JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.5 (35 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 24, 2012
I actually bought two...
Verified Purchase
I actually bought two of these pencils, a first and a second generation. I liked the feel of the first generation, its heft, and all the adjustability so for a time I was willing to overlook the fact that it kept breakng the lead inside the shaft. After a time I had my fill. I figured it might be just my particular unit so i bought a second and now this one will not advance the lead and makes a crunching sound where there shoud be a crisp click. I am very disappointed with the quality of these pencils. To give you an idea of how disappointed I am I will tell you that this is the first internet review I have ever written. Be warned.

12 people found this helpful
 
September 2, 2010
This pencil is terrible....
Verified Purchase
This pencil is terrible. OHTO ought to be embarassed to sell this pencil at this price. The quality is horrendous. The lead breaks inside the pencil when adjusting the feed mechanism. Half of the grip is smooth, the other half is rough and nicley knurled like it is supposed to. How did this one ever make it past quality control, I have no idea. But buying this pencil was a great way to prevent me from ever buying another OOHTO product ever again.

10 people found this helpful
KrazieF00
 
May 31, 2012
Whatever you do, do NOT...
Verified Purchase
Whatever you do, do NOT buy this "pencil" I agree with most of the other reviews in saying that this thing feels like it was made of aluminum foil. I dropped this pencil once and the guide pipe bent, the eraser cap broke off, and the whole was bosy was disfigured and bent. It is incredibly easy to bend this pencil.

Even though it looks really cool, it's absolutely NOT worth the money.

7 people found this helpful
unbiasedstone
 
April 22, 2011
Bought this pencil a...
Verified Purchase
Bought this pencil a couple of months ago. I was interested in it because of the adjustable feed and guide-tube and the hefty looking knurled grip. What I discovered after using it for a while is that it is rather poorly built. There is a significant lack of material holding the grip end of the pencil to the back end. I put the pencil in my pocket and sat down to later discover that it had bent. It bent back easily enough though. The guide-tube also became bent after a fall from my desk. And finally, in order to use the eraser, you must remove the eraser cap and replace it. This is not ever an issue with other pencils, but with the Super Promecha, replacing the eraser cap often results in inadvertently advancing the lead.

Very cool looking, but not a very good pencil.

5 people found this helpful
 
March 26, 2011
Do not buy. Don't...
Verified Purchase
Do not buy.

Don't get be wrong, the drafting pencil write wells, the only problem is that it is poorly built.

The adjustable portion to adjust the lead length SIGNIFICANTLY takes away from the durability of the pencil. My pencil has bent right above the knob to adjust the lead length (the odd little notch above the pencil grip).

Other than that rather significant problem, it works well and it well build - I would strongly suggest saving the few extra dollars and buying the ProMecha 1000P instead - you might not be able to adjust the lead length, but because of that it probably won't snap in half ...

5 people found this helpful
 
January 9, 2014
Just got it today. I...
Just got it today. I don't see how others view this pencil as unreliable or poorly built. Then again, I have had little to no experience with it. Perhaps over time, the various problems will appear and I will end up being disappointed with my purchase.

For first impressions, this pencil is front heavy, which I like. The adjustability features are nice, but they are not really great or even necessary. However, they are what make this pencil so unique. The retractable tip mechanism is cumbersome, since each time it is used or being put away, the grip has to be twisted several times, quite carefully to avoid breaking anything.

The overall build quality is okay. I don't think it's as sturdy as some of my other pencils and it is especially thin at the lead advance adjustment feature. If you get this pencil, be sure to be really careful with it, especially when carrying it. Don't drop it (from any height) and don't toss this in a bag. Put it in a good case.

I guess I'll just have to wait and see if the Super Promecha can hold up to its price (the most expensive I have so far) or if the build quality is really as poor as people say.

2 people found this helpful
brandon.chan77
 
July 23, 2014
People are way too hard...
People are way too hard in their reviews of this pencil.

The Super Promecha 1500P does indeed have its issues, no doubt about it. Under the exterior - which looks like a fine engineering tool - lie some sloppy tolerances that place this pencil at odds with itself. Starting at the top, there is a little label adhered under the indicator that was aligned crookedly on mine, so the lead grades appear misaligned in the window. The cap does not fit as tightly as it ought to, resulting in a rattle when you write. The knurled part of the barrel, used to retract and adjust the length of the feed pipe, does not seem to be threaded too well internally, making for an ever-so slightly loose feel.

It is nonetheless a wonderful pencil. It is a beautifully designed object, it writes well, and I haven't been experiencing any of the feed or breakage problems people describe. I like it a lot, and am even finding myself using it over a Rotring 600 - though if I had to choose, the Rotring would certainly win. I imagine the designers at Ohto aren't too pleased with the manufacturing end, to which the cut corners that make this pen give up a star in its rating are due.

 
July 15, 2014
My led brakes inside...
My led brakes inside the pencil so I get small uses before I have to click it a million time to get led out.

thorshammer10129
 
March 5, 2014
The tip bent when I dropped...
The tip bent when I dropped it.

jraven2000
 
May 8, 2013
The weight and build...
The weight and build quality of this pencil is fairly good, but not the best. The lead sleeve isn't as snug as, say, a Pentel and it's not as solid as the Rotring pencils, but on par with the price.

The biggest concern I have is that Ohto decided to revise the entire pencil apparently without notifying anyone. If you bought this pencil back at the end of 2012, you may have one of the "older" models with a more pronounced knurled grip and chalkier finish.

The latest iteration of these pencils have a super smooth and noticably shiner aluminum finish, rounded corners on the adjustment window near the middle of the pencil and most importantly - the knurled grip is no longer a knurled grip in functionality, but only in looks. It's as though they missed a step in the manufacturing process and didn't create a 3d surface in the knurling part. It's basically just a smooth aluminum surface with channels or grooves cut where there should be knurling. The end result is a grip that is very slippery and quite honestly not on par with the previous version of this pencil.

Can't recommend it anymore, even though it used to be a really nice pencil. If they fix the grip, it'll be fantastic again.

charlestonjohnebay