x
1 - 10 of 16 |  | 
You can't beat a Lamy...
October 12, 2011
You can't beat a Lamy fountain pen. It has the most comfortable grip for calligraphy and every day writing. If you use the converter, you never run out of ink, but don't worry. Using the cartridges is no problem because the ink in them is every bit as black as your best fountain pen ink. I was writing a check out at a shop and the clerk noticed the pen. He's a self professed pen-aholic and couldn't take his eyes of it. When I let him give it a spin, he immediately asked for your web site. In addition to the comfortable grip, multitude of colors, you can buy one inexpensively or upgrade a little and they're still reasonable. And I've had them for years and never has one leaked or spit on me. One of the best pens on the market for my money and my handwritng.
Neena for Baltimore
4 people found this helpful
mrsmackulics
I ordered the Safari...
October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase
I ordered the Safari after using a Pilot Varsity for a few weeks and really liking it. According to all the reviews and information I found, it seemed like the Safari was THE go-to fountain pen. I agree with that assessment and I love the pen so far. However, I'm no expert on fountain pens so I won't even try to detail the technical aspects of this pen.

What I do think I can add though, is some perspective on the nib size as compared to the Pilot Varsity. I looked around for a comparison before I ordered and couldn't find one.

I was unhappy with the medium nib - it pours ink onto the paper. I've recently been working on improving my penmanship and the ink flow was far to fast/thick for me (likely because I'm writing slow and carefully). The medium nib produces a much wetter and somewhat wider line than the Varsity.

I was disappointed when I got the pen but I knew it was just a matter of replacing the medium nib with a finer one. But, how much finer? Having two options and not wanting to gamble again, I just ordered both the "Fine" and "Extra Fine" Lamy replacement nibs.

I tried the extra fine nib first. It definitely solved the problem of my letters bleeding together but it produced a much more narrow line than I wanted. I noticed it being a very little bit scratchy, but still easy and comfortable to write with; not quite what I was looking for though.

Next, of course, I tried the "Fine" nib. If you're familiar with the Pilot Varsity and like the line size, flow, etc. than this is the one you want. It's a little bit dryer than the Varsity but still a nice, smooth, dark line.
2 people found this helpful
dclutter1
I bought this off a friend...
December 20, 2011
I bought this off a friend in the office who is a pen enthusiast like myself. I had a handful of Preppy's, and a Pilot extra-fine fountain pen. I had read about the Safari's on this site and was hoping to get an extra fine when they came back in stock. I traded him a Pilot G2 with a Mont Blanc refill and some cash for this pen, and I have to say this pen is by far my favourite of my collection. I've been using it for school notes lately and the medium nib makes it so smooth to write with, and doesn't bleed at all. I used up the cartridge and loaded in the converter with J. Herbin Eclat de Saphir. and it's a machine. No problems with it at all. Worth every penny in my opinion.
2 people found this helpful
sheldon.holland
The pen is wonderful-...
August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase
The pen is wonderful- I actually also bought the same pen with Fine nib for my boyfriend- but the nib is terrible. There is something different about the silver nib (came on my yellow Safari) and the black nib that comes with the Carcoal body pen. It drags too smoothly (or so it feels) and doesnt let enough ink out, resulting in slow starts and skipping while writing. Both the medium and fine nibs have this problem, so its not exclusive to one pen, and the silver nib I have does not have this problem no matter what ink I use.
The Charcoal is a cool pen and it looks great, but the black nib is terrible.
1 person found this helpful
sportypebbles
it took me a week or...
January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase
it took me a week or so to warm up to it but i now can say i really like my Safari! I wasn't sure at first but once i got used to it and then got a converter full of ink into it i was happy. :)

jeff stiefer
1 person found this helpful
jeff.stiefer
While I was researching...
February 25, 2016
Verified Purchase
While I was researching different inks I noticed that a lot of people were mentioning that they used this or that brand of ink in their Lamy Safari pen. I wondered why so many people were using such an inexpensive pen so I started reading reviews of the Safari and was amazed that so many people loved the smoothness of them and the overall reliability. Curiosity got the best of me so I ordered one with a medium nib.

These pens have a well deserved reputation. The one I received writes extremely smoothly on any kind of paper I put in front of it. It is as smooth as any of my vintage pens and will probably see more use than they do. The triangular gripping section is just fine and actually forces me to hold the pen correctly. Count me in as a Lamy Safari fan.
It's great! I love i...
November 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
It's great! I love it!
ryansinger
LOVE this pen. The smoothness...
October 19, 2015
Verified Purchase
LOVE this pen. The smoothness on the page is fantastic. The only thing I have to decide now is which Lamy to get next. I love how all of this pen is black. I loaded it with purple ink and consider it my 'Welcome to Nightvale" pen.
katiebouch
This is a really nice...
October 9, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is a really nice pen. It hasn't leaked on me yet and writes well with Waterman. I like the medium nib, but I can flip it over for F to EF writing. It's impractical next to my cheap disposable office pen which writes in permanent ink and also doesn't leak, but it's more fun to use. The medium nib writes a line larger than a 0.7 pen, which I like. It writes closer to the size of a ball point pen once the ink spreads on the paper. Cool pen.
If you're reading this...
February 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
If you're reading this review then you probably already know that Safaris are bullet-proof pens. I've had several and found them to be as reliable as pens costing three or four times as much. The maintenance is easy and straightforward, and they come in a wide variety of colors. This particular pen, the charcoal black color, is made from a different kind of plastic than the more colorful, smooth plastic versions. This pen has a slightly lighter feel, and bit more texture. I like it because it's smart enough to wear with my business suit, but is still an everyday writer. The black clip and nib are also super-cool, though I wound up removing the stock black nib and replacing it with a 1.5mm chrome Lamy calligraphy nib. I was sorry to lose the black nib, but really love the line variation of the calligraphy nib.
1 - 10 of 16 |  |