My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Writes very nicely. ..., August 22, 2011
By goo...
Writes very nicely. I save five star reviews for things which are unbelievably great. This is just very good, and I'm not inclined to pay any more than this for a fountain pen. I buy them to write with, not to display.

Writes very smoothly, and feels good in my hand. I got the extra-fine nib, and absolutely cannot tell the difference between it and the fine nib on my Lamy Safari in side by side writing. Not really important, as it's just about where I want it for the kind of writing I do.

The fact that it seems a sturdier than the Safari justifies the extra money. The Al-Star will see a lot of use.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered this pen along..., December 20, 2010
I ordered this pen along with a converter so that I can use any colored ink that I wish. I am very glad that I purchased this pen rather than something lighter, since I prefer the feel of a slightly heavier pen. As far as the extra fine nib goes, I do not find it too fine for my handwriting, it actually makes my handwriting look much better ^.^ Now I cannot wait for my second fountain pen to arrive.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This was my first Lamy..., January 7, 2011
This was my first Lamy fountain pen purchase, and I am extremely satisfied. It looks great, it writes very well, and with a converter, I am able to use any bottled ink I wish. Mine is currently filled with J. Herbin's Eclat de Saphir and it flows beautifully. Now, I find myself taking every opportunity to write things down, just so I can use my fountain pens. Thanks, JetPens!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Writes beautifully and..., October 19, 2008
By vadius
Writes beautifully and smoothly. It's slightly heavier than the Safari, which makes this just about perfect. The graphite coloring makes it feel professional, and it's a very solid construction.

The nib tends to be a tad messy using the converter cartridge, but still writes nice and smoothly.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  While I am thoroughly..., January 23, 2012
While I am thoroughly enjoying the way this pen writes the grip is getting me down. There are groves in the barrel for your fingers which force me to hold the nib at a certain angle. Maybe it's because I'm left-handed but I'm finding it awkward. Next time I'll buy a fountain pen with a round, smooth barrel. I think that will alleviate the problem.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This is actually a review..., December 26, 2010
This is actually a review for the green al-star pen. It's the best pen I have ever owned! I'vd several cheap 'fountain' pens, and have been disappointed. This pen Amazed me! Writes so smooth from the start! Its quality is obvious from every aspect, and I think if you ever wanted to try a fountain pen this is it! Use it for everything from writing to sketching and love the flow & feel.
  Not a big fan of EF nib. My..., August 16, 2013
By vr
Not a big fan of EF nib.

My first fountain pen was the Lamy safari matte-black F nib. It was great, so good that I carried it back and forth from work. After a while this got annoying and at this price point I didn't feel bad about ordering another one. I went with this in the hopes it would have a little more heft and sturdyness to it (which it does) and also wanted to try the EF nib.

Everything was the quality you'd expect from Lamy. As soon as I plugged in the blue-black cartridge (it comes with blue like all lamys but I've bought the blue-black cartridges). The EF nib hasn't impressed me though. The line width between it and the F nib is marginal but the F nib writes much smoother. The F nib with the sailor gentle blue-black (I also bought the convertor this order) was amazingly smooth. The sailor ink also helped with the scratchyness on the EF nib. But I planned on taking this to work and use cartridges instead of dealing with bottled ink at work.

I've been using this daily at work since April (it is now August) with the EF nib in the hopes it would grow on me and it never has. Part of the reason is the cheap copy paper I usually use at work. Today I received my limited edition black body Al-Star with F nib and will be replacing this pen with that one on Monday. In that time period though I used it pretty much daily and usually posted the cap (it is a little top heavy but I was worried I'd lose the cap otherwise) and haven't seen any scratching on the body. It looks like the part that grips on to the body when you post it is plastic which is probably why it doesn't scratch. I have another pen I usually use at home but I may keep this around and use the convertor with sailor gentle blue-black. The EF with that ink seemed to pair really well.

Ultimately, if you like the Safari but wanted something a little sturdier, this will work nicely. You may want to stick with the F nib though.
  Just bought one of these..., July 11, 2013
By mik...
Just bought one of these a week or two ago. If you're wondering if you should -go right ahead- they're great!
It flows excellently, very consistent and really easy to write with! The EF nib runs a little larger than you might expect from the name,
but by no means unpleasantly so. My Suggestion: match it up with a converter and one of the iroshizuku inks

My only complaint? For sub $40 it actually beats the heck out of my $200 Parker.
  This is my second Lamy..., April 21, 2013
By vr
This is my second Lamy purchase (first being the Safari Fine). I bought this because I got tired of taking my Safari pen back and forth from work to home. Went with the al-star and extra fine because I didn't want to just buy the exact same one a second time. The EF nib had a small break-in period. I even later bought a F nib thinking the scratchyness of the EF nib couldn't be helped. Well after a couple weeks of use that went away and it writes like a dream now. If anything, the EF nib feathers less on cheaper paper than F nib. I mainly write on scraps of copy paper and the cheap steno sized books that work buys. I've had the same cartridge for a month or so and it's finally starting to get low. While I have a convertor and use it at home the cartridges are much more convenient at work. I would have preferred a black nib instead of the chrome one but that's really the only issue I have with it.
  Tried to put up a review..., August 23, 2011
By goo...
Tried to put up a review yesterday, but it didn't seem to take.

This is one of two Lamy's I bought. Got the Graphite Gray AL-Star with an extra fine nib here, and a Safari with a fine nib elsewhere. In side by side writing, I absolutely don't see any difference between the EF and F nib.

Regardless, they both write very easily, but I do like the slightly more substantial feel of the AL-Star. Since this is about the maximum I can bring myself to pay for a mere pen, I'm glad to find that it writes so well. Very smooth, and no skipping, even in the cheap composition book that I use for a journal. I bought the converter to use with it, but will use up the included cartridge first.
  Very nice fountain p..., February 15, 2008
Very nice fountain pen!!!
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Nice pen but ex-fine..., September 18, 2010
Nice pen but ex-fine is better suited for sketchs and such shouldve got a medium or fine for writing . Xp