I have zero complaints about this ink. I also find the wide base of the bottle very hand for avoiding spills and the wide opening is great for brushes.

3 people found this helpful
 
November 17, 2014
This ink worked wonderfully...
Verified Purchase
This ink worked wonderfully on my gpen. The ink is waterproof and very dark. The ink dries incredibly fast on paper which is very useful for me as I often accidentally swipe my hands over inked lines while inking. The quick drying time also means that the ink will dry fast on the nib. However I never inked so much that the dried ink on my gpens were a problem. Washing the ink off my gpens was harder than other inks but they do come off with a little help with your nails.

jiasterop
 
June 14, 2014
It is a good ink that...
Verified Purchase
It is a good ink that is great for drafting and water colors and it does dry really fast. However it is not compatible with copic markers. This was my intended purpose and I wish I had read the comments first before I bought it.

RavenXArisa
 
June 18, 2013
It's very dark and beautiful...
Verified Purchase
It's very dark and beautiful on paper but it is an annoyance to clean off the nib. Have a clear idea what you're going to do before you dip because it does dry pretty fast and doesn't really allow for you going "Duuuuuh, where should I start...?" :B I did have this one instance of smudging but that was my own fault.

I accidentally swiped my hand across the drawing right after inking the eyelashes and of course it wasn't dry. I really wouldn't recommend using a brush with it unless you dip in water right after making a mark. I haven't let it stay on a brush too long but I can only imagine what a nightmare it'd be if it dried on a brush. INSTANT KILL!

I highly recommend this ink but always keep a damp tissue nearby if you plan on working a long time.

solianna71
 
June 4, 2013
Awesome ink!!!...
Verified Purchase
Awesome ink!!!

silviodemattos