My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.3 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  Wow! What a great pen!..., July 1, 2012
By mov...
Wow! What a great pen!

After taking baby steps in the fountain pen realm (Preppy, Petit1, Sailor Ink Bar, etc.) I decided to go after a more substantial model that I could try out a converter with. I went with the Dude over a Lamy because I liked that this pen was metal and looked a bit more fancy than a Lamy.

I have not been disappointed at all! To demonstrate my new pen and converter to my coworker, I filled it lickety-split right at my desk with no issues (it was my first time EVER using a converter) and the pen wrote beautifully right away. I have likewise been drawing and writing with it for several days and have had absolutely zero problems with ink flow. Since I am using a converter, I am also not worried about using up my ink reserves in cartridges because I know I have a whole bottle of ink at my disposal that I can fill whenever I want! (I am using Diamine ink for my initial converter go around.)

The metal body is definitely more weighty than any of the other plastic fountain pens I own and have tried, but I LIKE that. The pen feels solid and even better, it feels and looks way more expensive than it is.

As the other reviewer noticed, the cap IS very difficult at first to pull off. I have however, gotten a bit used to it and feel comforted by the effort it takes. I know that the cap won't pop off in my bag or pen case.

For the first reviewer of this pen - I suspect that you have not actually engaged your cartridge with the nib. You have to physically push the cartridge onto the mechanism to get the ink to flow. Take one of the cartridges and PUSH it into the feed and you will feel it puncture. Twist it slightly to be sure it's attached firmly and you should soon be able to write.

Most pens that use a short cartridge do so to enable you to carry an extra cartridge inside the body of your pen in case the one you are using runs out. That's why they are both rattling about inside your pen: neither of them is actually in use.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I love the feel of the..., May 26, 2013
I love the feel of the pen, cap snaps on securely. I have Pilot namiki fine and medium point, and this fine point is very broad compared to those. It writes nicely, hard to get it going at times after not using for a couple days. Nice pen otherwise.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  The pen is beautiful...., June 12, 2012
The pen is beautiful. It's a good size and has nice weight. I think it writes nicely, very smooth. My only complaint is the pen cap is extremely hard to put on and take off. It makes me nervous having to yank the cap off when I'd like to use the pen and then force it back on when I am finished.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Very nice pen. I am somewhat..., July 11, 2012
By ash...
Very nice pen. I am somewhat new to this whole fountain pen thing. This pen is very nice in design, the color is beautiful and kind of glossy. I ordered a Kaeweco (sorry for the spelling) ink cartridge set and noticed it is identical to the two ink cartridges that came with the pen. Very nice that the pen came with two ink cartridges! That is a plus! Definitely a nice pen for anyone. Comfortable to write with too. Ink flows out nicely. Yes the cap is a bit tough to get on and off, but it's nice to know that it stays on securely and I don't have to worry about ink spills in my purse or anything.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I'm sad to day I'm disappointe..., July 3, 2014
I'm sad to day I'm disappointed in this pen. I specifically chose this pen based on it not looking stodgy and traditional, and in that department I'm very satisfied; I think this pen is gorgeous. It lays down the right amount of ink for my taste. However, the nib, on the very scratchy end of the spectrum, actually feels like it might tear through the page if the paper isn't substantial. The nib mount itself is far enough off center from the nib that it shows on the frontside, which, despite the very nice exterior, gives the pen a sense of low quality.

Overall, still useable, very nice looking on the exterior, but not a great pleasure to write with.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Save your money ...!!!!..., December 4, 2012
Save your money ...!!!! This pen is terrible, can't hold a solid line, skips, scratches...... I have an array of fountain pens and I never use this one because it writes so poorly.... Go with a Lamy Safari, same price or cheaper and the Safari buries this pen... I liked the color and design, but don't expect to do much else with this pen...
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I have been trying to..., September 12, 2012
By gar...
I have been trying to use this pen for the past few weeks. I found the nib was very scratchy. The first time I posted the cap and took the cap off the back of the pen, it scratched the purple off the pen so now it has scratches all over it! It's not an expensive pen but the $ for a chipped pen and a scratchy nib, not great. BTW I love the free shipping JetPens offer! I will be ordering more fountain pens from them.
  I'm coming back to fountain..., April 17, 2014
I'm coming back to fountain pens after a long hiatus. I love the way this pen looks and feels in my hand. It writes very smoothly. The cap is secure on the front and back.

The one thing I don't like about it is that it's really not a fine nib. It lays down a pretty thick line, comparable to an 1.0mm pen. I got the Pilot Metropolitan pen at the same time. Although that pen is labeled as a medium nib, it lays down a thinner line than this one.
  The pen looks really..., December 1, 2012
By JES...
The pen looks really cool and is comfortable to hold--either posted or unposted. Unfortunately, it does not write very well. The nib is very scratchy and skips. If I press firmly enough to prevent the pen from skipping, it becomes uncomfortable to write with for more than a few moments.
0 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I feel completely dumb!..., June 9, 2012
By jan...
I feel completely dumb! How in the world do you get the ink cartridge to engage with the nib? The 2 cartridges keep rattling around in the pen, and even when screwed in all the way do not make contact with the nib part to pierce the cratridge and get the ink flowing. Am I missing something???