JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (49 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 20, 2012
I really went back and...
I really went back and forth on this. At first, I wanted to rate the pen a 3. However, I decided on 4 because of the build quality of the pen and the fact that they make an adapter for the ink. Really the review needs two parts.

1. The Pen - This is an awesome pen. The weight is perfect, the hand feel is great. The nib writes smoothly and evenly. It feels good against the paper with just enough tactile feedback.

2. The ink - The ink is horrible. I got the blue ink and it is the worst ink I have ever written with. The blue color is weak and looks like someone took REAL ink and watered it down. It doesn't last. The color fades quickly. I have been using the pen for about 3 months and the stuff I wrote when I first got it looks worse than it did when I first wrote it.

My suggestion, buy the pen and the ink adapter. Never even put in the lamy ink cartridge. Buy some really good ink and enjoy a great pen that writes perfectly and evenly. The pen is great, the ink is not.

7 people found this helpful
 
January 25, 2012
The Charcoal Safari in...
Verified Purchase
The Charcoal Safari in Extra Fine writes very, very nicely and its flat black body and glossy black nib are all business. The size, weight and balance of the ABS body make for comfortable writing, cap posted or not. The EF nib glides across any old paper I have so far tried, leaving a sharp, reliable line of blue from the supplied cartridge. I have a converter at the ready once I exhaust the cartridge and anticipate buying a spare nib in a different width, just for some variety.

This pen is just the ticket for the basic pen fan and constant user. For a true beginner still deciding between "yes" and "no" on the subject of the fountain pen, there are alternatives in lower price ranges. If you already love fountain pens and do not have a Lamy Safari, buy one without hesitation and enjoy it as I do mine.

I would rate this pen five stars (and more if permitted to) at a more competitive price.

5 people found this helpful
philip.milazzo
 
July 7, 2011
beautiful writing on...
Verified Purchase
beautiful writing on standard American notebook paper as many find it dreadful with some fountain pens

no scratch, no feather, little bleed(a small bit more than any 0.7mm ballpoint pen)

love the blue ink! i would describe it as electric, i was going to pop out the cartridge right away for the converter and ink bottle i ordered, but man, i'll stick with this until it's out =)

the EF from Lamy is the exact fountain pen size i wanted with notebook, small, yet it doesn't take detail away from the fact your using a fountain pen.

perfect with cursive script and Japanese! ^^

and no "bling", a every-day pen you can use without looking like your trying to impress somebody

5 people found this helpful
Watercycle
 
January 6, 2013
This is my first entry...
Verified Purchase
This is my first entry into fountain pens. I did have some experience with dip pens in college, so writing with a nib wasn't totally foreign, but these days my pens of choice have been the Uniball 207s gels and Vision Micro rollers.

The pen is extremely handsome. The plastic body is thick and feels very rugged while remaining quite light. The pen does, however, feel ever so slightly unbalanced with the cap posted on the back. The EF tip doesn't give a lot of variation in line width, so on paper (with a blue-black Monteverde cartridge) gives a very similar look to a Uniball Vision Micro black. The nib, out of the box, gave a very smooth writing experience... didn't have to deal with a break-in period.

I do have to say that using a fountain pen in meetings with clients has become a conversation starter. I enjoy not only the writing experience, but the psychological effect it seems to hold on people around me when I use it.

3 people found this helpful
gtrplyraj
 
July 12, 2014
I am a somewhat new customer...
Verified Purchase
I am a somewhat new customer and already HUGE fan of Jetpens.com! I have enjoyed everything so much I have purchased, especially my brand-new Lamy Safari (charcoal) with EF nib. Itreated myself for my five-year quit smoking anniversary this last 4th of July with my new pen! I only wish I had bought some blue cartridges. I did also buy a Lamy Z-24 converter and am using it with some Quink black ink I have been using in my Esterbrook pens, for a long time. I have to say the converter is for me so much easier to use than the lever/bladder kind. But Esterbrook pens still have a place in my heart. But my Lamy is front and center. One morning recently I woke up to get ready to come to work and discovered my Lamy Safari still clipped to the neck of my nightgown from the evening before! I look forward to trying different inks. I will probably go with Pelikan Royal Blue. I explored the reviews people wrote and looked at the ink comparison feature on your website.

