JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (50 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 30, 2011
I've been using Lamy...
I've been using Lamy Safari pens for years now and they are among the best, if you like a lightweight pen that flows smoothly, never blots or leaks, and looks good. I recommend the medium or fine nibs, but not the extra fine: it is scratchy and the ink doesn't flow well. However, Lamy's interchangeable nibs make changing easy and relatively cheap.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 3, 2011
Ordered it on Monday,...
Verified Purchase
Ordered it on Monday, arrived on Thursday. Worked perfectly right out of the box, with the extra fine nib being big enough to give my writing some consistency without making it bulky.

Writing (with the lamy blue ink cartridge included) is incredibly smooth and unbroken, requiring only the contact of the pen on paper--no pressure.

I immediately noticed that the pen becomes top heavy when posted, but it is very light if the cap is left off. The grip forces my hand into the proper position for writing, managing to do in seconds what my mother tried to teach me years ago :)

I am definitely going to buy the converter for the pen and try it with some Noodler's ink.

Certainly a good pen, and I have to say I like the utilitarian look as well!

1 person found this helpful
 
January 6, 2009
This is my first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is my first fountain pen, and after reading reviews from other sources, they said this was the best pen under $100 or something like that. And its been a great buy. I'm a forgetful person, so there would be times where I think I lost it, and my heart just dropped. I'm okay with dropping it all the time as well, since I am a clutz. I had always bought ballpoint pens, and the ink on this pen flows ten times smoother than the pilot gel pens you get at target. I'm also a student studying illustration, so this is great for art studies. I use it for everything, from writing, sketching, to drawing. Its useful to draw over graphite as well, because I know that it wont' take back in the graphite when I use it, unlike ballpoint. I love mine because it writes like a dream. I can lightly touch the tip, and it will still flow out smooth, so I don't need to strain my hands to press down hard. Really helpful for the people who press down to hard. You don't see much compression on the back of paper.

1 person found this helpful
t.duong800
 
March 28, 2008
Be sure to check the...
Verified Purchase
Be sure to check the nib when you get it. I somehow received the bold nib version of this (even though the box clearly says "EX FINE"). The bold version has a "B" on the nib, whereas the extra fine has "EF" on the nib.

6 people found this helpful
 
January 13, 2015
Great pen at a great...
Verified Purchase
Great pen at a great price. I use it for everyday writing and love it. Being able to find an extra-fine nib pen at such a low price was great.

I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap, good quality fountain pen.

bryanmreed
 
December 2, 2014
I was amazed how light...
Verified Purchase
I was amazed how light this pen was. It feels like writing with air. I like to keep the cap posted to give it a little more weight. The window displaying the inkwell is fabulously convenient. It's a good, reliable pen. I've had no problems with it. The black metal nib is my favorite part of the pen, unique! The clip is very sturdy-the entire pen is sturdy, in fact. It does write a bit thicker line than I'd thought, but I'm okay with it. Overall, I love my pen!

 
November 5, 2014
This is my first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is my first fountain pen and I fell in love with it. It took some getting used to the feel on paper (somewhat "scratchy" compared to ballpoint), but now everything else just feels strange. My handwriting clarity has actually improved because I have to be more deliberate with my strokes. I also appreciate the ink level window, grooved finger grip, and industrial styling. As a plus, nobody wanders off with my pen because they pop the cap and exclaim, "What the...," then put it back in favor of the cheap ballpoints littering their desk. Will definitely buy another when this one no longer works.

theundergroundninja
 
January 27, 2014
This is a great pen,...
Verified Purchase
This is a great pen, especially for those who are starting with fountain pens. The weight of this is not too heavy or too light, it is just right, even though I like heavier pens. The EF Nib is superb and I haven't seen it skip yet, I had one of these YEARS ago as gift from a friend and when I lost it I ordered this off of jetpens, the shipping was fast.

My two gripes with this pen is that when I opened the package, the cartridge had magically been pierced and was all over the nib and the box and I cleaned it up. I used the ink because I may as well use it since it's already in the feed and nib... The color is HORRIBLE, and fades too quickly.

My advice is, get ink when you purchase this, because it is just wayyy too watered down-looking. The other gripe was that it has a hole in the barrel so I can't do an eyedropper conversion.

A great work-around would be if Lamy made that portion of the pen with clear plastic instead of making a hole so it could be safer even for those who want to use cartridges or converters, as the ink would not somehow get out and make a mess in your hands or pockets.

If Lamy did that, I would buy a million of these. These are great pens and the nibs are also very good.

You may want to clean the feed and nib by using a converter to flush them with water, or take off the nib with a piece of scotch tape and clean it that way because Lamy tests each and every pen that comes off the assembly line.

satwinderd
 
November 14, 2013
Loved this pen, the EF...
Verified Purchase
Loved this pen, the EF nib is slightly scratchy, but i don't mind at all. Some have complained about the grip, but it's actually very comfortable and positioned perfectly for me and how i hold pens.

menchacacarlos
 
November 3, 2013
I have absolutely no...
Verified Purchase
I have absolutely no complaints aside from the fact that I lost my first and am having a serious compulsion to purchase a second. That is the rub with a great product. You win again, Lamy.

Jones.III