JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 25, 2012
i'm not sure how to rate...
Verified Purchase
i'm not sure how to rate this pen yet. i used the pentel pocket brush for years, it got a TON of use and i really put it through its paces. eventually, the tip lost it point and i decided to move on instead of replacing it. my biggest complaint about the pentel was the ink. i eventually had to buy specific paper to keep the ink from feathering.

moving on to the kuretaka was a big step because i'm used to more disposable materials. i figured i'd take the plunge if it was durable and from what i could gather everyone seems to love it. immediately, i liked the ink more. the sable hair tip is even more like using a real brush (which i still use) than the pentel.

here's my complaint though. only had the pen for a few months and the tip is already garbage. it no longer gives the thin lines i like, like old blown-out brushes. i don't know. pretty disappointed. not too thrilled about forking out another $30 + to get a new tip when i've only had a few months, especially since the pen is nearly $70.

did i get a defective brush tip?

3 people found this helpful
blackirish72
 
November 29, 2010
I wanted to post again...
Verified Purchase
I wanted to post again after having used this pen for over a year now. Again I have to say it is the best brush pen I have found. I have used about everyone offered on this site, and some other random and cheap ones I have found other places. I also have been using platinum carbon ink in it as opposed to the regular kuretake that it comes with, and I find it works better this way. I recommend this pen to anyone.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y64/Angry_spirit/IMG_0334.jpg

3 people found this helpful
 
July 10, 2010
Update: I just got a...
Verified Purchase
Update: I just got a bottle of the Platinum Carbon ink from JetPens and a converter, and the pen has ratcheted up into the amazing category. Dries dark, quick, and no feathering on any of the papers I tried in my last review. The downside: I basically spent $90 on a brushpen system. But it's the most like a brush I've seen and I can get really detailed thin lines with it-- and since the ink is in a pretty big bottle, it's going to last me quite a while.

So I'd recommend if you have the money to invest, ditching the ink in favor of the Carbon ink and refilling yourself with a converter or syringe. It's night and day.

3 people found this helpful
disappearingact
 
March 3, 2012
I just recieved my pen...
Verified Purchase
I just recieved my pen in the mail and could not be happier. I ordered on a tuesday and I received my package on friday with the free shipping. I do have to say though that this pen does not come in a wood gift box but rather a cardboard box like the 1 pictured. It does come with a oil cartridge installed in the pen to keep three sable hair from drying out. So when you first go to use it remove the pill cartridge and rinse the bristles in warm water then install the ink cartridge and with a scrap piece off paper Betsy for a good 20 to 30 minutes to get the ink flowing past the oil residue. Because off those three ink will be quite thin and grey for the first day until you work work enough ink through it. After that though I am happy to report that the ink supplied is water proof and even stands up to alcohol markers such as my Copics. The sable tip is wonderful and I finally jabber a brush poem that it's comparative to my inking brushes. I had been using a Pentel pocket brush pen and can say that this pen is in another league and definitely worth the money.

2 people found this helpful
crewchief227
 
October 25, 2011
More info and pictures...
Verified Purchase
More info and pictures on http://www.elizafrye.com/wordpress/?p=1745

The Box
In typical Japanese fashion, the pen is packaged better than most Christmas presents. It comes in a slipcase box with gold foil details, and just opening it made me feel special. Look at that rice paper hang tag! I’m a professional artist now.

The Ink
The pen comes with three cartridges, and the ink itself is actually pretty decent. It’s water based and flows beautifully through the pen. Not quite as opaque as I would like, but then I find almost all inks disappointing in that regard. Luckily using the Platinum Converter the pen can be filled with any type of ink. Pretty awesome! Replacement Brush tips are also available. I feel better about a tool when I can replace its key parts.

The Brush
The pen itself has a really sleek matte finish that just feels good in your hands. The response of the brush is very similar to the other Kuretake brush pens, but better in all the ways you would expect from natural hair. It holds a nice point and produces gorgeous line quality. Quick strokes result in a dry brush effect that I found especially pleasing. The pen’s versatility of line is definitely it’s strongest feature. I used it for all of my Mid-Ohio Comic Con sketches, and could only have been happier if the tip were slightly larger, specifically size #6 like my favorite Isabey brush.

Like any natural hair brush, the No. 40 will be your best friend for life if you pamper it just a little. The instruction booklet recommends washing out the brush tip if it gets stiff or sits unused for a long period of time. ‘A long period of time’ to me means more than 24 hours, so the one to five day washing procedure is a little annoying and perhaps the pen’s only downside.

The Conclusion
If inking a line with anything besides your favorite sable-haired workhorse makes your eyebrows crinkle and your mouth scrunch up, this pen is for you. The No. 40 is beautiful to hold, performs like a champion racehorse, and comes in elite fancy packaging. However, if you just need a fantastic travel brush, I recommend the No. 13. I wore mine out and would have bought it again if the No. 40 didn’t mash all of my brush snob buttons. Congratulations Kuretake, you win the Best Brush Pen Prize. For life.

