JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 12, 2013
Excellent pen and a worthy...
Excellent pen and a worthy replacement for the Morning Glory Mach 2 which was my favorite rollerball which JetPens no longer sells, at least as of this date. The Mach 2 was very popular and ranked first in the JetPen popularity ranking and it had many excellent reviews.

Mach 2 vs. Mach 3
As far as appearance, the Mach 3 is a completely different design from the Mach 2. The Mach 3 is lighter with a much fancier overall design with a shiny clip and a clear plastic section. I liked the understated look of the Mach 2 better.

Thankfully the Mach 3 has the same super smooth nib that the Mach 2 was famous for. Although the Mach 3 is now .38 vs. the Mach 2 which was .40. I was surprised at how noticeable the difference in line width is, at least on high quality Clairefontaine paper. The Mach 3 line is much thinner, which for me is perfect and I prefer it to the old Mach 2 .40 line width. Amazing that such a small difference in rollerball size can be this noticeable...maybe it's just me.

I think the price is the same as the old Mach 2. So the Morning Glory pens continue to be a bargain for such a smooth nib with excellent ink flow.

If you liked the Mach 2, you will like the Mach 3, assuming you like a thinner line and don't mind the slightly fancier look and slightly lighter feel. Still the best needle point rollerball, in my opinion. Hope this helps.

7 people found this helpful
 
November 22, 2014
Not a bad pen, but quite...
Verified Purchase
Not a bad pen, but quite scratchy, even on Rhodia paper. For those who enjoy a scratchy pen, it's a decent choice, but it could be a touch better balanced. Not exactly off weight, but it just doesn't sit perfectly right. Strangely, the different colors of ink actually write differently, with purple being the best we have found thus far.

2 people found this helpful
 
October 26, 2014
This is a really nice...
Verified Purchase
This is a really nice pen to have laying around. I disagree that it feels "scratchy". A scratchy pen is inconsistent and jumpy. This pen simply has a pleasant sound and feeling from the tip with lots of tactile feedback, and is otherwise very smooth, consistent, and enjoyable to use.

Like I said, it's great pen to have laying around for impromptu jottings because writing with it feels so satisfying, but being a roller ball the lines aren't quite as sharp as my favorite gels. It has a very slight bleed, which made my compact notes slightly fuzzier than those made with my trusty Uni-ball Signo UM-151 0.38 note-taking pen. It also doesn't share that plucky get-up-and-go feeling the Zebra Sarasa 0.4 has, so it doesn't replace it in my pocket.

I'm glad I bought it, even just for how nice and tactile it feels on paper. It hasn't replaced the pen in my pocket or notebook, but here on my desk, hashing out my thoughts on my little Rhodia No.12 notepad, it feels right at home.

2 people found this helpful
bbfanatic
 
May 2, 2014
Writes slightly, but...
Verified Purchase
Writes slightly, but noticeably finer than my .35mm Pentel Energel. Slightly scratchy, which some consider to be a negative but I don't necessarily. Writes very nice overall.

The color -
Blue-black, just like the picture, but only in bright lighting. Looks pretty much like plain black in dim lighting. A fun alternative to black or blue in a professional setting where black and blue are the only acceptable colors. I don't think anyone will have a problem with you writing in this color.

2 people found this helpful
npjones.live
 
November 6, 2013
Great all around Roller...
Verified Purchase
Great all around Roller Ball Pen.
If you need to fill up the cart for that free shipping.
Toss this one in.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 24, 2015
Great pen! Fast serv...
Verified Purchase
Great pen! Fast service.

 
January 8, 2015
The small window shows...
Verified Purchase
The small window shows the ink level, so you don't have to worry about running out of ink when you need it. No sharp points so you can carry it in your pants pocket. I wish it was available in .5 mm.

 
January 2, 2015
Love it, the blue black...
Verified Purchase
Love it, the blue black fits the bill exactly and the writing performance is just sublime. Looks really neat too!

yet2bedefined
 
December 28, 2014
I only with this pen...
Verified Purchase
I only with this pen came as a clicker pen and not one with a lid, I'm a nurse and like to keep my pen hooked to my scrub top for easy access and having to take off the lid every time is kind of a pain. I love the way it writes tho and this blue black is a good color.

jenlosasso
 
December 6, 2014
Outstanding pen definitely...
Verified Purchase
Outstanding pen definitely getting a whole bunch of them. I love the finesse of the 0.38 never tried it before. get them they are good