JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 12, 2013
Excellent pen and a worthy...
Excellent pen and a worthy replacement for the Morning Glory Mach 2 which was my favorite rollerball which JetPens no longer sells, at least as of this date. The Mach 2 was very popular and ranked first in the JetPen popularity ranking and it had many excellent reviews.

Mach 2 vs. Mach 3
As far as appearance, the Mach 3 is a completely different design from the Mach 2. The Mach 3 is lighter with a much fancier overall design with a shiny clip and a clear plastic section. I liked the understated look of the Mach 2 better.

Thankfully the Mach 3 has the same super smooth nib that the Mach 2 was famous for. Although the Mach 3 is now .38 vs. the Mach 2 which was .40. I was surprised at how noticeable the difference in line width is, at least on high quality Clairefontaine paper. The Mach 3 line is much thinner, which for me is perfect and I prefer it to the old Mach 2 .40 line width. Amazing that such a small difference in rollerball size can be this noticeable...maybe it's just me.

I think the price is the same as the old Mach 2. So the Morning Glory pens continue to be a bargain for such a smooth nib with excellent ink flow.

If you liked the Mach 2, you will like the Mach 3, assuming you like a thinner line and don't mind the slightly fancier look and slightly lighter feel. Still the best needle point rollerball, in my opinion. Hope this helps.

5 people found this helpful
 
November 6, 2013
Great all around Roller...
Verified Purchase
Great all around Roller Ball Pen.
If you need to fill up the cart for that free shipping.
Toss this one in.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 22, 2014
Not a bad pen, but quite...
Verified Purchase
Not a bad pen, but quite scratchy, even on Rhodia paper. For those who enjoy a scratchy pen, it's a decent choice, but it could be a touch better balanced. Not exactly off weight, but it just doesn't sit perfectly right. Strangely, the different colors of ink actually write differently, with purple being the best we have found thus far.

 
November 11, 2014
I like this pen a lot...
Verified Purchase
I like this pen a lot - feels quite precise, smooth, and consistent. The 0.38 is a nice width. I like this pen almost as much as my Rapid-O-Graph 0.30, which is high praise indeed.

 
November 11, 2014
Loved the Mach 2, and...
Verified Purchase
Loved the Mach 2, and the Mach 3 seems just as good. I'm a fan of liquid ink/rollerball pens, and this is one of the best. Smooth writing with a fine line that just works.

 
November 11, 2014
I love the morning glory...
Verified Purchase
I love the morning glory pens, use them all the time! Nice and fine- takes some breaking in- for eloquent writing.

 
November 10, 2014
Great color, very sm...
Verified Purchase
Great color, very smooth.

 
November 9, 2014
Very nice bright colored...
Verified Purchase
Very nice bright colored ink. Strong, extra fine needle tip!

KeikiRN425
 
November 6, 2014
Although the design is...
Verified Purchase
Although the design is a bit ugly in my opinion, the ink performs reallly well. To be honest, just because a pen is highly rated in the 0.38 mm size, doesn't mean it's flawless. People usually review the pen based on how well it performs for its thinness. This pen performs without skipping in vibrant blue black ink. It's kind of fun to know that the ink is blue black, but that's just me. It has minimal skips.

trevortknguyen
 
October 26, 2014
This is a really nice...
Verified Purchase
This is a really nice pen to have laying around. I disagree that it feels "scratchy". A scratchy pen is inconsistent and jumpy. This pen simply has a pleasant sound and feeling from the tip with lots of tactile feedback, and is otherwise very smooth, consistent, and enjoyable to use.

Like I said, it's great pen to have laying around for impromptu jottings because writing with it feels so satisfying, but being a roller ball the lines aren't quite as sharp as my favorite gels. It has a very slight bleed, which made my compact notes slightly fuzzier than those made with my trusty Uni-ball Signo UM-151 0.38 note-taking pen. It also doesn't share that plucky get-up-and-go feeling the Zebra Sarasa 0.4 has, so it doesn't replace it in my pocket.

I'm glad I bought it, even just for how nice and tactile it feels on paper. It hasn't replaced the pen in my pocket or notebook, but here on my desk, hashing out my thoughts on my little Rhodia No.12 notepad, it feels right at home.

bbfanatic