JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 1, 2011
I'm fascinated by the...
Verified Purchase
I'm fascinated by the weird bottle this ink comes in. The ink is in the top half, which is a saucer-shaped glass bottle with a thick base so that the ink appears to be floating above the bottom half, which is black plastic with a spool of blotter paper inside. (There's a lot of paper in there -- the coil fills up almost the entire bottom. The glass and plastic halves snap together, which might be useful if you want to hide something else in there.) Because of its sandwiched layers, the bottle is significantly wider than most other ink bottles.

50ml isn't quite as big a bottle as some other brands (such as the 80ml Diamine) but it's a good price, it's a snazzy bottle, and hey, free strip of fuzzy paper. I'm no fountain pen ink expert, so all I can say about the ink itself is that it writes properly and is black. I use premium brands like Diamine when I want exotic colors, but for plain black I like this chubby bottle.

11 people found this helpful
kibokibo+jp
 
May 5, 2012
This ink is excellent...
Verified Purchase
This ink is excellent and I would highly recommend it. The color is a sharp black, and the ink does not bleed through paper as easily as some others. The container itself is aesthetically pleasing. Works great with my Lamy Safari.

7 people found this helpful
 
December 1, 2011
Oh, and to my previous...
Verified Purchase
Oh, and to my previous comments I'd like to add: This isn't the darkest black ink around, so I'd consider it an "everyday black" ink and not one for fine artwork/calligraphy. (On glossy paper, it can look a little gray.) But still, it's affordable and has a pretty bottle.

7 people found this helpful
kibokibo+jp
 
March 29, 2013
I'm no ink expert, and...
Verified Purchase
I'm no ink expert, and haven't tried the more expensive ones, but this one is just right. It is a dark black, and the price is right. Also the bottle comes with a blotter tape and the curve inside of the bottle helps getting the last drop. In other words, its great for the price!

3 people found this helpful
 
June 23, 2012
This ink is simply beautiful....
Verified Purchase
This ink is simply beautiful. The black perfectly dark. (For the price) There is actually a lot of blotter tape, unlike what i thought. The only bad thing I have found is the cap. You really have to tighten it more than usual in order to make it not leak. If there would have been a seal in the lid, it would be great. I would recommend it!

3 people found this helpful
benorlowski
 
January 23, 2015
I bought Lamy Black Ink...
Verified Purchase
I bought Lamy Black Ink for my Lamy FP.
I use it for drafting and sketching, as well as handwriting. It is very dark! There is no variation of saturation with this ink, even with several applications.
Its finish texture is matte, and it gets absorbed quickly by any paper. the thicker the paper, the more it absorbs.
The color is true black. Say no more! Handwriting with this ink looks clean and sharp, and the actual action of handwriting feels lighter, as its flow is consistent. This also makes a difference in cleaning my nibs, because it doesn't clog them up.
Most definitely recommend it!
Also, I'd like to add that, as a professional artist and art educator, I recommend JetPens without any reservations. Jet pens is my main art supplies vendor, I trust them 100% with any of my orders, because they're serious and professional about fulfilling their customer's satisfactions. They're diligent when communicating with me, and actually do deliver everything on time. Five stars to them too!

pilarzornosa
 
November 28, 2014
Not the blackest of blacks,...
Verified Purchase
Not the blackest of blacks, but it flows quite well and feathering isn't excessive on cheaper paper, although I'm sure that varies from pen to pen, and from paper to paper. The design of the bottle is quite ingenious, and I really like that they included blotter paper.

 
November 8, 2014
A pleasure to write with...
Verified Purchase
A pleasure to write with and an elegant container that looks great on a desk.

 
November 4, 2014
Great product...
Verified Purchase
Great product

hennasoobadur
 
May 30, 2013
This is very good for...
Verified Purchase
This is very good for the price, and its also pretty good because you can write. It also looks very good it's a solid black not like another.

1 person found this helpful
josh_harle