My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.0 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
9 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  I have been using them..., August 23, 2012
By bryan
I have been using them for a few days now on a variety of papers (Moleskine and regular paper). So far I love them. I've used a wide variety of technical pens in the past from Rapidograph and Staedtler to Copic, Sakura and Faber Castell. All of the traditional tech pens tend to clog up. The fiber tip markers like the Copic and Sakura tend to push back up into the metal ferrule. Probably because I push too hard but that's the way I draw. I also travel a lot so the pens have to stand up to changing air pressure without leaking. I also ink on top of pencil sketches so I need a pen that won't clog or skip. So far the Ohto line work great. The line is very smooth and even and black. It dries fast and holds up under erasure better than the others even when I have inked over pencil. They don't leak on flights so far. And of course there is no fiber tip to mush down or retract within the metal ferrule. I highly recommend them for sketching.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I first want to start..., December 5, 2012
By f.u...
I first want to start off this review by saying that I have only had these for about a few days, but so far, I love them. These pens are compatible with the Copic Multiliners and Sakura Microns. The great thing about these is whenever you cap them or hit the writing tip, it'll stay just fine! Unlike other felt tip pens (Staedler, Microns, Copics) you don't ever have to worry about accidentally crushing your pen. They produce the same line + color of the other pens. If there is any complaint about these, it's the fact that these tend to bleed A LOT. If you are drawing in little details, you have to be careful because these will bleed. Definitely a great buy!
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Well, i have been all..., May 8, 2013
Well, i have been all up and down Felt/Porous Pen St. It can be a lonely journey trying to find the right tool for the job.
I am admittedly, a Heavy-Handed scribbler. Being a software developer/designer, a lot of my penmanship is employed in a rush of creativity or logistical "eureka-ness". Traditional felt/porous pen tips crumble under my club-like employment after a few days.
To make my pen requirements more unreasonable, I am also a compulsive doodler. I love the flow and line depth that graphic art felt/porous pens give, so much so that i was quite comfortable purchasing a package of Staedtler pens every 2 weeks to support my habit. Now i don't have to. These pens are ball point and i actually forget they are. I have had them for 2 weeks and there is no signs of wear. Awesome stuff! I just gifted them to a good friend who is a fashion designer.
LOL. I just read my review and thought it sounded like a commercial, but there truly is value here. My fellow "High Pressure Penographers" if you have the same faults as me, these are your pens.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  These are wonderful pens...., January 26, 2013
These are wonderful pens. I tried them on some cheap notebook paper and didn't experience any feathering or skipping with any size pen point. They are also surprisingly smooth and more pleasant to write with than some pilot roller ball pens I've used in the past. They are wonderful for sketching, technical drawings, and even taking notes in some of my classes.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Okay so I love this set!..., September 8, 2012
Okay so I love this set! The ink is super excellent, holds up well against erasing and copics! I thought it'd be a tiny little felt tip in a metal casing, but that was just my fault for not reading all the way! ^u^; Anyways it's an excellent buy! If my set ever runs out I'll definitely purchase again!
  I tend to work in ink..., July 14, 2014
I tend to work in ink and water-based mediums a great deal and wanted to try something different from Microns, so these pens seemed like something to check out. They feel a little heftier than Micron pens which is a plus in my book, and they're very nicely designed. The ink flow in most of them is good, but I did encounter some skipping in the two larger pens, the 05 and 10.

However, while these pens have "waterproof" right across the side, they definitely aren't. I got some light gray streaking after more than one very small pass with my water brush pen. This got worse with the larger sized pens, and happened even after I let the lines sit for a while. They hold up fine against Copic marker, though, so I guess I'll just be avoiding these when I want to break out my watercolors.

Overall these aren't bad pens if you work with marker or want a set that you don't want to worry about the tips over, but if you're looking for waterproof or 100% solid ink flow, go with Microns. Not sure if I'd buy them again since I'm not completely in love, but I'll probably get some decent use out of them in my sketchbook.
  I am heavy handed and..., June 8, 2014
I am heavy handed and tend to mash the points on the Micron pens so thought I would try these. The number one skips so badly I don't want to use it for anything good. I was using the .005 for some writing and drawing in my journal. Well, today I couldn't figure out where I was getting the black on my fingers - till I noticed a blob on my journal page! The pen is leaking badly. So much for these pens. I am going back to the a Microns even if I have to buy them more often to have clean points.
  Awesome! Great for both..., March 20, 2014
Awesome! Great for both writing, inking and drawing though I don't whole drawings with them. I mostly draw and write with them in my Rhodia Dotpad. Very versatile. Love it
  I'm very surprised at..., October 9, 2013
By tse...
I'm very surprised at the quality of these pens and I like these better than my copic pens... Amazing I know but I have pretty much every Liner drawing pen and these are great and not that expensive. I'll also say that it takes a little time to get use to but in a few tries you'll either love them or hate them. If rating by brands, these are in my top 5.
  I really like these pens..., August 20, 2013
By one...
I really like these pens the rating is due receiving a fluke with my set of pens, the 05 pen's ink flow is really inconsistent it either slowly peters out or abruptly stops, which is a tad annoying when writing but really bothersome when inking drawings. The rest of the pens I can't really describe my personal glee compared to my prisma color felt tips pens they're just really great pens the ink is much darker, the metal tip allows for what I think are tad smoother lines and it stands up well to erasing. Being metal tips if you hold it against the paper for too long it will slowly puke out more ink so if your slow with your lines will come thicker than indicated but if you're paying attention it's not really a big deal. I don't regret buying these pens they're really fantastic pens and if you're a hard pressure illustrator these pens these pens are really great for you since you don't have to worry about breaking the felt tip or pushing the felt inside the pipe.
  I was not impressed with..., May 12, 2013
I was not impressed with the quality of these at all. I bought these because I have always used the Sakura Pigma Micron to do line work, the problem with these is they could run dry (rarely) and if they ever fall off the table chances are it's going to land on the tip and render the pen unusable. I was open to try a new system with these pens. The ink flow is unreliable, at least two of the pens from the pack behave erratically (the number 002 and the 005). Whereas with the Microns there's rarely need to press down on the paper for the line to come out smooth and clean, with these pens I find that if I don't press down hard hardly any ink will flow at all, which may cause for one or two botched lines. I didn't give it 1 start because at least the 1.0 mm pen works properly and the line is smooth, I will recommend this one pen alone.

Personally I feel that 2 pens not working correctly out of the whole pack makes the whole Pack unreliable. When selling a whole pack of pens, there should be some sort of guarantee that they will all work properly.

At least the little ziplock bag that they come in is high quality and good.... but 15 dollars for a little ziplock bag and one good working pen? Better stick to the Microns.