JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (24 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 28, 2009
Now this is a brush pen's...
Now this is a brush pen's brush pen. It's what most other brush pens wish they were. Simple elegant class all the way. It's light like a regular brush so the switch between the two is almost effortless. And when you plug a Platinum ink converter into it your ink choices are infinite. The most useful inks that I've found to use in this pen so far are Noodler's Bullet Proof Black and Platinum's Carbon Black with the Carbon Black being slightly more useful if your into heavy watercolor washes as it doesn't bleed that tiny little bit that the Noodler's BPB does. The brush itself has been the most responsive of the synthetic styles that I have used so far, at least for my style of line work, it has a crisp snap so that going from a hairline to the broadest of line and back again is as near to intuitive as I've found in a synthetic. And if you're a serious line junkie you can easily convert this puppy into an eyedropper fill pen with a 1/16" diameter (hard to find so if you don't mind a bit of a bump between the pen barrel and nib section you can use an 1/8" diameter washer found at any hardware store) 1/4" washer and some silicone grease on the threads and you have yourself a brush pen that can hold an 1/8 of a bottle of ink and it'll lay down lines for days. Just remember to keep the nib upright as it can bleed like crazy if dropped or stored nib down with that much ink in it.

8 people found this helpful
carveitfast
 
November 16, 2008
Hello, and a wonderfull...
Verified Purchase
Hello, and a wonderfull (whatever daytime you might be reading this...)

Interesting, for such an infamous pen with these fast de- and increasing numbers in any shops, that I am the first to write a short review here... nice.

The Kuretake DV140-13C is one of the better Bruspens I have used.
It's nylon bristles range, in flexibilitx and resiliency between the Kuretake Phys Waterbrush Pens and the Pentel FP10 GFKP Brush Pen.
The Bristles spring back to a sharp point, but sometimes it needs a short while with the pen closed, before it's tip is sharp again for working on crisp lines, especially after filling in larger areas, which stresses the bristles a lot.

After nearly two months and 8 used cartridges, the tip looks quite like new, so the possibility to buy spare/replacement tips/nibs is great and counts as a plus, but it is not necessary too often, a second plus.

The Pen closes with a wonderfull clicking sound, and you can feel the "reistance" of the pen while closing the cap, so you know it is "closed" and tight. It gives you a good feeling about the bristles not getting too much air and drying out.

The Barrel and Cap are made out of Aluminium it seems, it seems more durable in feel and more elegant in look than the Pentel GFKP. Maybe thus the price is so much higher.

The Pen is very lightweight, more lightweight than the Pentel GFKP, could be a little heavier, depending on the user, it's up to you whether this is good or bad.

The Price is very moderate for a pen of this quality.

The Ink is a very dark and saturated black, watersoluble and even after drying not waterproof. If you want to make washes or use aquarellistic colours on your paintings, do it before using the Kuretake-ink, and you will be fine.

Kuretake DV140-13C only gets four of five stars because I prefer natural sable bristles, more stable, more sharp lines, and a better control of the line, like on the Kuretake DV140-40 oder DV140-50.
Anyway, it is still one of the best brush pens I have ever had the luck to own, thanks to JetPens. ^_^

TheHOINK

3 people found this helpful
 
April 24, 2012
I've had this pen for...
Verified Purchase
I've had this pen for about a week so far and absolutely love the pen. I've been using the standard Winsor & Newton Series 7 brushes, but they are becoming hard to find without ordering, and the constant dipping was getting old (not to mention the few times I turn to dip, I knock the bottle of indian ink over)

So I thought I would try a brush pen to avoid spillage but still get the same brush feel, and it was probably the best decision I've made so far.

Ink that is supplied isn't waterproof and I found that when dried, it has a dark brown tint rather than flat black. So I ordered a few cartridges of Carbon Black and a bottle of it.

Is it truly confirmed that the No. 40 replacement tip will fit on the No. 13? If so, I would like to convert it over to the natural sable. I found that the nylon brush tip is a bit slow on flow when taking fast strokes, and maybe a natural hair tip would fix it.

May be getting a second to use exclusively with the Platinum Converter for colored inks/washes, or just for non-waterproof cartridges for sketching.

2 people found this helpful
 
March 3, 2012
This is a wonderful drawing...
Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful drawing tool. My first brush pen was the Pentel Pocket one, and it is a lovely pen. But this Kuretake has a higher quality brush with more spring and a finer point. I am really enjoying it.

