My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  My Lamy cp1 arrived just..., November 8, 2012
By sue...
My Lamy cp1 arrived just as pictured in the ad. I especially like the larger Z26 converter that comes with this pen and wish that Lamy would use it exclusively. The titanium pen itself is very sleek and contemporary looking and if you enjoy a smaller diameter fountain pen, this is definitely the pen for you. When it's closed, the pen is almost identical in size to the Pilot V7 rollerball pens that I use; posted it's slightly longer than the V7. The balance is perfect - would you expect anything less from a Lamy? It lays down a nice amount of ink and is very pleasant to use - definitely a "wet" pen. I agree with some of the other reviews that I might be buying an EF nib in the future but that's no problem since it's easy to trade nibs between my other Lamy pens. Personally, I have larger size hands and find this pen takes a little getting used to, but because the pen is so different from any others that I own, I'm going to keep trying to get used to it.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Regarding the Lamy CP1..., May 13, 2013
Regarding the Lamy CP1 fountain pen (cylindrical pen one):

Excellent, classic, Bauhaus-inspired design.
Solid, slender, sturdy and well-balanced.
Nibs are easily interchangeable (they slide off & on--using double-sided cellophane tape helps to grip the nib), just like nibs on the Safari, AL-Star, Logo, and related designs.
All use the same, excellent, robotically produced and consistent nib shape.
Yes, the fine width nib is close to a medium, but it writes well, the feed has excellent flow, and the fine nib is a good, general purpose width.
My pen came with a Z-26 converter which has an excellent fit to the feed nipple and it works well.
The clip is solid stainless steel (a Lamy innovation), and it's articulated, adjusting nicely to different pocket thickness.
The titanium, black matte CP1 is a terrific fountain pen!
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Although I've read that..., September 18, 2011
Although I've read that this pen has too fine a nib for writing one's signature, I found the ‘fine’ nib ultimately to be too broad, and swapped it out for an ‘extra fine’ nib. (Note that this pen takes the same nibs as the Safari, &c.) I think that JetPens ought to offer this pen with that EF nib.

Once I'd effected the nib replacement, I had a pen with which I was and remain quite pleased; it has become my ‘everyday’ pen, at least for the time being. But I do sometimes find that I the flow of ink does not keep pace with my writing; hence I am giving this pen four stars instead of five. (I have been using Lamy ink; perhaps I shall experiment with some other brand.)

This is not a showy pen, which was part of its attraction for me. Capped, the pen has very similar over-all dimensions to a Sanford Uniball Micro, and might be mistaken for such. (It is, however, a heavier pen, and presumably a more durable one.)

The box in which my pen came was different from that shown here. It wasn't a worse box; possibly it is a better box; it is certainly a very nice box. But don't have your heart set on the box shown.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've been using this..., April 20, 2014
I've been using this pen for a few months now. I love the shape, the grip, the weight, and the all black appearance. (I installed a black EF nib on it.) It's among my favorite pens, and I use it daily. The reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 has to do with ink flow. Every Lamy I buy feels a bit dry when I first get it. The nib isn't scratchy, but even with the modest ink requirements of an extra-fine nib, the feed just doesn't provide an adequate flow of ink to the point. At this point, I routinely pull off the nib on a new pen and widen the ink channel in the plastic feed with a very sharp knife. It's a minute adjustment, but it makes the pen a pleasure to use. I don't know why the CP1 isn't more popular.
  I've been using this..., May 12, 2014
I've been using this pen at work for almost a year now, and it never fails. The weight and size are perfect for my hand and the flow of the ink is seemless. I still cringe when anyone tries to borrow it... my precious.
  The best reviews about..., July 27, 2013
The best reviews about the pen and work of store. Thank you.
  I love this pen. I use..., June 3, 2012
By srg...
I love this pen. I use two of them as my EDC pens. They feel great in the hand posted and a smooth writer for a SS F nib. A perfect pen for me.
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Bought this because I..., July 13, 2011
Bought this because I didn't want a childish Safari, and WOW is it good. Minimal, discreet, and fully functional. I used it with a F, EF, and now I'm addicted to the 1.1mm nib for daily writing. I'm a left handed overwriter too.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  An excellent pen. I prefer..., May 11, 2013
An excellent pen. I prefer the svelte design of the CP1 over some of the overly bulky fountain pens produced by other manufacturers. I replaced the stock silver color nib with a Lamy black fine nib to give it a more cohesive aesthetic. The pen feels exceptionally high quality and looks very professional. My only gripe is that it can write a little dry depending on what inks are used. For example, I had an issue using Lamy blue-black in this pen. However, I have found that Diamine and J Herbin inks work exceptionally well. I have been so impressed with this pen that I use it exclusively as my EDC.