My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.7 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I love the design of..., April 22, 2011
By mhawel
I love the design of this pen!! The way it folds up is great, it looks phenomenal, and the thin, anodized feeling of the barrel is quite nice to hold onto when writing. The fine line it makes is perfect, with just the right flow to make a dark line, but doesn't bleed, and looks perfectly neat and tidy. It allows me to write small and compact, the way I like to.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  LOVE THE PEN. It is true..., June 19, 2011
By yiu...
LOVE THE PEN. It is true that at the beginning, I was disappointed with the nib because it was scratchy and rough. However, it's been 5 days since I got my Ohto Rook Fountain Pen and I've been using it ever since. Either I got so use to writing with it, or because it is not as new anymore, I do not feel the scratchiness when I write! In fact, I am completely in love with this pen and I will use it forever!! The Ohto Rook Fountain Pen is my FAVORITE so far :D
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I so want to love this..., May 8, 2012
By spu...
I so want to love this pen, but after using it for several weeks, I've got to give it a thumbs down. With small hands, I actually like the tiny size, and it's lovely to look at. I find it somewhat difficult to open, and also hard to keep the top in place when the pen is in use; it seems to want to slide off, and if I stick it on firmly, I usually end up partially unscrewing the top of the pen when I try to pull off the top after use.

But the real problem is the nib, which works poorly even after weeks of use. It's uneven, it's blobby, I get spots with virtually no ink at all and others that are much thicker than fine--and that's just in one 3/4-inch downward stroke. The only way I can get even a decent result is to push down hard, which yields a fat line of text and makes my hand hurt--hardly what I'm after in a fountain pen with a fine nib. Compared to my other "entry-level" pen, a Kaweco Sport, this one just doesn't compare.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I had been looking for..., December 3, 2011
By fre...
I had been looking for an inexpensive fountain pen that I could carry around in my shirt pocket and the Ohto Rook has proved to be ideal. When posted, it is a perfect length and feels very comfortable in the hand. My pen wrote smoothly from the moment it arrived and the ink flow is very good, with no skipping. While a converter won't fit in the pen, it does take inexpensive short international cartridges. This has the advantage of being able to carry an extra cartridge in a pocket or handbag should the pen run out of ink when one is away from home or office. The aluminum and orange color makes for a striking look and design.

This is no posh pen but an inexpensive workhorse that happens to look fantastic. It is just what I wanted as an everyday writer when away from home.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The pen design is simply..., June 16, 2011
By yiu...
The pen design is simply GORGEOUS. I love it's aluminum body and I love its beautiful orange color and I love its ability to fold into a nice convenient tube. This was exactly what convinced me to purchase it in the first place. I feel that it is a great pity, but compared to the fountain pens created by kaweco, the ohto rook fountain pen is very rough and inflexible to write with. I really hoped I would fall in love with it, but I am very disappointed...
  Plusses for compacts..., August 15, 2014
By jer...
Plusses for compacts size, good flow, smooth nib. Minus is cap holds hard to the inner collar that retains the closed position. Have to pull too hard to release.
  I love the aesthetic..., July 15, 2014
I love the aesthetic of this pen, its modern looks put all other entry-level pens to shame. Sadly, it sacrificed too much for that compact look. The cap is hard to pull out with one hand ( to be fair, no FP can be pull out with just one hand without dropping the cap, except the Pilot Capless because, duh, cap-less) but its snap-in mechanism make this even harder when you only has a fifth of the body to hold on. And while my nib isnt blotting or having any horrible things other reviewers complain about, it does give out uneven inkflow. Some sources said Ohto outsource their nibs to China. I cant verify the validity of this claim and i suggest you take it with an grain of salt as well. But judged from others review, a poor quality control is very likely for this line of pen. A shame.
  What a NEAT little pen!..., May 31, 2014
What a NEAT little pen! It is perfect for my front pocket, just wished that the nibs came in something other than just Fine! And the price is a pretty stiff tag for such a small pen! A smaller amount would be more appropriate. But all in all I really LIKE this pen and would buy another of a different color. The 1st one I choose is Silver with Orange.......Just my two cents!
  Like other reviewers..., April 15, 2014
Like other reviewers have mentioned, this pen looks great and is very reliable. Mine has never required priming ever. The thing to remember is its a novalty pen designed to be placed in a purse or used with a cheque book. It's too light and thin for hours of writing. That being said, it works great for addressing mail, writing cheques, signing documents etc...

