1 - 10 of 11 |  | 
This is a fine little...
December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase
This is a fine little pen! And when I say "little," I mean LITTLE. It's super tiny, but quite comfortable to write with when posted, at least for my smallish hands. The cap snaps securely onto the pen, and holds well when posted, also, so you don't need to worry about it flying off.

The only thing keeping this pen from getting full stars was that I had to carefully adjust how the feed and nib lined up before I started writing. Didn't take long, but I was worried I would break it, as this is my first foray into the fountain pen world.

It's a pity it won't take a converter (truly, even a mini-converter would be too long), but for now I'm liking the J. Herbin Perle Noire cartridge I have loaded in it.
1 person found this helpful
I love this pen! It writes...
April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase
I love this pen! It writes well, puts down a fairly fine line - not as fine as say, my Sailor, but it is a fraction of the price. It's design is very clever, compact is an understatement! It also seems to travel well. The body is metal, not plastic, and the finish and quality seem high. I'm not sure how the anodized? finish will stand up to long term use, but for now it's a very attractive and functional little object.
1 person found this helpful
Every so often I stumble...
October 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
Every so often I stumble onto a piece of industrial design which combines practicality and aesthetics in a way which is just plain admirable. The Ohto Rook is an example of that. Just a few simple pieces, it demonstrates how slick a simple design can be when the designers are creative with the details.

Practical: This pen is tiny when not in use, full length when posted, although slim. It is meant to be used in the real world. Made mostly of aluminum and plastic, it is not going to survive heavy abuse, but it will usually be hidden in a pocket where it doesn't get much of that. It's far from the cheapest pen in the world, but the price is not so high that it would break my heart to replace it; that is part of its practicality too. It uses International cartridges, so the range of inks available for it is the greatest of any cartridge pen.

Pretty: It is surprising how attractive this pen is when you have it posted. It looks sleek and elegant. Those slight swoopy curves make the cap post properly and shape the pen to improve the grip. Sometimes designers sacrifice function to make the product pretty; here, by making it pretty, they made it WORK. Art without remorse!

Some reviews say the point is scratchy; mine is not, very nice, very smooth. It writes a very fine line, though. Personally, I don't love ultra fine lines, but they use less ink. For a travel pen, using the limited ink capacity of an International cartridge, that is a plus.

The Kaweco Lilliput is another classic pocket pen. I have one in copper. To compare the two, the Kaweco is clearly better made. It is heavy and solid. It is clipless, a true trouser pocket pen, especially in the small leather pouch they also sell for it. It is a bit longer, closed, than the Ohto Rook is. In the Rook's favor, it looks more elegant in use, it costs a lot less, it has a clip (which keeps the thing from rolling off a table, even if you never choose to actually clip it to anything) and it is more convenient to use. This convenience arises because the Rook cap closes with a snap and posts with a simple push and friction fit, while the Lilliput screws together in both positions. The heavier, all metal, threaded Lilliput cap and body are the sturdier solution, but slower as well.

This is one little pen I am going to use a LOT.
Great little (EF) pen....
June 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great little (EF) pen. Small but is a fine writer.
Terrible pen. The nib...
March 31, 2015
Verified Purchase
Terrible pen. The nib was scratchy and would barely write
The pen is smaller than...
July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase
The pen is smaller than it looks in the pictures, which I didn't mind so much. What I did mind was that this 'fine nib' pen wrote way too thick. With a J Herbin Pensive Violet cartridge in the tank, it wrote much more what I would consider medium or even broad. It felt like I was writing with a 1.0mm pen, not a 'fine' nib. If you're looking for a compact pen in this price range, I would recommend the Kaweco Sport line over this in a heartbeat.
I wanted a pocket fountain...
May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
I wanted a pocket fountain pen and this has been great. Small and light, but comfortable in hand. The metal body is sturdy and holds up to whatever's in my pockets and the occasional drop. The clip is strong enough to hold the pen in place is my pants pocket. No issues with leaks or losing the cap. The pen has been a reliable writer from the start, no ink flow problems. Quickly becoming a favorite pen.
It wouldn't write for...
April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase
It wouldn't write for more than three minutes at a time. It looked nice, and I wanted it to write as well as it looked. The nib and feed would not adjust and of course, I had to put ink it to find this out. Pay attention to the reviews of these Ohto pens, people, if you get a good one ( About 1 out of 7, since I chased around and tallied reviews ) it is superb. If not, total rubbish. This company must have terrible quality control. Don't gamble, you can buy a whole handful of Pilot Petits for this much money.
I wanted a mini fountain...
October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase
I wanted a mini fountain pen, and this certainly fits the description. Capped, it's the same length as my Fisher Bullet Space Pen, and it's not much thicker. Posted, it's plenty long enough to write with, due to the extra long cap, although it feels a little thin. For now, I'll carry it in a shirt pocket, but could probably carry it in a pants pocket like the Fisher.

Writing quality was very poor at first, with little ink flow. After flushing it out, adjusting nib and feed, and finally spreading the tines slightly, it now writes well. So far I'm using a Monteverde red cartridge, which isn't the greatest ink in any case. I have other colors, and a cartridge can be refilled, using a syringe, with any ink you want. This pen isn't suitable for eyedropper conversion, and there's no converter I know of that would work.

After all the fiddling with nib and feed I had to do, this could have been three stars instead of four. The end result is an excellent little pen, with no defects in materials, and if you're lucky, you'll get one that works right away. On the other hand, you might have to tune it a bit.
I love this little pen!...
August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase
I love this little pen! It has a very smooth writing line, and when you post the cap, it's comfortable in the hand. I generally prefer broad nibs, but this one writes really nicely.
1 - 10 of 11 |  |