1 - 10 of 15 |  | 
You can't beat a Lamy...
October 12, 2011
You can't beat a Lamy fountain pen. It has the most comfortable grip for calligraphy and every day writing. If you use the converter, you never run out of ink, but don't worry. Using the cartridges is no problem because the ink in them is every bit as black as your best fountain pen ink. I was writing a check out at a shop and the clerk noticed the pen. He's a self professed pen-aholic and couldn't take his eyes of it. When I let him give it a spin, he immediately asked for your web site. In addition to the comfortable grip, multitude of colors, you can buy one inexpensively or upgrade a little and they're still reasonable. And I've had them for years and never has one leaked or spit on me. One of the best pens on the market for my money and my handwritng.
Neena for Baltimore
4 people found this helpful
I ordered the Safari...
October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase
I ordered the Safari after using a Pilot Varsity for a few weeks and really liking it. According to all the reviews and information I found, it seemed like the Safari was THE go-to fountain pen. I agree with that assessment and I love the pen so far. However, I'm no expert on fountain pens so I won't even try to detail the technical aspects of this pen.

What I do think I can add though, is some perspective on the nib size as compared to the Pilot Varsity. I looked around for a comparison before I ordered and couldn't find one.

I was unhappy with the medium nib - it pours ink onto the paper. I've recently been working on improving my penmanship and the ink flow was far to fast/thick for me (likely because I'm writing slow and carefully). The medium nib produces a much wetter and somewhat wider line than the Varsity.

I was disappointed when I got the pen but I knew it was just a matter of replacing the medium nib with a finer one. But, how much finer? Having two options and not wanting to gamble again, I just ordered both the "Fine" and "Extra Fine" Lamy replacement nibs.

I tried the extra fine nib first. It definitely solved the problem of my letters bleeding together but it produced a much more narrow line than I wanted. I noticed it being a very little bit scratchy, but still easy and comfortable to write with; not quite what I was looking for though.

Next, of course, I tried the "Fine" nib. If you're familiar with the Pilot Varsity and like the line size, flow, etc. than this is the one you want. It's a little bit dryer than the Varsity but still a nice, smooth, dark line.
2 people found this helpful
I bought this off a friend...
December 20, 2011
I bought this off a friend in the office who is a pen enthusiast like myself. I had a handful of Preppy's, and a Pilot extra-fine fountain pen. I had read about the Safari's on this site and was hoping to get an extra fine when they came back in stock. I traded him a Pilot G2 with a Mont Blanc refill and some cash for this pen, and I have to say this pen is by far my favourite of my collection. I've been using it for school notes lately and the medium nib makes it so smooth to write with, and doesn't bleed at all. I used up the cartridge and loaded in the converter with J. Herbin Eclat de Saphir. and it's a machine. No problems with it at all. Worth every penny in my opinion.
2 people found this helpful
it took me a week or...
January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase
it took me a week or so to warm up to it but i now can say i really like my Safari! I wasn't sure at first but once i got used to it and then got a converter full of ink into it i was happy. :)

jeff stiefer
1 person found this helpful
It's great! I love i...
November 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
It's great! I love it!
LOVE this pen. The smoothness...
October 19, 2015
Verified Purchase
LOVE this pen. The smoothness on the page is fantastic. The only thing I have to decide now is which Lamy to get next. I love how all of this pen is black. I loaded it with purple ink and consider it my 'Welcome to Nightvale" pen.
This is a really nice...
October 9, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is a really nice pen. It hasn't leaked on me yet and writes well with Waterman. I like the medium nib, but I can flip it over for F to EF writing. It's impractical next to my cheap disposable office pen which writes in permanent ink and also doesn't leak, but it's more fun to use. The medium nib writes a line larger than a 0.7 pen, which I like. It writes closer to the size of a ball point pen once the ink spreads on the paper. Cool pen.
If you're reading this...
February 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
If you're reading this review then you probably already know that Safaris are bullet-proof pens. I've had several and found them to be as reliable as pens costing three or four times as much. The maintenance is easy and straightforward, and they come in a wide variety of colors. This particular pen, the charcoal black color, is made from a different kind of plastic than the more colorful, smooth plastic versions. This pen has a slightly lighter feel, and bit more texture. I like it because it's smart enough to wear with my business suit, but is still an everyday writer. The black clip and nib are also super-cool, though I wound up removing the stock black nib and replacing it with a 1.5mm chrome Lamy calligraphy nib. I was sorry to lose the black nib, but really love the line variation of the calligraphy nib.
Love these pens. Have...
January 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
Love these pens. Have the extra fine which I use all the time but wanted a broader nib size for other uses. Won't use this as much but it will be helpful to have for variety.
overall, very good...
November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase
overall, very good
1 - 10 of 15 |  |