1 person found this helpful
katieperez862
 
September 24, 2013
There are a number of...
Verified Purchase
There are a number of reviews on this pen, but even having read dozens sourced from Google and JetPens I still wasn't sure what I was getting into. I'll lay this down so I will be the last to wonder.

The body:
Lightly textured dark grey. This pen is different from the smooth glossy versions, it has a noticeable grip to the surface. I consider this a boon, but this is a departure from the norm. The notched grip makes the pen feel much more thin when held, I measure the diameter to be 3/8" compared to 7/16" if the notches were absent. for comparison, a cheap papermate is 5/16" in diameter. Combined with the relative lightness of the body, the result is that the pen feels stable.

This pen is not amenable to holding in any other way, so you might need a moment to adjust to the grip. I had previously only used round pens before, so I had an unorthodox grip. The result is that writing became very uncomfortable, but looked much neater!

The clip is sturdy but flexible. The unique design means you can fit a small karabiner or lanyard loop on the cap and stick the pen essentially anywhere. This was the primary reason I went after this pen, and it was well worth it. Clip it to your bag or wear around the neck: awesome.

The ink window functions. I am using the converter with Herbin noir. if you hold the pen point down for a moment, you can see the level clearly.

Overall the pen is not very flashy, but it feels like a solid tool. If you want elegance, this pen will disappoint, it looks and feels like the Navy Seals official fountain pen.

The Nib:
Reviews don't lie, calling this "Extra Fine" is a stretch. On Strathmore Sketch 400 series the line is equivalent to a .5 mm pencil on my pen. This goes up to .7 mm on a Mead notebook. I would provide pictures, but there are a few comparisons already out there. When I want a thinner line, I just flip the pen. This gives essentially .3 mm and .5 mm lines respectively. The surprising thing was how smoothly the pen glides, even when writing flipped over. I can write sentences smoothly then flip over and draw fine chemical structures with no issues whatsoever. I was expecting more of a scratch. It is definitely not as smooth as the gold tipped Mount Blancs I've tried, but compares very well to my multitudes of Speedball dip pens for simple writing.

DO get a converter and your favorite ink. It came with one blue cartridge. The line is, like others have noted, a bit on the dry side, so be prepared for a little grey to come through if your paper is absorbent. Herbin's pearl noir comes out a shade grey when used on a rather absorbent notebook, but I enjoy the look.

Don't expect much flex in the nib. The entire system is pretty solid as a theme.

TL/DR:
Very solid. Navy seals. Prefers proper grip. Two very usable sides. Smooth, but not gold. Not "Extra" fine (.5 to .7 mm). Well worth the price. Use the clip with a cord!

1 person found this helpful
blindingmask
 
August 4, 2012
Great pen - it works...
Verified Purchase
Great pen - it works on all types of paper, from Rhodia/Clairefontaine to the regular 20 lb. paper used in our laser printers. I am a fairly new fountain pen user, and I haven't had any problems with this pen skipping or not starting - wish I could say the same for some of the more expensive pens I have purchased.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 28, 2008
Be sure to check the...
Verified Purchase
Be sure to check the nib when you get it. I somehow received the bold nib version of this (even though the box clearly says "EX FINE"). The bold version has a "B" on the nib, whereas the extra fine has "EF" on the nib.

6 people found this helpful
 
December 2, 2014
I was amazed how light...
Verified Purchase
I was amazed how light this pen was. It feels like writing with air. I like to keep the cap posted to give it a little more weight. The window displaying the inkwell is fabulously convenient. It's a good, reliable pen. I've had no problems with it. The black metal nib is my favorite part of the pen, unique! The clip is very sturdy-the entire pen is sturdy, in fact. It does write a bit thicker line than I'd thought, but I'm okay with it. Overall, I love my pen!

 
November 8, 2014
Its german. It is a pleasure...
Verified Purchase
Its german. It is a pleasure to write with, very sturdy yet light weight; its quality and longevity are dependable and thats worth a lot.