JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (37 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 27, 2009
writes better than my...
writes better than my $40 pilot fountain pen. and i don't have to adjust my hand to get ink on paper. i love this pen. it's so lightweight and quality is real good. would be nice if they plugged up the hole so it can be converted into an eyedropper though. otherwise, it's a very solid fountain pen!

1 person found this helpful
kenthenoob
 
March 6, 2013
All around wonderful...
Verified Purchase
All around wonderful pen. The grip looks a bit odd at first but, it is actually really comfortable to use. I enjoy writing with this pen so much that I completely emptied the cartridge that comes in it within the first day! For only 28 dollars.. you cannot go wrong with the Lamy Safari.

 
October 17, 2012
While this pen worked...
While this pen worked very well for me for about a year it eventually started to leak. Around the nib, at first I thought it was nib creep but upon further inspection it appears there is a crack in the feed. I really like this pen otherwise. It served me well in writing rapid-fire notes and I like it's shape and it's feel in my hand, if I was sure it would not leak I would buy another in an instant.

 
September 15, 2012
I see people all the...
I see people all the time talking about how great the other pens they have are
but that they use the Lamy all the time because its writes so well and is inexpensive
so why bother with the more expensive ones? Well I have several of the other brands
$$$ and I use the LAmy more than any of the others. It doesn't dry out and writes
great I have no complants at all about it. If you are new to fountain pen and are looking
for a starter pen to see how you like it pick a Lamy.

 
September 4, 2012
This is the first fountain...
This is the first fountain pen I've owned that cost over $16. My past experience is with the Platinum Preppy and the Sailor Candy. This pen is a whole world of awesome, especially when comparing it to the nasty Sailor Candy pen.

I am using the Lamy Safari Fountain Pen with the fine nib, the converter, and Waterman ink. The pen flits easily across the page whether I'm writing slowly or quickly. The only time I've had skipping is when I was using it on a card purchased at Papyrus - obviously it was the stock and not the pen. I probably wrote twenty pages in my journal within 1.5 days of purchasing this pen because I just wanted to keep experiencing it.

The pen looks like a $3 office pen. There is nothing that screams, "Awesome pen!" when you look at it. I tried the one that looks just like this but has an aluminum body, and that pen was far too heavy for me to be happy. If it needs to be cheap looking in order to be an ideal writing instrument for me, so be it :-) I just hope no one walks away from my desk with it when I use it at work. It has a very similar appearance to one of the cheap brands they purchase for office supplies.

maybe8675309
 
August 25, 2012
LOVE this pen. It writes...
Verified Purchase
LOVE this pen. It writes like "Butta"!! It's my Go-to pen for work and play. I also bought a Med pt. and like this one better. Also bought a shiny version of this, and I like this matte finish better. Great smooth writing pen.

 
August 20, 2012
Awesome pen, smooth,...
Verified Purchase
Awesome pen, smooth, light weight, and great value..

andywcc24
 
June 23, 2012
If you have never used...
Verified Purchase
If you have never used a fountain pen or a Lamy product before, you wont be disappointed... Excellent pen and a good price.. I own 3 different Safari's and I love them all..

andywcc24
 
May 19, 2012
I love this pen! This...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen!

This was my first Lamy and I fell in love with it. I used to have a very expensive fountain pen that got stolen. I always wanted another but decided to buy an economical one to start. Boy, am I glad I did! I've bought several more fountain pens since this one and its still my everyday go to pen. (even over my Lamy Al-star!)

The shape of the pen was odd but once I held it and started writing, it fit like a glove. Its very comfortable to hold for a long period of time without my hand hurting, which happens quite a bit with smaller or too large pens.

Flow is even and doesn't skip. Everything from handmade Italian papers to regular printing papers, it wrote like a dream. There is one cheap post it I have that it doesn't agree with but it's most likely the ink, not the pen. Pen writes beautifully without skips but ink on that post it is blotchy. Otherwise, its a thing of beauty.

I bought the fine nib and am perfectly happy with it but I need to purchase an extra fine nib. I prefer my nibs small. If you're used to Asian pens, mainly Japanese, this fine feels more like a medium.

 
May 18, 2012
This pen is great-- very...
Verified Purchase
This pen is great-- very light, comfortable to hold, and lays down ink very smoothly. It's stylish in an understated way and feels tough enough to take anywhere, which means that it'll get a lot more use than my possibly-too-pretty Watermans. Also, you get some nice flexibility from the fact that the nibs are easy to change.

schiang68