JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 23, 2012
I have been using them...
Verified Purchase
I have been using them for a few days now on a variety of papers (Moleskine and regular paper). So far I love them. I've used a wide variety of technical pens in the past from Rapidograph and Staedtler to Copic, Sakura and Faber Castell. All of the traditional tech pens tend to clog up. The fiber tip markers like the Copic and Sakura tend to push back up into the metal ferrule. Probably because I push too hard but that's the way I draw. I also travel a lot so the pens have to stand up to changing air pressure without leaking. I also ink on top of pencil sketches so I need a pen that won't clog or skip. So far the Ohto line work great. The line is very smooth and even and black. It dries fast and holds up under erasure better than the others even when I have inked over pencil. They don't leak on flights so far. And of course there is no fiber tip to mush down or retract within the metal ferrule. I highly recommend them for sketching.

9 people found this helpful
 
December 5, 2012
I first want to start...
Verified Purchase
I first want to start off this review by saying that I have only had these for about a few days, but so far, I love them. These pens are compatible with the Copic Multiliners and Sakura Microns. The great thing about these is whenever you cap them or hit the writing tip, it'll stay just fine! Unlike other felt tip pens (Staedler, Microns, Copics) you don't ever have to worry about accidentally crushing your pen. They produce the same line + color of the other pens. If there is any complaint about these, it's the fact that these tend to bleed A LOT. If you are drawing in little details, you have to be careful because these will bleed. Definitely a great buy!

4 people found this helpful
f.u.r.r.e.t
 
May 8, 2013
Well, i have been all...
Verified Purchase
Well, i have been all up and down Felt/Porous Pen St. It can be a lonely journey trying to find the right tool for the job.
I am admittedly, a Heavy-Handed scribbler. Being a software developer/designer, a lot of my penmanship is employed in a rush of creativity or logistical "eureka-ness". Traditional felt/porous pen tips crumble under my club-like employment after a few days.
To make my pen requirements more unreasonable, I am also a compulsive doodler. I love the flow and line depth that graphic art felt/porous pens give, so much so that i was quite comfortable purchasing a package of Staedtler pens every 2 weeks to support my habit. Now i don't have to. These pens are ball point and i actually forget they are. I have had them for 2 weeks and there is no signs of wear. Awesome stuff! I just gifted them to a good friend who is a fashion designer.
LOL. I just read my review and thought it sounded like a commercial, but there truly is value here. My fellow "High Pressure Penographers" if you have the same faults as me, these are your pens.

3 people found this helpful
 
January 26, 2013
These are wonderful pens....
Verified Purchase
These are wonderful pens. I tried them on some cheap notebook paper and didn't experience any feathering or skipping with any size pen point. They are also surprisingly smooth and more pleasant to write with than some pilot roller ball pens I've used in the past. They are wonderful for sketching, technical drawings, and even taking notes in some of my classes.

2 people found this helpful
derekverbrugge
 
September 8, 2012
Okay so I love this set!...
Verified Purchase
Okay so I love this set! The ink is super excellent, holds up well against erasing and copics! I thought it'd be a tiny little felt tip in a metal casing, but that was just my fault for not reading all the way! ^u^; Anyways it's an excellent buy! If my set ever runs out I'll definitely purchase again!

2 people found this helpful
maccameiimint
 
August 7, 2014
Well, I bought this pack...
Verified Purchase
Well, I bought this pack on a whim after hearing good things about them. And I'm pretty disappointed. I gave it three stars since three pens worked well. No skipping or feathering, and they laid down a solid black line. However, the other three gave me issues. They constantly skipped and stopped working on me. I even felt at times the ink wasnt as black as the other pens' ink. I was really hoping the finest tip, the 005, would work well. It didnt. Since I bought a Sakura Micron pen and a Copic Multiliner as well, the loss wasn't too bad. Overall, I regret buying this pack.

chriissttina
 
July 14, 2014
I tend to work in ink...
Verified Purchase
I tend to work in ink and water-based mediums a great deal and wanted to try something different from Microns, so these pens seemed like something to check out. They feel a little heftier than Micron pens which is a plus in my book, and they're very nicely designed. The ink flow in most of them is good, but I did encounter some skipping in the two larger pens, the 05 and 10.

However, while these pens have "waterproof" right across the side, they definitely aren't. I got some light gray streaking after more than one very small pass with my water brush pen. This got worse with the larger sized pens, and happened even after I let the lines sit for a while. They hold up fine against Copic marker, though, so I guess I'll just be avoiding these when I want to break out my watercolors.

Overall these aren't bad pens if you work with marker or want a set that you don't want to worry about the tips over, but if you're looking for waterproof or 100% solid ink flow, go with Microns. Not sure if I'd buy them again since I'm not completely in love, but I'll probably get some decent use out of them in my sketchbook.

avictorim
 
June 8, 2014
I am heavy handed and...
Verified Purchase
I am heavy handed and tend to mash the points on the Micron pens so thought I would try these. The number one skips so badly I don't want to use it for anything good. I was using the .005 for some writing and drawing in my journal. Well, today I couldn't figure out where I was getting the black on my fingers - till I noticed a blob on my journal page! The pen is leaking badly. So much for these pens. I am going back to the a Microns even if I have to buy them more often to have clean points.

gottamakeart
 
March 20, 2014
Awesome! Great for both...
Verified Purchase
Awesome! Great for both writing, inking and drawing though I don't whole drawings with them. I mostly draw and write with them in my Rhodia Dotpad. Very versatile. Love it

kyaaaaaaaaaah
 
October 9, 2013
I'm very surprised at...
Verified Purchase
I'm very surprised at the quality of these pens and I like these better than my copic pens... Amazing I know but I have pretty much every Liner drawing pen and these are great and not that expensive. I'll also say that it takes a little time to get use to but in a few tries you'll either love them or hate them. If rating by brands, these are in my top 5.