My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (37 customer reviews)
Write Review
11 out of 12 people found the following review helpful
  I always wondered about..., February 16, 2011
By egn...
I always wondered about the shape of this pen–in photos, it looks awkward. Hold it in your hand, though, and you'll discover the extremely well-thought-out, svelte design that made me reconsider many pens I have loved for years (and I'm stubborn!). My only complaint is that it becomes top-heavy when the cap is posted, but it's a minor gripe considering the excellent writing quality and a price that mortals can afford. Subtle details will come to light the more you use it, and I'm considering getting a ballpoint too. Stop wondering–you should own one of these!
9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely adore this..., September 9, 2011
I absolutely adore this pen. Holding it becomes so natural its like writing with air. Never splotches, never skips. Sleek look and the lightweight design makes it a perfect match for my rhodia webbie. awesome awesome awesome!
8 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is wonderful,..., February 28, 2011
This pen is wonderful, from the high-quality plastic to the super smooth nib, this thing has blown me away completely. This is a must buy for anyone looking to switch to a fountain pen, but doesn't have very much money. Also shipping from Jetpens was very fast and there were no issues at all. This was a great first purchase and probably many more will ensue...
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  The pen so nice I bought..., February 28, 2011
The pen so nice I bought it twice (I have this one and the white and chrome F point).

I love the triangular grip on this pen. I have large-ish hands -- for perspective, I can stretch an octave and a key on a baby grand piano -- and I find the Lamy exceptionally comfortable. It's lightweight, and I honestly don't have too much of a problem with the cap when posted, though it is a bit of extra weight.

The nib is stiff and isn't the smoothest nib I've ever written with (that distinction goes to my Namiki Vanishing Point), but it is exceptionally consistent and I almost never get any scratching or feathering. I write on cheap looseleaf paper most of the time, as I'm a student, and I honestly have no complaints. It's well worth the price as it's almost completely indestructible -- I use it for that reason alone much more than some of my other pens.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Really I couldn't find..., May 9, 2011
By ral...
Really I couldn't find anything bad about this pen it dosn't feather or bleed through when you write, and one of my favorite things is the grip it fells great in your hand.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  It is a nice fountain..., May 6, 2012
By cfo...
It is a nice fountain pen. It fits well in the hand and the ink flows well. An added plus is you can buy a converter to use bottled inks as well as cartridges.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Writes smooth and looks..., October 11, 2013
By rsk996
Writes smooth and looks great. NOTE: Make sure you know what nib size to get. I have smaller handwriting and i found the fine nib to be tooooo large. Dont be afraid to go extra fine ESPECIALLY IF YOU DONT WRITE IN CURSIVE AND YOU WRITE ON COLLEGE RULED PAPER; you will find the flow and size to be too overwhelming and you will get ugly looking writing. I made this mistake and now i have to spend 10$ on a ef nib. Also, some advice, if you do get a converter, waterman has the best ink at a great price
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The pen is wonderful-..., August 13, 2013
The pen is wonderful- I actually also bought the same pen with Fine medium for myself and this one for my boyfriend- but the nib is terrible. There is something different about the silver nib (came on my yellow Safari) and the black nib that comes with the Carcoal body pen. It drags too smoothly (or so it feels) and doesnt let enough ink out, resulting in slow starts and skipping while writing. Both the medium and fine nibs have this problem, so its not exclusive to one pen, and the silver nib I have does not have this problem no matter what ink I use.
The Charcoal is a cool pen and it looks great, but the black nib is terrible.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great pen! It has a comfortabl..., February 25, 2011
By lyn...
Great pen! It has a comfortable grip and none of the usual fountain pen fussiness. At first I thought the appearance of it was a bit clunky. But that has grown on me and I really like the design as well now.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great value! I have one..., February 14, 2010
By tr_...
Great value! I have one with a medium nib which is great for writing, but the line is too wide for drawings. So I bought one with a fine nib which I take with me everywhere for sketching. Ink flows well and the pen action is smooth. I get thinner lines by rotating the pen nib 180 degrees.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  writes better than my..., October 27, 2009
writes better than my $40 pilot fountain pen. and i don't have to adjust my hand to get ink on paper. i love this pen. it's so lightweight and quality is real good. would be nice if they plugged up the hole so it can be converted into an eyedropper though. otherwise, it's a very solid fountain pen!
  All around wonderful..., March 6, 2013
All around wonderful pen. The grip looks a bit odd at first but, it is actually really comfortable to use. I enjoy writing with this pen so much that I completely emptied the cartridge that comes in it within the first day! For only 28 dollars.. you cannot go wrong with the Lamy Safari.
  While this pen worked..., October 17, 2012
By anj...
While this pen worked very well for me for about a year it eventually started to leak. Around the nib, at first I thought it was nib creep but upon further inspection it appears there is a crack in the feed. I really like this pen otherwise. It served me well in writing rapid-fire notes and I like it's shape and it's feel in my hand, if I was sure it would not leak I would buy another in an instant.
  I see people all the..., September 15, 2012
I see people all the time talking about how great the other pens they have are
but that they use the Lamy all the time because its writes so well and is inexpensive
so why bother with the more expensive ones? Well I have several of the other brands
$$$ and I use the LAmy more than any of the others. It doesn't dry out and writes
great I have no complants at all about it. If you are new to fountain pen and are looking
for a starter pen to see how you like it pick a Lamy.
  This is the first fountain..., September 4, 2012
By may...
This is the first fountain pen I've owned that cost over $16. My past experience is with the Platinum Preppy and the Sailor Candy. This pen is a whole world of awesome, especially when comparing it to the nasty Sailor Candy pen.

