JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 31, 2012
I had a two-week wait...
Verified Purchase
I had a two-week wait for this bag (I don't live in the US) and when the Parcelforce man handed me the tiny, featherweight box, my heart sank. I suspected I'd ordered the wrong item. When I took it out of the packaging, the bag looked even smaller and I was steeling myself to the fact that I might need to return it. I really didn't believe it would take an A4 pad or a 13 inch laptop, let alone both. But it swallowed absolutely everything I loaded into it -- 13" laptop, several pads, A4 documents, pens, iPad, make-up bag, chargers, phone, snacks, and more -- with room to spare. It even took a Rhodia size 19 top-bound pad and its plastic cover, which is at least an inch longer than A4. I compared it to my other laptop bags (notably a Superdry one I bought recently) and they're much bulkier and yet only accommodate a fraction of the items that I can get into this bag with ease. The compartments are easy to access, and I can live with the Velcro noise. I took the precaution of spray-waterproofing it before taking it outside because I'd read reviews that suggested it might be showerproof but not rainproof, but that's probably my worry-gland working overtime. It sits close to the body so you can move through a train or plane easily - no smacking other passengers in the face with your bag as you struggle down the aisle. In other words - good design, and worth every penny. If they expand the colour and material range in this style, I'll be back for more.

8 people found this helpful
 
May 22, 2011
I've barely owned this...
Verified Purchase
I've barely owned this bag for a week and I'm already confident in saying that it's going to be worth every penny - it has tons of pockets on all sides, it's very roomy but doesn't look huge and bloated, the strap is comfortable, and all the external compartments have very secure closures (zipper/velcro).

I especially love the fact that it doesn't look so large. My previous daily use bag was a tote which I would constantly lose things in, and it could get very bulky. This bag holds everything I usually carried around in that tote, but keeps it nice and neat. The zippered pocket on the flap is great for tucking small pieces of paper into, like receipts, and the back compartment is padded, which is comfortable but would also be great for storing a netbook or similar.

The only downsides I can see are the price - for me I think this is a little expensive (but worth it) and possibly the velcro closures which are really secure, so if you're a student try not to put things you'll need during class times into the velcro pockets...!

8 people found this helpful
 
June 13, 2012
For context: I'm a bag...
Verified Purchase
For context: I'm a bag whore. Just like another reviewer here. Have a million. Out of all of them, my gold standard is the Oakley Vertical Computer Bag 3.0 (no longer made but they have a good-enough replacement out). However, all of my equipment has gotten smaller, but my Oakley bag remains the same size, so I've been on the hunt for a long time for a replacement.

I've been through them all. ALL. Making liberal use of return policies, too. Most recently, the champ was the Tom Bihn Ristretto 13". Not really a huge fan of Tom Bihn but it seemed to fit the bill. Two weeks in and man, while it can expand gracefully, there just aren't enough pockets. And no reason why there couldn't be more.

The WR-08 has been on my radar for a long while, and I finally pulled the trigger. One day in so far. I'm really liking it overall. Very light but very durable, and as others mention, plenty of pockets. Where it shines in that like my Oakley, it has plenty of pocketing available without having to open any main compartment. This is one of those design features that every bag should have - quick access storage!

Pros:
- Light! Durable!
- Pockets everywhere, both internal and external for quick access.
- Lightly padded interior for delicate bits of tech. (You may still want a sleeve for your laptop though.)
- Bright orange interior makes it easy to find things.
- Expands gracefully.
- Due to minimal internal structure, sits tight on your body whether you're wearing it one-shoulder or cross-body.

Cons:
- No pen loops (aka pen holders). Kind of a weak omission. ;)
- Shoulder strap cannot be easily replaced. Sure you could rethread a new strap into the clamps with the help of a flathead screwdriver and patience, like a lot of other bags, but seriously: every bag should have D-rings. Every bag ever. Period.
- Shoulder pad is built into the strap; could also be much more slip-proof. It does have some rubber, but neoprene would have been a better fit.

