My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.3 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  The primary thing to..., December 8, 2011
The primary thing to remember about this pen is that it's pretty and it's cheap. So anything else (good writing quality, etc.) is sort of a bonus. To that end, I haven't really had problems with mine skipping a lot; good ink makes a difference, also the tines needed to be spread just a bit. What I do take issue with, however, is how after about three weeks of use, the gold band around the middle has been tarnished. You might think a pen manufacturer would expect that area to be frequently touched... It's an ugly gray now, and though I'm still attached to my pen, I only wish that it had been better made. Could that be a problem with my pen individually? Other reviewers should give feedback.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I own this pen in silver..., September 21, 2013
By jst...
I own this pen in silver and have come to love it. What a great pen for the price! I was initially surprised by the weight because it's rather light, but now like that. It writes smoothly, no issues with skips. The design is very attractive, and it gets a lot of compliments -- ironically, more than my other more expensive FPS ever have. Given another review that mentions wear to the gold plate, I also want to mention that the gold bands on mine show no wear. After three months of regular use, it still looks like new.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Really nice pen with..., July 27, 2013
Really nice pen with a shiny body. Nib is abit rough at start and feed has problems at start but after its washed the feed works perfectly. I would recomand anyone that's thinking of buying this pen should buy it without a doubt. Design and nib are nicely made.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  If you want shiny, the..., March 2, 2009
If you want shiny, the F-Lapa has it in spades.

I was initially a bit skeptical about the quality of this pen after reading a few negative reviews on Ohto's Fine series, which seems to have much the same mechanism and construction. For the price, though, the F-Lapa left me pleasantly surprised.

It's not spectacular, but it's by no means bad - Just an average, performs-as-advertised elegant pen for a fantastic price. You could certainly do a lot worse for yourself with a 15 dollar spending budget. The nib may be cheap, and it may be "fake" gold (it's just plated) but at least it writes nicely and smoothly. It's actually about as fine as my Sheaffer fine nibs. There are no skipping or starting problems to speak of, and the pen taking standard International Short cartridges is a plus. There are no seam lines on the plasticwork, the shiny chrome finish is flawless, and all the parts fit together nicely. My only real complaint is the somewhat tacky black lettering around the base of the cap, which can't be removed without damaging the finish of the pen (apparently it's silkscreened on).

For a lousy fifteen dollars you should be buying a five-and-ten special plastic bodied knockoff brand pen, but instead you can get the thoroughly capable and undoubtedly stylish F-Lapa.
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I own the silver version..., February 22, 2010
I own the silver version of this pen and it writes surprinsingly well although it is certainly a very basic fountain pen. For fifteen bucks, it does the job and the cap and barrel's fit and finish are good.
Please note that on many OHTO fountain pens, the steel "iridium point Germany" nib is actually made in China and quality control isn't the best. Just because it says "Germany" does not mean that it is "Made in Germany." This fact has been documented by the famous pen repair and nib expert Richard Binder in a recent issue of Stylus magazine. Also, no one uses pure iridium anymore. It is way too rare and expensive. It must come from outer space (meteors/asteroids) and, if you do have an iridium tip on a vintage fountain pen--even an iridium-alloy--you are writing with stardust. Cool!
I wish the Chinese would just put "made in China" and be done with it. For goodness sake, China was the birthplace of paper and numerous other great inventions and ideas. I have deep respect for the Chinese man-on-the-street (the government has point-of-departure issues), and they have every right to be proud of their heritage. Unfortunately, a few bad products have gotten scores of others to be branded as cheap and inferior. Granted, although the OHTO nibs are sometimes poorly adjusted because of quality control issues, many Chinese manufactured nibs and fountain pens work well (the famous Hero, for example).
remeber to journal. It's good for you. Thanks JetPens!
  Writes beautifully without..., October 6, 2009
Writes beautifully without skipping. Even if I put it down for a few minutes it starts writing again immediately without having to force it to work, a problem I experienced with the Ohto fine. The quality and feel doesn't stand up to the ohto fine, but I'll take performance over looks any day.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  It writes lovely, but..., June 23, 2012
By ben...
It writes lovely, but it is a pain to clean. This was my 4th fountian pen, so I'm not perfect. Still, I found that it was a royal pain to clean. Very hard to the ink regulator and nib off. But, it looks great! I would recommend it.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Terrible for $15. Absolute..., November 7, 2010
By cut...
Terrible for $15. Absolute JUNK. The writing performance was scratchy at best and felt like rubbing a stick against gravel. Scritch scratch scritch scratch. This cannot compare to my TWSBI Diamond 530, My Lamy Safari/Al-Star, my Lamy 2000, MB 149, Pilot VP, Sheaffer PFM, Parker Sonnet, etc. in terms of... well everything. The pen feels cheap as the build construction and threading for barrel are plastic-y. It is easily dented and damaged and basically I expected a bit more for $15. You might think that the pens I compare it to are $40+/$120+ but at least they work it out for their price points in trim, looks, feel, and writing performance. I'd rather take a Pilot Varsity or some other disposable than this pile of pure crap. I have lost all my faith in Ohto.
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  It's not worth the c..., July 14, 2010
By dit...
It's not worth the cost....