I tried using a kaweco sport converter in this pen and it didn't fit. It truly is a cartridge fill only. I have been using J. Herbin ink with great success.

Another point that surprised me about this pen is everything's metal. It's so light that I figured the barrel had to be plastic, but scratching it proved otherwise.

  This pen is one of the..., December 21, 2013
By m.rind
This pen is one of the most reliable starters that I own. I keep in a bag where it sits unused for days at a time, yet it has never failed to start writing as soon as I applied the point to a page. To be sure, this is not a pen that you would want to use for extended writing: it is much too thin for that, and, while posting the cap gives it sufficient length, the cap posts in a less than perfectly secure manner, so that it doesn't rest firmly in the web of one's hand. Also, the nib was terribly scratchy. (I have made it tolerable by smoothing it with Micromesh.) But the design is just spiffing, and there is more than a little pleasure to be had just in uncapping, posting, and recapping it.

In sum, if you want a pen that is very compact and that will start infallibly, this one can be highly recommended.
  Small stature but big..., April 26, 2013
Small stature but big on style. This is one of those odd little things that you run across, don't spend too much money on, that works about as well as you would expect. It is a small pen, and when it arrived, at first I didn't remember what I had ordered that was so damn small! But, it works. If you want a great writing pen, go with a Sailor or Pilot. If you want something that no one else has, or has seen, go with this one. It writes okay, albeit not perfectly, and the fine nib is much like an extra fine nib from other manufacturers.

4 out of 5 stars, as it needs to write better to get the 5th star.
  First Fountain Pen In..., October 7, 2012
By phi...
First Fountain Pen In 25 Years.
The first thing I did with this pen was to write on the ceiling while locating studs to hang shelving.
The second thing I did was chase my cousin around her house trying to get the pen back!
I carry this pen in my pocket and compare it to the Fisher Space Pen I also carry. So far, each have their pro's and con's, but the Ohto Rook Fountain Pen is a lot more fun to pull out and show off! Everyone is interested in the thing the minute they see it and after they find out it's a fountain pen they are amazed and want to play with it.
I don't write books. I keep only the sparsest personal log. I have lousy hand writing. This fountain pen makes it more fun to write, perhaps I will write more just for having the Otho Rook fountain Pen!
  From the moment I received..., February 13, 2012
By ric...
From the moment I received this pen, I was shocked. I didn't expect the pen to be smaller than what I actually thought it would be. I like writing with the cap on even though I have small hands. When writing with the pen, I actually get to write how quickly I want to, From slow to fast, this pen has a good consistent flow of ink. No matter how fast I write, the ink flow keeps on coming. Ever since I have been taking it to school for class, I have been using this pen. My friends really love the pen a lot. When my friend dropped the pen on accident, I was surprised that there was no visible scratches or marks on it. This is one of the best pens ever in my opinion.
  Like others reviewing..., January 27, 2012
Like others reviewing here, I purchased the Rook for its looks. Five stars in that category for the brushed metal, and contemporary design…I have had a number of people comment on the Rook when I am writing with it.

The Rook is tiny, not that I was surprised. Unposted, it is impossible to write with; like writing with a pencil stub. Posting the cap makes it usable. Initially I had a hard time inking it up and the ink flow, once it started, was inconsistent. After a short break in, these problems disappeared. The nib is German, writes smoothly, and lays down what looks more like a medium line than a fine one.

Overall, the Ohto Rook is a better than average pen, and for the price, perhaps should be considered a very good pen.
1 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I've spent money on fountain..., September 21, 2012
I've spent money on fountain pens for the last 15 years from 5$ to 90$ and every one of them fails so often that I've thrown them away. I used to keep a cup of water on my desk. I would have to dip the nib in the water to get it writing. Got this one today, it wrote my name and a few other things and failed. So this could be called the 15 minute pen. This thing couldn't cost more than that dime laying next to it in the picture to manufacture. Lower the price and send me a refund, minus the dime.