My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I think this is the most..., April 7, 2011
I think this is the most beautiful color in the al-star series. Writes smooth. I fall in love with fountain pens again~
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  My first Lamy! I love..., January 18, 2011
My first Lamy!

I love this pen; it does not bleed ink, and it starts right up, no matter how long you have gone between uses.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Wow.. the barrel color..., August 4, 2010
Wow.. the barrel color is just absolutely stunning! Please restock!! I love Lamy extra fine nib fountain pens :)
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Great writing fp...., December 29, 2009
Great writing fp.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Great pen! The color..., March 5, 2011
By smc...
Great pen! The color is just gorgeous!!!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I have this pen with..., September 19, 2013
I have this pen with the cartridge converter. I also own the Lamy Safari in a Fine nib.

"Extra Fine" is relative, I guess. When I ordered an extra fine nib, I was expecting something like 0.4mm-0.6mm, but this is larger than that. It's still entirely usable for filling in documents, but if you were hoping to do some ultra-tiny note taking or anything of that level of precision, this is likely not fine enough. For everyday writing, though, it should be okay.
Do NOT go for the "Fine" nib even if you are worried about scratchiness, unless you are aware that it's not fine at all (at least 1.0mm)

Otherwise, this pen is amazing. Smooth, beautiful, and the clip is sturdy enough that I don't worry that my fidgeting will be too much for it. The cartridge converter is easy to use, even for someone who is a first-time fountain pen user like myself!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love this Fountain..., September 10, 2011
I love this Fountain Pen! The color is absolutely beautiful, and the color also complements perfectly with Iroshizuku Yama-Budo. For the price you could not go wrong, solid German engineering and quality that you will enjoy. I have purchased one for my daughter as well and she loves it.
  My second Lamy Al-Star!..., July 22, 2014
My second Lamy Al-Star! They're sturdy and beautiful pens. And the colors they come in! This one is my favorite color of the bunch (but I just had to get that limited blue green first). It's a lovely wine color, and I paired it with Iroshizuku Yama-budo ink. It's a heavenly match! I drool over the colors of both pen and ink when I use them.

As for function, it's perfect! I find the extra-fine nib to be just right, as most fine-nibbed pens are too thick to truly be considered fine-lined on paper. The Lamy nibs do the trick, putting down a line the same thickness as a Pilot Precise V5 rollerball pen. The weight is nice and light, though I had to get used to the added weight of the cap while it's posted. And the grip's shape feels comfortable to me, though some people might not like it depending on how they've grown used to holding a pen.

I must collect all the Al-Stars. I simply must.
  Wonderful pen. Good..., February 4, 2012
Wonderful pen. Good work horse of the fountain pen world. Converter works great with it too. I wouldn't have it any other way.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  PLEASE RESTOCK!..., December 27, 2009
PLEASE RESTOCK!