1 - 10 of 14 |  | 
Writes very nicely. ...
August 22, 2011
Verified Purchase
Writes very nicely. I save five star reviews for things which are unbelievably great. This is just very good, and I'm not inclined to pay any more than this for a fountain pen. I buy them to write with, not to display.

Writes very smoothly, and feels good in my hand. I got the extra-fine nib, and absolutely cannot tell the difference between it and the fine nib on my Lamy Safari in side by side writing. Not really important, as it's just about where I want it for the kind of writing I do.

The fact that it seems a sturdier than the Safari justifies the extra money. The Al-Star will see a lot of use.
6 people found this helpful
I ordered this pen along...
December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase
I ordered this pen along with a converter so that I can use any colored ink that I wish. I am very glad that I purchased this pen rather than something lighter, since I prefer the feel of a slightly heavier pen. As far as the extra fine nib goes, I do not find it too fine for my handwriting, it actually makes my handwriting look much better ^.^ Now I cannot wait for my second fountain pen to arrive.
4 people found this helpful
lksandrock
This was my first Lamy...
January 7, 2011
Verified Purchase
This was my first Lamy fountain pen purchase, and I am extremely satisfied. It looks great, it writes very well, and with a converter, I am able to use any bottled ink I wish. Mine is currently filled with J. Herbin's Eclat de Saphir and it flows beautifully. Now, I find myself taking every opportunity to write things down, just so I can use my fountain pens. Thanks, JetPens!
2 people found this helpful
lksandrock
Writes beautifully and...
October 19, 2008
Verified Purchase
Writes beautifully and smoothly. It's slightly heavier than the Safari, which makes this just about perfect. The graphite coloring makes it feel professional, and it's a very solid construction.

The nib tends to be a tad messy using the converter cartridge, but still writes nice and smoothly.
2 people found this helpful
While I am thoroughly...
January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase
While I am thoroughly enjoying the way this pen writes the grip is getting me down. There are groves in the barrel for your fingers which force me to hold the nib at a certain angle. Maybe it's because I'm left-handed but I'm finding it awkward. Next time I'll buy a fountain pen with a round, smooth barrel. I think that will alleviate the problem.
1 person found this helpful
maggies902
This is actually a review...
December 26, 2010
This is actually a review for the green al-star pen. It's the best pen I have ever owned! I'vd several cheap 'fountain' pens, and have been disappointed. This pen Amazed me! Writes so smooth from the start! Its quality is obvious from every aspect, and I think if you ever wanted to try a fountain pen this is it! Use it for everything from writing to sketching and love the flow & feel.
2 people found this helpful
gary.hart
Fun, durable, writes...
February 20, 2015
Verified Purchase
Fun, durable, writes well, and I have brown ink in my convertible cartridge.
RoysterSB
Very simple, and good...
January 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very simple, and good starter fountain pen. Works well if you like fountain pens but want one for on the go. I would recommend buying the Lamy Fountain Pen Z-24 Converter, this replaces the ink cartrige the pens comes with and allows for the pen to be filled traditionally with a bottle of ink. Then new ink cartridges don't need to be constantly bought. The EF steel nib provides precise writing with smoothness and a nice flow of ink that won't bleed through. Quality paper for writing is a must with these pens. Maybe try Rhodia notebooks, they are very smooth 80g paper and don't break the bank.
Not a big fan of EF nib. My...
August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase
Not a big fan of EF nib.

My first fountain pen was the Lamy safari matte-black F nib. It was great, so good that I carried it back and forth from work. After a while this got annoying and at this price point I didn't feel bad about ordering another one. I went with this in the hopes it would have a little more heft and sturdyness to it (which it does) and also wanted to try the EF nib.

Everything was the quality you'd expect from Lamy. As soon as I plugged in the blue-black cartridge (it comes with blue like all lamys but I've bought the blue-black cartridges). The EF nib hasn't impressed me though. The line width between it and the F nib is marginal but the F nib writes much smoother. The F nib with the sailor gentle blue-black (I also bought the convertor this order) was amazingly smooth. The sailor ink also helped with the scratchyness on the EF nib. But I planned on taking this to work and use cartridges instead of dealing with bottled ink at work.

I've been using this daily at work since April (it is now August) with the EF nib in the hopes it would grow on me and it never has. Part of the reason is the cheap copy paper I usually use at work. Today I received my limited edition black body Al-Star with F nib and will be replacing this pen with that one on Monday. In that time period though I used it pretty much daily and usually posted the cap (it is a little top heavy but I was worried I'd lose the cap otherwise) and haven't seen any scratching on the body. It looks like the part that grips on to the body when you post it is plastic which is probably why it doesn't scratch. I have another pen I usually use at home but I may keep this around and use the convertor with sailor gentle blue-black. The EF with that ink seemed to pair really well.

Ultimately, if you like the Safari but wanted something a little sturdier, this will work nicely. You may want to stick with the F nib though.
Just bought one of these...
July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase
Just bought one of these a week or two ago. If you're wondering if you should -go right ahead- they're great!
It flows excellently, very consistent and really easy to write with! The EF nib runs a little larger than you might expect from the name,
but by no means unpleasantly so. My Suggestion: match it up with a converter and one of the iroshizuku inks

My only complaint? For sub $40 it actually beats the heck out of my $200 Parker.
mikecockrem
1 - 10 of 14 |  |