JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 7, 2011
I think this is the most...
I think this is the most beautiful color in the al-star series. Writes smooth. I fall in love with fountain pens again~

3 people found this helpful
wswaterlily
 
January 18, 2011
My first Lamy! I love...
My first Lamy!

I love this pen; it does not bleed ink, and it starts right up, no matter how long you have gone between uses.

3 people found this helpful
nycteris_a
 
August 4, 2010
Wow.. the barrel color...
Wow.. the barrel color is just absolutely stunning! Please restock!! I love Lamy extra fine nib fountain pens :)

3 people found this helpful
 
December 29, 2009
Great writing fp....
Verified Purchase
Great writing fp.

3 people found this helpful
smithl325749
 
March 5, 2011
Great pen! The color...
Great pen! The color is just gorgeous!!!

2 people found this helpful
smcentire02
 
September 19, 2013
I have this pen with...
Verified Purchase
I have this pen with the cartridge converter. I also own the Lamy Safari in a Fine nib.

"Extra Fine" is relative, I guess. When I ordered an extra fine nib, I was expecting something like 0.4mm-0.6mm, but this is larger than that. It's still entirely usable for filling in documents, but if you were hoping to do some ultra-tiny note taking or anything of that level of precision, this is likely not fine enough. For everyday writing, though, it should be okay.
Do NOT go for the "Fine" nib even if you are worried about scratchiness, unless you are aware that it's not fine at all (at least 1.0mm)

Otherwise, this pen is amazing. Smooth, beautiful, and the clip is sturdy enough that I don't worry that my fidgeting will be too much for it. The cartridge converter is easy to use, even for someone who is a first-time fountain pen user like myself!

1 person found this helpful
 
September 10, 2011
I love this Fountain...
Verified Purchase
I love this Fountain Pen! The color is absolutely beautiful, and the color also complements perfectly with Iroshizuku Yama-Budo. For the price you could not go wrong, solid German engineering and quality that you will enjoy. I have purchased one for my daughter as well and she loves it.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 22, 2014
My second Lamy Al-Star!...
Verified Purchase
My second Lamy Al-Star! They're sturdy and beautiful pens. And the colors they come in! This one is my favorite color of the bunch (but I just had to get that limited blue green first). It's a lovely wine color, and I paired it with Iroshizuku Yama-budo ink. It's a heavenly match! I drool over the colors of both pen and ink when I use them.

As for function, it's perfect! I find the extra-fine nib to be just right, as most fine-nibbed pens are too thick to truly be considered fine-lined on paper. The Lamy nibs do the trick, putting down a line the same thickness as a Pilot Precise V5 rollerball pen. The weight is nice and light, though I had to get used to the added weight of the cap while it's posted. And the grip's shape feels comfortable to me, though some people might not like it depending on how they've grown used to holding a pen.

I must collect all the Al-Stars. I simply must.

djkhimtaka
 
February 4, 2012
Wonderful pen. Good...
Wonderful pen. Good work horse of the fountain pen world. Converter works great with it too. I wouldn't have it any other way.

nydwyngreendragon
 
December 27, 2009
PLEASE RESTOCK!...
PLEASE RESTOCK!