Just fyi, I use Platinum Carbon ink cartridges instead of the supplied ink, because the Platinum ink is waterproof and dries near instantly on most papers. Happily the Platinum and Kuretake cartridges are identical to each other (even down to the little metal ball), and the Platinum converter fits this pen beautifully as well. I've had absolutely no problems with inkflow.

2 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
November 21, 2013
OKAY IF YOUR A ARTIST...
Verified Purchase
OKAY IF YOUR A ARTIST THAT'S CONTEMPLATING BUYING THIS PEN.. DO IT!!!!!!!!
haha. i haven't tried any other brush pens so i cant compare this to any other one in performance, but.. i draw alot, and this pen is something i can use for everything. i draw manga influenced illustrations and i can create lines of basically any width that i please from broad blunt lines to TINY THIN HAIR LINES litterally the smallest a line could get probably with any medium. though, at first i was so frustrated with the sensitivity of the pen, literally the tiniest bit of pressure can vary the line drastically so i was really having a hard time keeping control. but after a few hours of just messing with the pen i can lay out lines of the width i please. its all just getting used to it and after that you'll be in love! definitely worth the price. came in packaged nice, no damage, no tiny little scratches on the item, so if your a weirdo like me that worry about that then that clears it up xD

-overall review-
LOOKS GREAT
FEELS GREAT
PERFORMS AMAZINGLY

oh and the ink it comes with is actually great and solid. not waterproof, soooo like said in many reviews or descriptions you can convert it and blah blah if you are working with other wet mediums. but if not then theres nothing bad about this ink at all, flows like a dream and looks really clean. no fizzyness.

just take my word and buy this and give it some practice. itll open up so many doors as a artist and really make your work look authentic and lively ^^

1 person found this helpful
DarrellBerr
 
August 10, 2011
I would like to add that...
Verified Purchase
I would like to add that I was surprised to find that this does not bleed with Copics. It does however bleed with faber castell brushpens. My guess is that it is not alcohol soluble, but is water soluble.

1 person found this helpful
DukenukemDesign
 
December 18, 2010
Most pleased. It writes...
Verified Purchase
Most pleased. It writes from a thick line down to a single hair. It feels smooth. No ink flow problems. The Platinum converter works fine.
It's better than my Pentel Pocket Brush.

1 person found this helpful
 
September 21, 2010
This Kuretake Fountain...
Verified Purchase
This Kuretake Fountain Hair Brush Pen is not only a beautifully designed brush pen, but also an excellent writting brush pen. I have used this brush pen or more than 40 year (Of course I used more than 10 of them during these years). I just love it and can recommend for any person who is intereted in trying to use it without reservation. I only wish that the company can also produce and sale the larger brush tip ones, so that people can buy them for use to write characters of medium and large sizes as well. (If not now, perhaps in the future.)

Signed,
Charles Y. Yang

1 person found this helpful
liberty7melody
 
March 2, 2010
$30 may seem pretty steep...
Verified Purchase
$30 may seem pretty steep for a brush pen, but this is worth it! I decided to try this brush pen after I was very happy with my Pentel Pocket, but wanted something with a thinner tip. Yes, the tip is thinner (but considering I work with a 6/0 brush when I'm inking sometimes, it's still big to me), but you can also get some fairly bold lines out of it. I am very happy with it. It is extremely good quality, enough that I've inked final pieces with it instead of a regular brush-- it looks that good.

Compared to the Pentel Pocket, the ink seems much "wetter" and darker. It takes a bit longer to dry, so it's easy to accidentally smudge it. However, it works better on paper with a little "tooth" than the Pentel does.

If you only use a brush pen once in a while, buy the less expensive Pentel Pocket. But if you want to make an investment and plan to use the pen constantly, go for it.

1 person found this helpful
ninevoltart
 
October 6, 2009
This pen has held up...
This pen has held up beautifully for me - and the tip is just a bit stiffer than a natural hair brush. I carry this around in my purse and have no leakage or drying - the cap is very airtight. It's great for on the spot inking! At first you think it's kind of cheap looking when you open the package, but that's just because it's not over decorated. It's very well made! Light but sturdy. I adore this pen!

1 person found this helpful
poochacho