x
1 - 10 of 18 |  | 
Writes very nicely. ...
August 22, 2011
Verified Purchase
Writes very nicely. I save five star reviews for things which are unbelievably great. This is just very good, and I'm not inclined to pay any more than this for a fountain pen. I buy them to write with, not to display.

Writes very smoothly, and feels good in my hand. I got the extra-fine nib, and absolutely cannot tell the difference between it and the fine nib on my Lamy Safari in side by side writing. Not really important, as it's just about where I want it for the kind of writing I do.

The fact that it seems a sturdier than the Safari justifies the extra money. The Al-Star will see a lot of use.
6 people found this helpful
I ordered this pen along...
December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase
I ordered this pen along with a converter so that I can use any colored ink that I wish. I am very glad that I purchased this pen rather than something lighter, since I prefer the feel of a slightly heavier pen. As far as the extra fine nib goes, I do not find it too fine for my handwriting, it actually makes my handwriting look much better ^.^ Now I cannot wait for my second fountain pen to arrive.
4 people found this helpful
lksandrock
While I am thoroughly...
January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase
While I am thoroughly enjoying the way this pen writes the grip is getting me down. There are groves in the barrel for your fingers which force me to hold the nib at a certain angle. Maybe it's because I'm left-handed but I'm finding it awkward. Next time I'll buy a fountain pen with a round, smooth barrel. I think that will alleviate the problem.
2 people found this helpful
maggies902
This was my first Lamy...
January 7, 2011
Verified Purchase
This was my first Lamy fountain pen purchase, and I am extremely satisfied. It looks great, it writes very well, and with a converter, I am able to use any bottled ink I wish. Mine is currently filled with J. Herbin's Eclat de Saphir and it flows beautifully. Now, I find myself taking every opportunity to write things down, just so I can use my fountain pens. Thanks, JetPens!
2 people found this helpful
lksandrock
Writes beautifully and...
October 19, 2008
Verified Purchase
Writes beautifully and smoothly. It's slightly heavier than the Safari, which makes this just about perfect. The graphite coloring makes it feel professional, and it's a very solid construction.

The nib tends to be a tad messy using the converter cartridge, but still writes nice and smoothly.
2 people found this helpful
This is actually a review...
December 26, 2010
This is actually a review for the green al-star pen. It's the best pen I have ever owned! I'vd several cheap 'fountain' pens, and have been disappointed. This pen Amazed me! Writes so smooth from the start! Its quality is obvious from every aspect, and I think if you ever wanted to try a fountain pen this is it! Use it for everything from writing to sketching and love the flow & feel.
2 people found this helpful
gary.hart
This pen is an excellent...
April 3, 2016
Verified Purchase
This pen is an excellent value and is one of my favorites with which to write. It writes smooth as butter and on the first try the ink flowed beautifully, using Diamine and J. Herbin inks. Regarding the grip which some people find difficult to use, I am left handed and have no problem with it. The feel and balance of the pen make it a pleasure to use. In fact, this is my second LAMY.
r.rolston
These fountain pens are...
February 8, 2016
Verified Purchase
These fountain pens are great. They are thick abd easy to handle. The nib glides smoothly across the paper. But best of all, the cap snaps tightly enough to keep the ink from drying out. I live in Nevada, on the desert where low humidity dries my fountain pens out. Not my Lamy Safaris! Love them!
roccosranch
As my first fountain...
January 12, 2016
Verified Purchase
As my first fountain pen, I have to say I quite like it.
AznZanzwi
I Love Lamy period, and...
October 15, 2015
Verified Purchase
I Love Lamy period, and I really wish they made all the colors of the rainbow. I prefer the EF or F nib for sketching as well as writing and I particularly chose this gray body to fill with gray ink. It writes so smoothly and refill is a snap.
1 - 10 of 18 |  |