My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
12 out of 12 people found the following review helpful
  Excellent. I've used..., April 21, 2012
Excellent. I've used these before and am glad JP has them now. Could be the best liners out there. Remind me of Rapidograph without the need to refill and fuss with fragile tips that Rapidograph from Rotring or Koh i Noor has OR with faber tips that wear out after a while and produce different line thickness.

Regarding tip sizes, as with all manufacturers the tip size (eg 005 = 0.3mm not 005 mm) is not universal but company assigned.
So, as per some Japanese web sites, Ohto Graphic liners are as follows:

005 = 0.3 mm
01 = 0.4 mm
02 = 0.5 mm
03 = 0.7 mm
05 = 1 mm
1 = ? (could not find this one)
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Love the ink and the..., November 28, 2012
Love the ink and the feel of this pen, though I find the 0.05mm to be a little scratchy to my liking. I press pretty hard with my pen as I write, so if you share a similar writing style, consider a slightly larger width. I do like the sturdiness of the pen and the point—I have never felt like it could break if I pressed too hard. Not the most comfortable grip of any pen I've used, but I don't find it bothersome. Overall a great needle point pen!
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  This is NOT like a Rapidograph..., October 8, 2013
By jgk...
This is NOT like a Rapidograph pen. The Jetpens description (both on the item itself and in the "Graphic Drawing Pens" blog article) is, in my opinion, misleading. This is not a technical pen, it's a rollerball with pigment ink. If that's all you're looking for, great.

If you aren't familiar with technical pens, Wikipedia has a good article, but in essence you have a needle in a shaft fed by a reservoir. The diameter of the shaft determines the width of the line, and the needle inside regulates ink flow. They require a different technique for use from traditional pens and pencils, as the tip (particularly on thinner gauge pens) has a tendency to dig into and/or cut paper if they are pushed rather than pulled. If you want to write, sketch, or otherwise futz about, you don't want a technical pen; they're precision tools for precision work.

The term "needle point" has expanded to describe rollerballs on the end of a cylinder a la the Pilot Hi-Tec-C, differentiating them from rollerballs at the top of a cone, a la the Uni Signo, and that seems to be the source of the confusion here. This pen functions similarly to a Precise V5, Hi-Tec-C, Slicci, etc. It is much smoother than a technical pen... and also much less precise. It tends to be slightly gloppy at the start of a line. If you're an artist or a writer, you might never notice. If you're an architect or a drafter, or anyone who demands a consistent line, it's unacceptable. It most certainly would've affected my grades back in school.

So much for what this pen is not... what it IS, is a good, thin rollerball with pigment ink. I hope this means archival ink... the barrel states that it is water proof and fade proof, but it doesn't say anything about its pH level. At least, not in English -- I can't read the Japanese! I bought a pair of them, and they both write well, with no skipping or trouble starting. For anything but precise production work, it's a darn fine pen.
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Finally, a durable liner..., October 21, 2012
By bil...
Finally, a durable liner pen with waterproof ink even. One thing though, the pen I took on a recent plane trip has started to blob/leak out the vent hole above the point (hence minus one star). Other than that though this pen is great for sketching and fine line work.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Bought a 03 Graphic Liner..., January 15, 2013
By wm....
Bought a 03 Graphic Liner based on positive reviews and I'm happy with the fast ink flow. The line weight is consistent.
I'll purchase more of these.
  So far so good..., April 7, 2014
So far so good
  I adore this pen. It..., October 3, 2013
By sau...
I adore this pen. It is loud when it writes, but I don't mind at all. The feel is incredibly smooth and the ink is satisfyingly dark. Oh yes, for non-drawing purposes (i.e. normal writing), the .3mm/005 is right.
  Skips too much. The tip..., May 12, 2013
By saa...
Skips too much. The tip is scratchy- sad considering I thought the metal nib would flow smoothly over paper unlike plastic and fibre fine liner tips which are nearly always scratchy. And the ink skips, a LOT. I can't rely on it for a consistent line at all. The only use I can find for it us very rough sketching.