JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 30, 2011
I LOVE this bag so very...
Verified Purchase
I LOVE this bag so very much! I am a freak about bags and pens, and am one to do the due-diligence research before making a purchase. I have found no reason to disagree with the overwhelming positive reviews of this bag. I've been using this bag for about two weeks now, and have not been disappointed. I've been looking for a small-medium backpack to serve as my daily work bag, but found that the reputable backpack designers (REI, Gregory, Mountain Hardware, etc.) made such sized bags for hiking/trail running, thus included reservoirs/hydration unit compartments that I didn't need, and no real organization features to suit my needs. Once I found this bag, read the reviews and saw the wonderful images on this site, it became abundantly clear that THIS bag was exactly what I needed: A well organized backpack for everyday use, whether for the daily commute or a weekend out and about.

I've tried putting my MacBook in the back main pocket, just to see if it would fit. It did, but I don't plan on carrying it around, as I now rely mostly on my iPad for working away from home. The iPad fits nicely in one of the middle organizer accordion pockets, along with my Moleskine journal (and there's still plenty of room). I also have a Nomadic's pencil case that slides nicely into one of side sections of the aforementioned accordion section (my sunglasses case fits nicely in the other side section). The main compartment (farthest back and extends the full length of the bag) is reserved for full-sized notebooks and folders, which I keep at a minimum. In the front organizer pocket, I carry my Canon Powershot Sd1400IS (Elph) camera, a case with my headphones, pack of gum, pill case, chapstick, a memory stick and small tube of hand cream. When necessary, I've used the bottom zipper compartment for power cords for my iPad and cell phone. It's also great for jacket for those days when you think you MIGHT need it.

I highly recommend this bag. It is super light, well-organized, and extremely well-made. I have many jealous coworkers and a jealous girlfriend. If Nomadic makes this one size bigger, she would be all over it. The one minor issue that I had with it occurred about 1.5 weeks into using it (and I'm a gentle user of this bag): The stitching at the center of the smartly designed carry handle came undone, but it was not a major issue, as it wasn't stitching that supported the structural integrity of the bag. My fix was to buy strong orange thread (I LOVE ORANGE...the interior color is AMAZING) and stitched it back with gusto. It now looks like it was an intended detail of the bag. This was not a big enough issue to warrant a downgrade to 4 out of 5. This is a total 5 out of 5!

8 people found this helpful
sargelee71
 
December 7, 2011
This bag is awesome,...
Verified Purchase
This bag is awesome, with secure stitching and well-designed pockets. I take it to work, sometimes with my 13" Thinkpad laptop wedged in, and then I pick up my child from daycare: Wise-Walker on back, toddler in an Ergo carrier on front. Thus the Wise-Walker serves as purse, diaper bag, and general carrier of small work items. It's slightly too narrow to zip around a letter-sized manila folder, but if the weather is good one can leave the zipper partly open. I love the size, regardless: it holds what I need, keeps my hands free, and discourages me from packing unnecessary things. The thoughtful little pocket for a transit card is exactly right.

4 people found this helpful
 
December 8, 2012
Something i want to put...
Something i want to put out there is that the water bottle pocket is for 500ml. A 20FL OZ Coca-Cola bottle is 591ml and therefore I highly doubt standard non-disposible bottles will fit. For all you state side shoppers

3 people found this helpful
collindyc
 
September 18, 2011
I have no problem paying...
Verified Purchase
I have no problem paying for a pack when it's as awesome as this one. I'm not you're typical train or any other form of public transportation commuter. I work for a very large healthcare system. The hospital campuses seem only to be getting larger and walking from a huge parking deck across sky bridges between medical buildings, I was tired of carrying every bag imaginable. Yes, even grocery store plastic and handled paper bags. I needed something that would carry my daily girly items, ereader, books, pens, planner, smartphone, snacks, and so on. Pockets upon pockets I kept feeding with my stuff. When looking for a backpack all I kept running into were ones to accomodate laptops. Big and unnecessary. Believe it or not I do not need my laptop during the day, but to carry an iPad...perfect. So I keep stuffing it and the pack keeps taking it all in. To give you an idea, if you're a woman looking for a nice backpack that's not crazy big, I'm 5'5" and weigh about 120lbs. Fits my frame nicely.
I purchased the gray and it is not a light gray as the pictures show...it is more a medium shade of gray. The interior orange makes it easy for your items to stand out and locate. Because of the numerous pockets I suggest you find a home for your items and stick to that organization. You need your own map to locate your stuff if you keep changing your items' homes/pocket.

