JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 3, 2012
somehow, i didn't notice...
Verified Purchase
somehow, i didn't notice the dime in the picture of this pen. It is a very nice looking pen, but a lot smaller than i expected. It is a little bit wider than a wooden pencil. That being said - i quite like it. It needs a bit of a tune up before use. The ink didn't flow very well out of the box, but after some tweeking it is now performing well.

6 people found this helpful
 
November 28, 2011
The look and size of...
Verified Purchase
The look and size of this pen is fantastic but loses its appeal as soon as it touches the paper. I am very disappointed in this pen. The ink flow was abysmal. The tip was very rigid and would scratch the paper. This is not a smooth pen at all. I feel like I wasted the money on this pen.

3 people found this helpful
 
November 2, 2011
Quite a nice pen. The...
Verified Purchase
Quite a nice pen. The design is excellent, and it writes well. The compact capped form is handy and fits in a pants pocket without trouble, and it fits the hand well when open. The barrel seemed a touch narrow when writing at first, but I adapted to it after only a few minutes of use. The aluminum construction is lightweight and lends itself to a light stroke on the page.

The nib takes a little 'warming up', that is it improves with use, but after a couple of weeks of light use I find it writes well. The pen has also survived a few inadvertent 'drop tests' with no mess, loss of functionality, or obvious damage. I'm glad I got this pen; it is well worth the cost.

3 people found this helpful
ealderson
 
May 17, 2011
My newly purchased Rook...
Verified Purchase
My newly purchased Rook is a really nice fountain pen: I fitted it with a Diamine Turquoise international cartridge and from the get-go, flow was optimal, it writes a nice, steady, and consistent line, and it\'s compact size is just what I was looking for. For the $, it\'s a good deal if you need a fp.

3 people found this helpful
f8ybethere2
 
April 29, 2011
Just received my tiny...
Verified Purchase
Just received my tiny Rook in the mail today. It is so cute. Once I figured out how to open it. . . it began writing instantly. It writes very smoothly for me. I love the look of this pen and its portable size.
The fine nib isn't as fine as other Japanese F pens (i.e. Hero) or even my Sheaffer 330. It's between a fine and medium western nib.

3 people found this helpful
 
February 21, 2014
I really love this pen....
Verified Purchase
I really love this pen. Super compact, fits in virtually any pocket. Nice, even ink flow, and the nib isn't scratchy at all. Overall, I'm really happy with this purchase.

c.coker27
 
December 30, 2013
Received this pen today...
Verified Purchase
Received this pen today and I absolutely love it, it is perfect! I also ordered refills and I am glad that I did as I am writing with this pen constantly.

jessijacobs1369
 
May 23, 2013
Cute *little* pen. I...
Verified Purchase
Cute *little* pen. I saw in reviews before buying this that the tiny size surprised some people (despite the ~18mm U.S. coin shown for comparison), but this is *precisely why* I bought this pen. Given how small (It's a bit like a cigarette that bulges at the ends.) and modestly-priced it is, it's quite comfortable to write with when the over-sized cap is posted. I like thin pens, and this is a bit *too* thin for me to use every day, but it's a great back-up pen to add to the every-day-carry pen case.

 
October 2, 2012
I love this little pen!...
Verified Purchase
I love this little pen! I love writing with fountain pens, but find the design of most of them to be lacking in elegance or imagination, especially for the price. This pen had a clever, functional, and beautiful design.

It is quite small, but writes comfortably in my largeish female hands. I emptied out the cartridge and filled the pen with J. Herbin Rouge Hematite, which is a perfect ink for this pen.

It's lightweight enough to clip to a shirt without dragging it down.

Most importantly, it writes beautifully, and right out of the box at that. I adore my Ohto Dude, but probably spent two hours adjusting the nib until it wrote well. This is smooth as silk.

distinctionjewelrycentral
 
May 7, 2012
I love this little pen. I...
Verified Purchase
I love this little pen.
I like to always keep something to write with in my purse or pocket, and this is so small that it's in no way a hassle. Not to mention it's even good if I'm not carrying a purse! This little guy fits in tiny girl-jean pockets, and can be clipped discreetly to a waist ribbon on a dress or tossed in a clutch purse. Not to mention it's fashionable so it can be pulled out in any occasion and will probably get some people asking where you got it, it's a cute conversation starter.

Writing-wise I don't have the same complaints as others. I did notice a more watery look to the ink when I first used it, but I always use a pen for a while to be sure it just doesn't need breaking in. It has served me well for a long time, never stuttering or skipping. I did notice, probably because of the fine nib, that some inks write lighter than expected, but it isn't a really big problem in my opinion, it's something I see in a few of my fine-nibbed pens.

April.hurtado