JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 22, 2011
This is a nice burgundy...
Verified Purchase
This is a nice burgundy color, but it's a little too transparent to pass as real blood -- it's got a sort of watercolor quality to it. It's very close to the Marvy Uchida burgundy, but a little more transparent. It's roughly the same deep red with a hint of purple as partly-dry blood (not as red as freshly-spilled blood, not as brown as old dried blood) but not as opaque as real blood. (If that's your thing, you might want to try using an opaque acrylic paint instead.)

The Zig pens have a bit of a brush quality to them (with a small, mostly-stiff point) that gives a line quality similar to a Tradio/Pulaman/Fountain Pentel, but the Zig has many more color options. The Tradio/Pulaman/Fountain Pentels go "scratchity scratchity scratchity" when you write -- and sometimes "spit" little droplets in a random direction. The Zig writes more quietly, and has similar thicks and thins, but without the occasional spitty surprise. I personally prefer writing with the Tradio/Pulaman/Fountain Pentels, because their scratchiness grips the paper firmly and their ink is a bit darker, but I suspect most people will prefer the Zig's predictability and wider range of colors.

5 people found this helpful
kibokibo+jp
 
May 26, 2011
I wouldn't quite call...
Verified Purchase
I wouldn't quite call it blood red, it has a bit of a... mauve, maybe? tint to it. It's still a nice shade of red, and it writes beautifully. The super fine tip makes it easy to write very small, but you can also write a little bit thicker with it. Really looking forward to trying out more colors!

2 people found this helpful
 
April 14, 2011
It's more like slightly...
Verified Purchase
It's more like slightly dried blood than fresh, bright red blood. It's a little darker. The tip is a lot thinner and stiffer than I thought it'd be. When I opened this up, some of the ink had spilled in the cap a bit, but I guess that's normal... can't wait to start using this more though :)

2 people found this helpful
 
November 24, 2010
Almost scary how very...
Verified Purchase
Almost scary how very much this ink looks like blood. There seemed to be a lot of ink in the cap on arrival (which I thought might have been due to Winter shipping) but looking at the pictures of the refills online, mine isn't noticeably drained after all.

2 people found this helpful
gweb_world
 
July 13, 2014
While stiffer than I...
Verified Purchase
While stiffer than I thought the tip would be, I actually enjoy this pen for its super fine lines. And the ink doesn't bleed through even the cheapest of paper I own. The color itself is a nice, slightly desaturated burgundy. I should note that the pen body says the color is "Bordeaux," so I'm not sure why JetPens calls it "Blood Red." Blood color would have more brown in it, I imagine, but this is more of a dark true red with enough violet to be burgandy, and again, somewhat desaturated in hue.

At any rate, I really enjoy the extra fine lines these pens produce, and the ink supply is hefty. Perfectly worth the price, even with a somewhat stiffer nib than imagined.

1 person found this helpful
djkhimtaka
 
November 21, 2014
wonderful rich color...
Verified Purchase
wonderful rich color

 
November 5, 2014
I love this pen and refill;...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen and refill; I like that we don't throw them away. I only wish they were waterproof or offered a waterproof version! Also a good green!

 
October 25, 2014
Nice colour, but nice...
Verified Purchase
Nice colour, but nice is merely okay.

kerrydwynn