JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (37 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 16, 2011
I always wondered about...
I always wondered about the shape of this pen–in photos, it looks awkward. Hold it in your hand, though, and you'll discover the extremely well-thought-out, svelte design that made me reconsider many pens I have loved for years (and I'm stubborn!). My only complaint is that it becomes top-heavy when the cap is posted, but it's a minor gripe considering the excellent writing quality and a price that mortals can afford. Subtle details will come to light the more you use it, and I'm considering getting a ballpoint too. Stop wondering–you should own one of these!

11 people found this helpful
 
September 9, 2011
I absolutely adore this...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely adore this pen. Holding it becomes so natural its like writing with air. Never splotches, never skips. Sleek look and the lightweight design makes it a perfect match for my rhodia webbie. awesome awesome awesome!

9 people found this helpful
nelsonkatherine220
 
February 28, 2011
This pen is wonderful,...
Verified Purchase
This pen is wonderful, from the high-quality plastic to the super smooth nib, this thing has blown me away completely. This is a must buy for anyone looking to switch to a fountain pen, but doesn't have very much money. Also shipping from Jetpens was very fast and there were no issues at all. This was a great first purchase and probably many more will ensue...

8 people found this helpful
jfeltracco1
 
February 28, 2011
The pen so nice I bought...
Verified Purchase
The pen so nice I bought it twice (I have this one and the white and chrome F point).

I love the triangular grip on this pen. I have large-ish hands -- for perspective, I can stretch an octave and a key on a baby grand piano -- and I find the Lamy exceptionally comfortable. It's lightweight, and I honestly don't have too much of a problem with the cap when posted, though it is a bit of extra weight.

The nib is stiff and isn't the smoothest nib I've ever written with (that distinction goes to my Namiki Vanishing Point), but it is exceptionally consistent and I almost never get any scratching or feathering. I write on cheap looseleaf paper most of the time, as I'm a student, and I honestly have no complaints. It's well worth the price as it's almost completely indestructible -- I use it for that reason alone much more than some of my other pens.

6 people found this helpful
phoenix.kiss
 
May 9, 2011
Really I couldn't find...
Verified Purchase
Really I couldn't find anything bad about this pen it dosn't feather or bleed through when you write, and one of my favorite things is the grip it fells great in your hand.

4 people found this helpful
ralph.shemwell
 
May 6, 2012
It is a nice fountain...
Verified Purchase
It is a nice fountain pen. It fits well in the hand and the ink flows well. An added plus is you can buy a converter to use bottled inks as well as cartridges.

3 people found this helpful
cfopmaxyso
 
October 11, 2013
Writes smooth and looks...
Verified Purchase
Writes smooth and looks great. NOTE: Make sure you know what nib size to get. I have smaller handwriting and i found the fine nib to be tooooo large. Dont be afraid to go extra fine ESPECIALLY IF YOU DONT WRITE IN CURSIVE AND YOU WRITE ON COLLEGE RULED PAPER; you will find the flow and size to be too overwhelming and you will get ugly looking writing. I made this mistake and now i have to spend 10$ on a ef nib. Also, some advice, if you do get a converter, waterman has the best ink at a great price

1 person found this helpful
 
August 13, 2013
The pen is wonderful-...
The pen is wonderful- I actually also bought the same pen with Fine medium for myself and this one for my boyfriend- but the nib is terrible. There is something different about the silver nib (came on my yellow Safari) and the black nib that comes with the Carcoal body pen. It drags too smoothly (or so it feels) and doesnt let enough ink out, resulting in slow starts and skipping while writing. Both the medium and fine nibs have this problem, so its not exclusive to one pen, and the silver nib I have does not have this problem no matter what ink I use.
The Charcoal is a cool pen and it looks great, but the black nib is terrible.

1 person found this helpful
sportypebbles
 
February 25, 2011
Great pen! It has a comfortabl...
Verified Purchase
Great pen! It has a comfortable grip and none of the usual fountain pen fussiness. At first I thought the appearance of it was a bit clunky. But that has grown on me and I really like the design as well now.

1 person found this helpful
 
February 14, 2010
Great value! I have one...
Great value! I have one with a medium nib which is great for writing, but the line is too wide for drawings. So I bought one with a fine nib which I take with me everywhere for sketching. Ink flows well and the pen action is smooth. I get thinner lines by rotating the pen nib 180 degrees.

1 person found this helpful
tr_whitney