3 people found this helpful
 
April 22, 2010
I have always been a...
Verified Purchase
I have always been a fan of Nomadic products (i have their pencil cases, a wise walker shoulder bag and a passport holder), now this backpack is a great addition to my Nomadic products. It is not a very big backpack it is medium size backpack with useful compartments and sturdy back strap. I love that the interior of the backpack is fluorescent orange because it is easy to find things inside your backpack. I am so happy JetPen carries this backpack now. Also, i am glad i went with the Gray color backpack, it actually looks darker than the pictures on JetPens. Yes, Nomadic products are a bit on the expensive side, but if can afford to shell out the extra bucks, i will say it is worth it because it is well built and quality product.

3 people found this helpful
 
October 31, 2013
CB-01 vs. WL-25 - I have...
Verified Purchase
CB-01 vs. WL-25 - I have both.

Summary (full review below):
WL-25 is less expensive, larger (good for several A4/US-size folders or notebooks), and feels cheaper in quality. The straps are poorly designed and not very ergonomic, especially considering that you'd presumably be carrying a heavier load in this larger bag. There are fewer pockets and they do not feel as useful as the CB-01's pockets. The main compartment can fit a laptop, but the bottom of the bag is as thin as the rest of the bag, so you would NOT want to bring a laptop without a protective cover/case.

CB-01 is smaller, more expensive, more ergonomic, the straps are much more appropriately reinforced/designed. The pockets are far more practical (for me at least) and there are more pockets overall. Smaller size means less notebook/folder capacity (for standard US-size folders and notebooks, A4 I believe).

Detailed review:

WL-25 (larger, cheaper) is definitely of a poorer quality. The back and straps are not as well padded or reinforced, the straps are not ergonomic at all (compare the pictures), despite the contents likely being heavier - why else would you buy the larger bag? Its compartments are also less functional than the CB-01, at least for my purposes. There are also much fewer outside pockets on this bag. There is one pocket in particular (the top one which has a vertical zipper) which I find particularly cumbersome, as whenever you open it to get something out, smaller items you may keep in that pocket will fall out. The outside pockets also do not extend as far out from the bag.


CB-01 is smaller and better designed overall. The straps are better padded and designed - the structure of the straps is such that the weight of the bag is more evenly spread out on one's shoulders. There is this one great pocket pocket on the back of the bag (flat pocket, with a zippered opening on the side to the right if you're wearing it) that can easily be opened by reaching for it, but can't be easily accessed unless you are specifically trying to go for it (harder to steal, I think?) - you kind of have to arch your back in a specific way to get to it. I use this pocket to hold a small flat wallet on a bungee cord for RFID-based public transit or private-entry systems (the kind where you hold the card up to the scanner without having to swipe anything), but it can really be used for any small item that you'd want to keep somewhat concealed or would want to be able to access without removing your bag.

The CB-01 is smaller, which means less space for large items such as A4/standard US sized folders/notebooks/textbooks. I've managed to fit a few notebooks and folders, but sometimes the top corners will bend due to the size/shape of the bag. This bag is AWESOME for anything smaller (shorter) than US/A4 sized notebooks/folders. The top-front pocket is actually amazing for planners or smaller size notebooks (I have one that's about 6"x9"), and it will fit several of them!

Conclusion: the CB-01 is awesome if you don't use a whole lot of standard US/A4 notebooks. The CB-25 is OK, but I wish I'd have gotten a similar bag by a different brand instead.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 26, 2011
This pack is great. Fits...
Verified Purchase
This pack is great. Fits everything all the time. Zippers are good. Contrasting orange inside is nice.

1 person found this helpful
psycho_trackstar
 
September 30, 2010
I love it! What more...
Verified Purchase
I love it! What more can I say?
I'm 5'-2" and its the perfect size :)

1 person found this helpful
 
September 13, 2010
i have been eyeing this...
Verified Purchase
i have been eyeing this bag for months and finally broke down an bought it. it is the perfect size for my frame. i'm 5'6" and am always looking for a backpack that doesn't look huge on me, but is still functional. this bag has amazing organization. the orange interior makes it easy to find things. the grey, like other reviewers have said, is darker than pictured, which is what i was counting on when i bought it. i didn't want black or blue, and am so happy i got the grey. it's more like a smokey gray, than the silvery gray that is pictured. my 13" macbook pro fits in the main compartment without a sleeve. i think if you have a thin sleeve on it, it'd still fit. one of my favorite bag purchases ever.

1 person found this helpful
itsaneifeh
 
November 6, 2014
Great little bag. Perfect...
Verified Purchase
Great little bag. Perfect for tablets and e-readers and moleskine journals. It also did a great job of transporting my 13inch MacBook Air. It really can hold a lot more than its diminutive frame would suggest. Unfortunately, I am a giant and the bag looked a little awkward on me and then my work rolled out massive Dell laptops and I needed to look to something else. I really wished that JetPens would carry the CB-07.