x
1 - 10 of 17 |  | 
Every so often I stumble...
October 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
Every so often I stumble onto a piece of industrial design which combines practicality and aesthetics in a way which is just plain admirable. The Ohto Rook is an example of that. Just a few simple pieces, it demonstrates how slick a simple design can be when the designers are creative with the details.

Practical: This pen is tiny when not in use, full length when posted, although slim. It is meant to be used in the real world. Made mostly of aluminum and plastic, it is not going to survive heavy abuse, but it will usually be hidden in a pocket where it doesn't get much of that. It's far from the cheapest pen in the world, but the price is not so high that it would break my heart to replace it; that is part of its practicality too. It uses International cartridges, so the range of inks available for it is the greatest of any cartridge pen.

Pretty: It is surprising how attractive this pen is when you have it posted. It looks sleek and elegant. Those slight swoopy curves make the cap post properly and shape the pen to improve the grip. Sometimes designers sacrifice function to make the product pretty; here, by making it pretty, they made it WORK. Art without remorse!

Some reviews say the point is scratchy; mine is not, very nice, very smooth. It writes a very fine line, though. Personally, I don't love ultra fine lines, but they use less ink. For a travel pen, using the limited ink capacity of an International cartridge, that is a plus.

The Kaweco Lilliput is another classic pocket pen. I have one in copper. To compare the two, the Kaweco is clearly better made. It is heavy and solid. It is clipless, a true trouser pocket pen, especially in the small leather pouch they also sell for it. It is a bit longer, closed, than the Ohto Rook is. In the Rook's favor, it looks more elegant in use, it costs a lot less, it has a clip (which keeps the thing from rolling off a table, even if you never choose to actually clip it to anything) and it is more convenient to use. This convenience arises because the Rook cap closes with a snap and posts with a simple push and friction fit, while the Lilliput screws together in both positions. The heavier, all metal, threaded Lilliput cap and body are the sturdier solution, but slower as well.

This is one little pen I am going to use a LOT.
6 people found this helpful
rogerswjjr
This is a fine little...
December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase
This is a fine little pen! And when I say "little," I mean LITTLE. It's super tiny, but quite comfortable to write with when posted, at least for my smallish hands. The cap snaps securely onto the pen, and holds well when posted, also, so you don't need to worry about it flying off.

The only thing keeping this pen from getting full stars was that I had to carefully adjust how the feed and nib lined up before I started writing. Didn't take long, but I was worried I would break it, as this is my first foray into the fountain pen world.

It's a pity it won't take a converter (truly, even a mini-converter would be too long), but for now I'm liking the J. Herbin Perle Noire cartridge I have loaded in it.
2 people found this helpful
restlesscourage
I wanted a mini fountain...
October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase
I wanted a mini fountain pen, and this certainly fits the description. Capped, it's the same length as my Fisher Bullet Space Pen, and it's not much thicker. Posted, it's plenty long enough to write with, due to the extra long cap, although it feels a little thin. For now, I'll carry it in a shirt pocket, but could probably carry it in a pants pocket like the Fisher.

Writing quality was very poor at first, with little ink flow. After flushing it out, adjusting nib and feed, and finally spreading the tines slightly, it now writes well. So far I'm using a Monteverde red cartridge, which isn't the greatest ink in any case. I have other colors, and a cartridge can be refilled, using a syringe, with any ink you want. This pen isn't suitable for eyedropper conversion, and there's no converter I know of that would work.

After all the fiddling with nib and feed I had to do, this could have been three stars instead of four. The end result is an excellent little pen, with no defects in materials, and if you're lucky, you'll get one that works right away. On the other hand, you might have to tune it a bit.
2 people found this helpful
I love this pen! It writes...
April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase
I love this pen! It writes well, puts down a fairly fine line - not as fine as say, my Sailor, but it is a fraction of the price. It's design is very clever, compact is an understatement! It also seems to travel well. The body is metal, not plastic, and the finish and quality seem high. I'm not sure how the anodized? finish will stand up to long term use, but for now it's a very attractive and functional little object.
2 people found this helpful
Great little (EF) pen....
June 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great little (EF) pen. Small but is a fine writer.
1 person found this helpful
The pen is smaller than...
July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase
The pen is smaller than it looks in the pictures, which I didn't mind so much. What I did mind was that this 'fine nib' pen wrote way too thick. With a J Herbin Pensive Violet cartridge in the tank, it wrote much more what I would consider medium or even broad. It felt like I was writing with a 1.0mm pen, not a 'fine' nib. If you're looking for a compact pen in this price range, I would recommend the Kaweco Sport line over this in a heartbeat.
1 person found this helpful
doublefeh
Delightfully small and...
July 18, 2016
Verified Purchase
Delightfully small and light, this pen writes well too. Being so short it really does need to have the cap pushed onto the non writing end. The cap, unfortunately, is occasionally reluctant to stay in place. I can live with that since the convenience of having this fab little pocket fountain pen outweighs that minor gripe.
I use this as my work...
May 12, 2016
Verified Purchase
I use this as my work pen. I love how it instantly flows and I love the fine nib. I may order another to have as my carry pen.
rickstauffer
Although short it writes...
May 11, 2016
Verified Purchase
Although short it writes really nicely
lindastone307
Very nice design just...
April 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
Very nice design just like its ballpoint version. However, nib of the pen is scratchy and does not provide for an enjoyable writing experience. I think I will stick to their ballpoint version and stay as far away from their fountain pen as possible...disappointing.
darrencurry
1 - 10 of 17 |  |