My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I like the size; it's..., March 26, 2012
By yfn...
I like the size; it's small enough to fit in my DIY Jelly Bean Palette:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/43582956@N00/6872949836/
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Go the Petit Set because..., August 11, 2011
Go the Petit Set because I wanted to try out waterbrush painting. I think this one is so great I don't feel inclined to upgrade to a full size one anytime soon.
The only problem I've had was my Mom kept borrowing it, so I had to get her one as well.

Also I would love to get some more of those little bottles like the one the set comes with, would jetpens consider stocking?
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  It's a really a cute..., November 22, 2009
It's a really a cute little brush, and it performs very well. Length wise, It's a little bit shorter than the Pilot Petit 1 Fountain Pen when capped. The brush size is close to a No 1 Round Brush. I think it will be very portable, and perfect for smaller scale work and sketchbooks.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This water brush set..., November 7, 2008
This water brush set is the perfect size for watercolor travel kits. The short brush barrel might pose a problem for people with huge hands. The bottle is able to carry up to 1 oz of liquid. Water flows out of the brush smoothly, unlike the regular size Kuretake water brushes where you have to squeeze hard on the barrel to get the flow going. I'd say function-wise, the brush behaves more like the Pentel Aquash than its full-size Kuretake versions. As for the brush tip, it is the same size as the small Kuretake water brush. All-in-all, I love this product. I'm thinking of buying another one as a spare.
  This brush is perfectly..., July 15, 2014
This brush is perfectly sized to fit into my custom watercolor travel kit! The bottle, not so much, but I figure I can carry that in my pocket along with my mini art book. The bristles are soft and short, giving nicely controlled strokes. The tip is not very fine, but it's fine enough to create some details along with broader strokes.

The only thing that keeps this from getting a full five stars is that the water is not completely secured into the body when the brush is inserted into it. Natural water tension will keep the water from pouring out of the hole, even when held upside down. But some drops will come out when you give it a firm shake. I'm not sure how well it holds up when rattled around in the sketch kit, and I'm not willing to test it empty (because that's not realistic of how it would be normally carried) nor full, because I don't want my paints to get wet and leak everywhere in the event water does get shaken out. So to be an absolutely perfect product, I'd like to have some kind of slip cap to go over the end. (Of course, you could always fashion one out of an empty ink bladder or waterballoon, something like that.)
  One of my favorite tools!..., May 23, 2014
One of my favorite tools! I keep coming back and buying more for my friends. Goes anywhere!
  I love this little set..., May 23, 2014
I love this little set and keep buying them to give my friends. Fits, works, perfect!
  The brush, assembled,..., September 29, 2013
By fkf...
The brush, assembled, is smaller than I expected, but I like that it is truly pocket sized. But I find I really have to use up or dump all the water in it if I want to put it back in my pocket after use, because the barrel is also the brush cap (and make sure you have something to wipe off the wet end where the brush inserts into the barrel.

The little water bottle defeats me, as I can't read the Japanese directions. I tried filling it by squeezing the accordioned end, immersing the top in a cup of water and then releasing the accordioned part. It sucked up only about 10ml of water. After several tries to get more in, I ended up using a mini funnel I had left from an old refillable perfume spray while holding the tiny opening under a stream of running water and slowly it filled. What am I doing wrong?
  Great inexpensive set! This..., May 30, 2012
Great inexpensive set!
This water brush works great. The waterbottle holds plenty of water for a day of sketching with watercolors. This set will fit in event he smallest watercolor sets and pairs well with my mini mint tin DIY watercolor sets.

The brush holds a point well and is hidden inside the handle for travel. Easy and convenient.
  I got this set in trying..., May 3, 2012
By lei...
I got this set in trying out several different waterbrushes. I ended up not using the brush much, as I like the Aquash brush better, but the water bottle makes the set worth purchasing on its own!
  I love this. I accidentally..., February 14, 2011
I love this. I accidentally bought two, and I don't mind at all.
Very easy to transport, does not leak.
  Nice addition to a waterbrush..., September 6, 2008
Nice addition to a waterbrush collection and compact enough for travel kits. Not terribly comfortable to wield for people with big "paws" for hands that would be better served with regular sized waterbrushes..
This Product
Kuretake Waterbrush - Petit Set - KURETAKE KG205-80
$4.25