JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 4, 2011
I've had mine for about...
I've had mine for about eight months now, and it seems to have settled for a consistently fat line, no matter what ink I have in it (using the converter. All parts seem well made, and the pen is comfortable to hold, though with the cap posted it seems rather ludicrously long, and even a bit top-heavy. I usually just clip the cap to my pocket or onto the rings of my sketchbook. Filling and cleaning are easy and uneventful. I honestly have no idea where they get off calling this "extra fine", because it would be at least a medium, or even broad, for my purposes. Others have had different experiences, though, so perhaps there is some inconsistency.

3 people found this helpful
 
March 1, 2011
I love my extra fine...
Verified Purchase
I love my extra fine nib Lamy Fountain Pen. It writes smoothly with no skipping. I love the way it looks, I bought the clear body. It looks better in person than on line. I've shown it to my daughter and she wants one. I will gift her one cause this one is mine.

3 people found this helpful
dfiechter
 
March 6, 2011
Just got mine delivered...
Verified Purchase
Just got mine delivered to me.
The pen write smoothly.
One thing bothers me though, the ink seep into the front part of the pen.
Although it is not leaking out, it stay there on the clear casing and I do not know how to clean it.
Is this a sign of defect?
Any suggestion to clean it?

2 people found this helpful
nico_alexander2008
 
September 21, 2010
Great choice for a fountain...
Verified Purchase
Great choice for a fountain pen. It's comfortable, writes smooth and looks great! A+

2 people found this helpful
 
August 18, 2010
I've been using one of...
Verified Purchase
I've been using one of these pens for awhile now. While the I originally purchased was too scratchy for my tastes, I was able to simply purchase a replacement nib (in black!) and swap it out. Since then, this pen writes smoothly and comfortably.

2 people found this helpful
 
May 4, 2010
To hartzog2000: Your...
To hartzog2000:

Your latest "frustrated" post indicates that you're not familiar with the fact, that there's a difference in "nib size interpritation/understanding" between East and West (Pilot vs. Lamy).
In most cases, an F German nib would correspond to the M one of Pilot. Western EF = Eastern F nib. So, the EF on Lamy would correspond to Pilot's F nib, more or less. If you do some research, even briefly, you'll find all kinds of comparison charts and diagrams.
Lamy and their nibs are of extremely good quality and Lamy is the best pen you can get for the price.

3 people found this helpful
vitalikkouen
 
June 25, 2013
I've been carrying my...
I've been carrying my Lamy Vista as an every-day carry pen for around five years now, EF nib. It's fantastic.

This pen is durable, writes fantastically, and looks great. I use the piston converter in mine, and I'm /very/ pleased with the red/black converter in the clear pen. It looks great! For those that are critical of the 'easily-scratched finish'; sure, you can tell that I've carried this pen for years, but it still looks great. The clip is also fantastic; the spring-steel has managed not to get bent, even after years of riding in my pocket. All the seals and rings are as tight as when I first got the pen. Once a week, I go over the cap with a damp q-tip to remove the small amount of ink that gets inside.

As to the people who are critical of the nib... yes, these tend to be broader points than they say, but it's because they're going by German standards. The German EF nib is more like a standard American nib, I would say the line width runs about as thick as a Pilot V7. And my nib was a hair scratchy when I first got it; I believe that many pens are supposed to be, so that it will wear to your writing style. This "issue" was a non-issue within a few days, this pen writes smoothly and offers fantastic results.

If you've been considering trying out a decent fountain pen, or just need an every-day pen to carry with you, this is a /great/ start.

1 person found this helpful
well.rested
 
September 2, 2009
To be fair, this is my...
Verified Purchase
To be fair, this is my first Lamy pen and I have only just received it today but this pen with an extra fine nib writes a hair broader than my Waterman Phileas with a fine nib. I would like to try it on some more bottled ink varieties to see if this is really the case. Also feels a little top heavy writing with the cap posted. But good style, good function.

1 person found this helpful
olofpontmain
 
April 12, 2008
My first Lamy was the...
Verified Purchase
My first Lamy was the black safari which I found to write a little scratchy but ok. I figured that maybe because it was EF that was the reason why it was scratchy. Well, I lost it...the pen. I found a vista on Ebay and it wrote well enough that I ordered another one from JetPens so I could just throw one in each of my book bags. Well, the Vista from JetPens writes sooooo smooth....buttery like. I have concluded that if you get an EF that is buttery smooth, then Great, but you might get one that is a bit scratchy (2 out of 3 were scratchy). Overall I think for the money the Lamy is a great pen that when pen hits paper, the ink flows well. I use the pen in lectures and when not writing I don't always put the cap on immediately, however, the Lamy starts writing instantly once it hits paper again. I might mention that I purchased a converter and do not use Lamy ink....hum, come to think of it, the scratchy ones have the Lamy cartridges. I will try the converter in the other two and see if the ink makes a difference. I have read that it sometimes does.

1 person found this helpful
smithl3257
 
September 11, 2014
This is really an amazing...
Verified Purchase
This is really an amazing pen. It writes like a dream especially for taking notes in a meeting. I have also gotten tons of compliments. I would highly recommend for a first time fountain pen user. You won't be disappointed!

cwhiteosu