I am using the Lamy Safari Fountain Pen with the fine nib, the converter, and Waterman ink. The pen flits easily across the page whether I'm writing slowly or quickly. The only time I've had skipping is when I was using it on a card purchased at Papyrus - obviously it was the stock and not the pen. I probably wrote twenty pages in my journal within 1.5 days of purchasing this pen because I just wanted to keep experiencing it.

The pen looks like a $3 office pen. There is nothing that screams, "Awesome pen!" when you look at it. I tried the one that looks just like this but has an aluminum body, and that pen was far too heavy for me to be happy. If it needs to be cheap looking in order to be an ideal writing instrument for me, so be it :-) I just hope no one walks away from my desk with it when I use it at work. It has a very similar appearance to one of the cheap brands they purchase for office supplies.
  LOVE this pen. It writes..., August 25, 2012
LOVE this pen. It writes like "Butta"!! It's my Go-to pen for work and play. I also bought a Med pt. and like this one better. Also bought a shiny version of this, and I like this matte finish better. Great smooth writing pen.
  Awesome pen, smooth,..., August 20, 2012
Awesome pen, smooth, light weight, and great value..
  If you have never used..., June 23, 2012
If you have never used a fountain pen or a Lamy product before, you wont be disappointed... Excellent pen and a good price.. I own 3 different Safari's and I love them all..
  I love this pen! This..., May 19, 2012
By hrt...
I love this pen!

This was my first Lamy and I fell in love with it. I used to have a very expensive fountain pen that got stolen. I always wanted another but decided to buy an economical one to start. Boy, am I glad I did! I've bought several more fountain pens since this one and its still my everyday go to pen. (even over my Lamy Al-star!)

The shape of the pen was odd but once I held it and started writing, it fit like a glove. Its very comfortable to hold for a long period of time without my hand hurting, which happens quite a bit with smaller or too large pens.

Flow is even and doesn't skip. Everything from handmade Italian papers to regular printing papers, it wrote like a dream. There is one cheap post it I have that it doesn't agree with but it's most likely the ink, not the pen. Pen writes beautifully without skips but ink on that post it is blotchy. Otherwise, its a thing of beauty.

I bought the fine nib and am perfectly happy with it but I need to purchase an extra fine nib. I prefer my nibs small. If you're used to Asian pens, mainly Japanese, this fine feels more like a medium.
  This pen is great-- very..., May 18, 2012
By sch...
This pen is great-- very light, comfortable to hold, and lays down ink very smoothly. It's stylish in an understated way and feels tough enough to take anywhere, which means that it'll get a lot more use than my possibly-too-pretty Watermans. Also, you get some nice flexibility from the fact that the nibs are easy to change.
  I liked this pen a lot,..., April 7, 2012
By jvs...
I liked this pen a lot, it just looks cool, and being German, it works flawlessly. I have to say that form follows function in this pen. I was a bit dissapointed with the line thickness, as it writes a bit too thick for me. I was to later read that Japanese/Asian pens write more finely than European ones. So a European fine is more like a medium in the Asian pen standard. Which makes sense to me, cause if you are writing Chinese Characters, you will need a very fine line indeed to write clearly with a fountain pen. That being said, the line quality was perfect, it never skipped and wrote more wet, but never smudged. I also loved the little window to see just how much ink was left in the comverter. All in all a very nice pen.
  I am an illustrator ,..., March 28, 2012
I am an illustrator , I like to draw with fountains more than write , if you want to see my review on lamy please visit this link to know our combination.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/anwartheartist/7024424385/in/photostream/
  I really love this fountain..., February 29, 2012
I really love this fountain pen, it writes smoothly and feels very light in the hand. I like the simplistic look of the pen and clip and recommend this to anyone who wants an economical and high quality fountain pen.
  Hello fellow JetPens..., February 11, 2012
Hello fellow JetPens visitors,
I've been using this fine nib'd Lamy Safari in charcoal black for about 4 years with the converter from JetPens using only Noodler's Bulletproof Black ink which I picked up here as well.

This pen has been my go-to pen for improving my writing and for almost every subject in college for these past 3-4 years. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes fountain pens, as this pen never skips and never needs to be tempered in order to get it going. All you need to do is remove the cap and the ink flows if you have ink in it. Most reliable of all my fountain pens.

I'm writing this review now because I have seen this pen in the new Liam Neeson movie , The Grey, which is out in theaters now. I got excited and decided to get on here and check out the inventory again.

Buy this pen... do it.
  This is my new favorite..., January 19, 2012
By sco...
This is my new favorite everyday carry pen. I routinely carry it in a shirt pocket and have never had a problem with leakage. The built in window gives me plenty of warning before I run out of ink so I am not caught without a working pen.

Service at Jet Pens was great. No surprises. Prompt delivery.