Page 1 of 2 |  | 
I love the design of...
April 22, 2011
Verified Purchase
I love the design of this pen!! The way it folds up is great, it looks phenomenal, and the thin, anodized feeling of the barrel is quite nice to hold onto when writing. The fine line it makes is perfect, with just the right flow to make a dark line, but doesn't bleed, and looks perfectly neat and tidy. It allows me to write small and compact, the way I like to.
4 people found this helpful
I love the aesthetic...
July 15, 2014
I love the aesthetic of this pen, its modern looks put all other entry-level pens to shame. Sadly, it sacrificed too much for that compact look. The cap is hard to pull out with one hand ( to be fair, no FP can be pull out with just one hand without dropping the cap, except the Pilot Capless because, duh, cap-less) but its snap-in mechanism make this even harder when you only has a fifth of the body to hold on. And while my nib isnt blotting or having any horrible things other reviewers complain about, it does give out uneven inkflow. Some sources said Ohto outsource their nibs to China. I cant verify the validity of this claim and i suggest you take it with an grain of salt as well. But judged from others review, a poor quality control is very likely for this line of pen. A shame.
2 people found this helpful
yatatsuthanhlong
LOVE THE PEN. It is true...
June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase
LOVE THE PEN. It is true that at the beginning, I was disappointed with the nib because it was scratchy and rough. However, it's been 5 days since I got my Ohto Rook Fountain Pen and I've been using it ever since. Either I got so use to writing with it, or because it is not as new anymore, I do not feel the scratchiness when I write! In fact, I am completely in love with this pen and I will use it forever!! The Ohto Rook Fountain Pen is my FAVORITE so far :D
2 people found this helpful
yiuJasper
Like other reviewers...
April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
Like other reviewers have mentioned, this pen looks great and is very reliable. Mine has never required priming ever. The thing to remember is its a novalty pen designed to be placed in a purse or used with a cheque book. It's too light and thin for hours of writing. That being said, it works great for addressing mail, writing cheques, signing documents etc...

I tried using a kaweco sport converter in this pen and it didn't fit. It truly is a cartridge fill only. I have been using J. Herbin ink with great success.

Another point that surprised me about this pen is everything's metal. It's so light that I figured the barrel had to be plastic, but scratching it proved otherwise.

1 person found this helpful
uprootedtraveler
I so want to love this...
May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase
I so want to love this pen, but after using it for several weeks, I've got to give it a thumbs down. With small hands, I actually like the tiny size, and it's lovely to look at. I find it somewhat difficult to open, and also hard to keep the top in place when the pen is in use; it seems to want to slide off, and if I stick it on firmly, I usually end up partially unscrewing the top of the pen when I try to pull off the top after use.

But the real problem is the nib, which works poorly even after weeks of use. It's uneven, it's blobby, I get spots with virtually no ink at all and others that are much thicker than fine--and that's just in one 3/4-inch downward stroke. The only way I can get even a decent result is to push down hard, which yields a fat line of text and makes my hand hurt--hardly what I'm after in a fountain pen with a fine nib. Compared to my other "entry-level" pen, a Kaweco Sport, this one just doesn't compare.
1 person found this helpful
Like others reviewing...
January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase
Like others reviewing here, I purchased the Rook for its looks. Five stars in that category for the brushed metal, and contemporary design…I have had a number of people comment on the Rook when I am writing with it.

The Rook is tiny, not that I was surprised. Unposted, it is impossible to write with; like writing with a pencil stub. Posting the cap makes it usable. Initially I had a hard time inking it up and the ink flow, once it started, was inconsistent. After a short break in, these problems disappeared. The nib is German, writes smoothly, and lays down what looks more like a medium line than a fine one.

Overall, the Ohto Rook is a better than average pen, and for the price, perhaps should be considered a very good pen.
1 person found this helpful
jcfree4526
I had been looking for...
December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
I had been looking for an inexpensive fountain pen that I could carry around in my shirt pocket and the Ohto Rook has proved to be ideal. When posted, it is a perfect length and feels very comfortable in the hand. My pen wrote smoothly from the moment it arrived and the ink flow is very good, with no skipping. While a converter won't fit in the pen, it does take inexpensive short international cartridges. This has the advantage of being able to carry an extra cartridge in a pocket or handbag should the pen run out of ink when one is away from home or office. The aluminum and orange color makes for a striking look and design.

This is no posh pen but an inexpensive workhorse that happens to look fantastic. It is just what I wanted as an everyday writer when away from home.
1 person found this helpful
The pen design is simply...
June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
The pen design is simply GORGEOUS. I love it's aluminum body and I love its beautiful orange color and I love its ability to fold into a nice convenient tube. This was exactly what convinced me to purchase it in the first place. I feel that it is a great pity, but compared to the fountain pens created by kaweco, the ohto rook fountain pen is very rough and inflexible to write with. I really hoped I would fall in love with it, but I am very disappointed...
2 people found this helpful
yiuJasper
This is a great little...
April 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is a great little pen. It writes extremely well and with a nice fine line. It is really small when capped and fits nicely into my shirt pocket. Once capped it becomes a full-sized pen that is easy to grip and use. I mostly use this pen for writing quick notes when on the go. During the two or three times that I used it to write a full letter, I found the grip area to be a little slippery and the small size of the pen difficult to hold on to with my fat fingers. While not enough to knock off any stars, I also find the pen difficult to uncap. You really have to give it a tug before it opens. The cap also spins which is a little annoying.

All said, the look and use of this pen is wonderful. For the price I would suggest it over other cheaper fountain pens.
i like compact ...
March 24, 2015
Verified Purchase
i like compact
Page 1 of 2 |  |