3 people found this helpful
 
October 8, 2011
AMAZING!!! I absolutely...
Verified Purchase
AMAZING!!!

I absolutely love this pen. I am an illustration student and this is of the best quality. As artists and art students, well all know of sable hair. The best hair in the market and the longest lasting too! ( it will not loose its point)

The price is what i would expect for this type of pen, actually a great price. (they usually go for $100 or more!)

Great PEN!

2 people found this helpful
soy.elisa.o
 
March 28, 2009
Hello, and a wonderfull...
Hello, and a wonderfull (whatever daytime you might be reading this...)


I am one of the crazy illustrators and freelance-artists mentioned here, who eagerly requested these pens, nib refills AND Pens...

This pen is proof that even the best synthetics can not mess with mother natures gifts.

The Kuretake DV140-40/50 is THE best Brushpen I have ever had the pleasure to handle.


TIP:--------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------

It's natural sable bristles offer a higher flexibility than any other pen with a brush-like tip you might find on this page, better than the Pentel GFKP FP10 or the Kuretake DV140-13C or or or... I have them all, but THIS one is the best.

In the beginning there is a cartridge inserted in the tip with oil and water, so the bristles do not dry out, a very clever idea by the company.

The Bristles spring back to a sharp point, offer a very high resiliency and very good controll of pressure and line width.

After 9 months of being in use and 27 used cartridges, the tip looks quite like new, so the possibility to buy spare/replacement tips/nibs is great and counts as a plus, but it is not necessary too often, a second plus.

Sometimes you should clean the tip, just use some cold to mid-temperated water and wipe the pen out on a clean tissue.
For larger areas, you should, after all, stick to synthetic bristles, since natural hair is more about control and detail, and not for fast colouring of large areas, which would (di)stress the hairs a lot.


BARREL AND CAP:--------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---

The Pen closes with a wonderfull clicking sound, and you can feel the "resistance" of the pen while closing the cap, so you know it is "closed" and tight. It gives you a good feeling about the bristles not getting too much air and drying out.

The Barrel and Cap are made out of Aluminium or resin, it seems, it seems more durable in feel and more elegant in look than the Pentel GFKP. Maybe thus the price is so much higher, but invested this pen it is more than worth the money.

For some people this pen might seem heavy, it is around 18 to 20 gramms, somewhere very close to the Pilot Décimo which has 20gr. So it might be too heavy for some, but it is perfect for me.

The Price is very moderate for a pen of this quality.


INK:--------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------

The Ink is a very dark and saturated black, watersoluble and even after drying not waterproof. If you want to make washes or use aquarellistic colours on your paintings, do it before using the Kuretake-ink, and you will be fine.

And you can use any "noodlers" (have not tried the eel-inks) to refill empty cartridges with a syringe.


IN THE END:--------------------------------------------------------------------------- ----------

Kuretake DV140-40 AND DV140-50 are all getting five stars, since they are very close one to antoher in weight, and since they share the same tip their performance equals one another very closely, too.

And they are highly better than the synthetic counterparts of the DV140-13C.

Forget about all the other brush-pens which use synthetic bristles, when you use this kind of pens a lot, buy one with natural bristles, especially if you are up to detailed, evry controlled work.


TheHOINK

2 people found this helpful
 
February 18, 2014
I've been using this...
Verified Purchase
I've been using this pen every day for several months now. I highly recommend using the Platinum converter - I expended one of the included cartridges in just two days. The pen still has to be refilled every two or three days, as I use quite a bit of ink.

It has been filled with two different kinds of Noodler's "Bulletproof Ink" which, for me has worked flawlessly. The ink flows a little faster than the cartridge ink, but I draw quickly, so this is a great improvement in my eyes!

Basically: this pen is perfect.

1 person found this helpful
euphonious
 
March 28, 2012
Let me start by saying...
Verified Purchase
Let me start by saying I think that this brush is great and is built well, HOWEVER, I do believe I got a bad brush tip. It tends to bend and stay bent with little pressure applied. The flow of the brush is a little much also. The ink will amass at the tip which causes heavy lines with little pressure. Can anyone verify that this is something wrong with the brush tip or the part where the ink cartridge is inserted? Maybe it got damages or was just a faulty one off the line. I want to love this pen but at the moment i doesn't compare to my traditional WN series 7 brush.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 14, 2012
Can the above reviewer...
Verified Purchase
Can the above reviewer update on whether the Platinum carbon black is clunking up the
sable of the #40?
(I'm comparing it to the advice in Russ Stuler's sketchbook and here:
http://www.sketching.cc/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1650 )

My #40 is on it's way and since I can't post without a rating, I'll put in an average in the meantime.


1 person found this helpful