JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 21, 2012
Excellent. I've used...
Verified Purchase
Excellent. I've used these before and am glad JP has them now. Could be the best liners out there. Remind me of Rapidograph without the need to refill and fuss with fragile tips that Rapidograph from Rotring or Koh i Noor has OR with faber tips that wear out after a while and produce different line thickness.

Regarding tip sizes, as with all manufacturers the tip size (eg 005 = 0.3mm not 005 mm) is not universal but company assigned.
So, as per some Japanese web sites, Ohto Graphic liners are as follows:

005 = 0.3 mm
01 = 0.4 mm
02 = 0.5 mm
03 = 0.7 mm
05 = 1 mm
1 = ? (could not find this one)

12 people found this helpful
 
October 8, 2013
This is NOT like a Rapidograph...
Verified Purchase
This is NOT like a Rapidograph pen. The Jetpens description (both on the item itself and in the "Graphic Drawing Pens" blog article) is, in my opinion, misleading. This is not a technical pen, it's a rollerball with pigment ink. If that's all you're looking for, great.

If you aren't familiar with technical pens, Wikipedia has a good article, but in essence you have a needle in a shaft fed by a reservoir. The diameter of the shaft determines the width of the line, and the needle inside regulates ink flow. They require a different technique for use from traditional pens and pencils, as the tip (particularly on thinner gauge pens) has a tendency to dig into and/or cut paper if they are pushed rather than pulled. If you want to write, sketch, or otherwise futz about, you don't want a technical pen; they're precision tools for precision work.

The term "needle point" has expanded to describe rollerballs on the end of a cylinder a la the Pilot Hi-Tec-C, differentiating them from rollerballs at the top of a cone, a la the Uni Signo, and that seems to be the source of the confusion here. This pen functions similarly to a Precise V5, Hi-Tec-C, Slicci, etc. It is much smoother than a technical pen... and also much less precise. It tends to be slightly gloppy at the start of a line. If you're an artist or a writer, you might never notice. If you're an architect or a drafter, or anyone who demands a consistent line, it's unacceptable. It most certainly would've affected my grades back in school.

So much for what this pen is not... what it IS, is a good, thin rollerball with pigment ink. I hope this means archival ink... the barrel states that it is water proof and fade proof, but it doesn't say anything about its pH level. At least, not in English -- I can't read the Japanese! I bought a pair of them, and they both write well, with no skipping or trouble starting. For anything but precise production work, it's a darn fine pen.

6 people found this helpful
 
November 28, 2012
Love the ink and the...
Verified Purchase
Love the ink and the feel of this pen, though I find the 0.05mm to be a little scratchy to my liking. I press pretty hard with my pen as I write, so if you share a similar writing style, consider a slightly larger width. I do like the sturdiness of the pen and the point—I have never felt like it could break if I pressed too hard. Not the most comfortable grip of any pen I've used, but I don't find it bothersome. Overall a great needle point pen!

4 people found this helpful
jnonweiler
 
October 21, 2012
Finally, a durable liner...
Verified Purchase
Finally, a durable liner pen with waterproof ink even. One thing though, the pen I took on a recent plane trip has started to blob/leak out the vent hole above the point (hence minus one star). Other than that though this pen is great for sketching and fine line work.

4 people found this helpful
 
January 15, 2013
Bought a 03 Graphic Liner...
Bought a 03 Graphic Liner based on positive reviews and I'm happy with the fast ink flow. The line weight is consistent.
I'll purchase more of these.

2 people found this helpful
wm.mwoodland
 
November 11, 2014
Precise, with ink that...
Verified Purchase
Precise, with ink that is slightly lighter than I prefer. The pen has good consistency and feel. I compare this to my Rapid-O-Graph 0.30, but does not have the feeling of absolute precision of that pen.

 
November 10, 2014
Nice black line, but...
Verified Purchase
Nice black line, but not the most consistent or smooth

 
November 2, 2014
favorite pen currently!! I...
Verified Purchase
favorite pen currently!!
I bought this simply because it was cheap, and I needed to push my order over 25$ because I'm not willing to pay for shipping. So I didn't know what it was, but I needed a small liner for details and figured "it's cheap, why not". Got it and was definitely surprised at how easily it writes. I bought this at the end of August as sort of a "back-to-school" order, and this instantly became my go-to for not only doodles, but intricate pieces, as well as taking notes in all of my classes.

Is it good? Yes! As long as you give it time to dry, it doesn't bleed when erasing pencil, and alcohol-based markers (Like Prismacolor and Copic) work beautifully with it. And it's waterproof! But for all pens like this, give them time to really dry out or it will bleed like nuts. Favorite pen in the world right now, and I've only just recently started seeing the drying out after months of nonstop use.

good luck
 
October 27, 2014
I like the metal point....
Verified Purchase
I like the metal point. I'm hard on pens, and need the metal tip. I will be traveling overseas with it instead of my Rapidographs, which are way too messy for traveling.

betty.thompson
 
October 27, 2014
Very nice thin point,...
Verified Purchase
Very nice thin point, I got the 005. Permanent ink and great design.

epgoldenberg3344