Neutral:
- There are two clips on the sides that, in addition to velcro, hold the main front panel down. They're designed to allow you to get into the two front pockets, without fully lifting/disengaging the main front panel and thereby potentially exposing your goods to the outside world. I can see the reasoning behind these, but they're not removable. Ergo, if they're not clipped, they just sorta flop around; if they are clipped, it's more involved to get inside the main bag areas. Personally, they're a con, but I don't want to risk messing up the bag removing them with an X-Acto blade.

Anyway! Overall, solid 4/5. Highly recommended!

7 people found this helpful
 
May 19, 2012
I agree with all of the...
Verified Purchase
I agree with all of the positives that everyone has said on this bag. It truly is amazing in terms of intelligent design, stylish look, not too big, and a zillion pockets to put everything you need into. I use it daily and really love it.

Unfortunately with daily use this bag has not held up as much as I had hoped. Because the bag only has one way to hold it - by the shoulder strap - the strap has started to degrade. The shoulder strap pad has started to fall apart and leaves little bits of black all over my clothing and skin every time I use it and now the white padding underneath is showing through. For such a costly bag I would not have expected this after only a few months of use. It's very disappointing.

7 people found this helpful
sarahpressman
 
September 25, 2011
I agree with the other...
Verified Purchase
I agree with the other reviewers - this bag is amazing. The size is perfect, with just the right number of pockets. I can carry all my gadgets if I choose, a slender notebook computer, a tablet with portable keyboard, even my Alphasmart Neo, (I don't though - the weight would kill me! - but they WOULD fit) as well as good ole traditional paper notebooks.

A big plus is how lightweight the bag is itself. Very nice, especially if you like to carry a few too many items with you.

The only downsides - and note that I did not take off a ratings star for these - is the sound of the velcro (can be loud!) and (as another reviewer already noted) the lack of a small pick up handle.

Great, great bag!

3 people found this helpful
 
May 23, 2011
This bag is AMAZING....
Verified Purchase
This bag is AMAZING. The design of this bag is top notch, making Nomadic products really stand out in a market filled with average shoulder bags. There are pockets EVERYWHERE. You can see in the pictures how many pockets this bag has but until you have one of these bags in your hands, you can't appreciate how useful this bag really is. The bright orange lining is perfect for finding what you need.

The one thing I would recommend as an addition to this bag would be a handle of some kind on top of the flap. It would make switching from shoulder bag to hand-held carry bag really easy. I carry this bag along with the Nomadic back pack. The back pack is for my books, bento, umbrella and other, smaller bags while the Shoulder bag carries my thermoses (two for water, one for tea), pens and inks. I'm still working with the configuration so this can change but one thing is for sure: these two bags can cover any EDC situation you may need.

I am into bags the way some women are into shoes so take it from me: it's really hard to beat the design, utility and WOW factor of Nomadic products. Don't take my word for it, though. Buy some of your own! Now! =)

3 people found this helpful
ms.indica
 
December 10, 2012
I've had this bag for...
I've had this bag for nearly two years now and it's gotten to the point that I can't remember why I ever used another bag before this one.

I'm one of those people who always takes everything with them "just in case I might need it" even when deep-down I'm certain I won't, and that could be anything from my complete set of colored pencils to my husband's iPod cables. This bag is so versatile (and stuffable) that it handles my OCD needs without missing a beat, I can even throw in a change of clothes and a toothbrush for an overnight trip without overtaxing it.

Most days it sits in the nook next to my desk filled with the books, supplies and everyday miscellany (reading and sunglasses, journal, wallet, car keys, pencil case, sketchpad, Kindle...) neatly organized and at hand for working at my desk or for grab-and-go convenience as I'm heading heading out the door without having to worry about forgetting anything important.

If you're a carry everything person or just someone who wants their stuff organized and easy to find, then this is the bag for you.

1 person found this helpful
becky.nonzero
 
February 26, 2012
I have owned a lot of...
Verified Purchase
I have owned a lot of bags over the years and this one is the best by a considerable stretch. The main compartment will -- just -- hold a MacBook in a sleeve. The smaller compartments are of useful sizes and are arranged conveniently. The bag itself is lightweight and the underside of the shoulder strap is slightly rubberized so that it doesn't tend to slide off your shoulder so much.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 12, 2014
I really want this bag,...
I really want this bag, all the reviews seem excelliant and make me want this bag even more. But can it hold the 11x17 manga paper?