My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.5 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Perhaps I am luckier..., March 18, 2011
By nsa...
Perhaps I am luckier than others here...but it works really well and smooth first time I tried it! I was prepared to work on tines of the nib to get the flow going (as mentioned somewhere else on internet) but this is great instrument! Like the metal build and look. fine nib is fine like everything else out there....although not as fine as my Pilot VP
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I own this pen and consider..., February 22, 2010
I own this pen and consider it average, but there are better alternatives--especially if you can spend more. Although 1/3 longer, the Pilot Capless "decimo" pen is far superior with an exceptionally well-made iridium-alloy tipped 18K rhodium-plated gold nib. Also, Pilot's Stella 90s is a great, little pen that is, unfortunately, ignored.
Please note that on the OHTO Tasche and other OHTO fountain pens, the steel "iridium point Germany" nib is actually made in China and quality control isn't the best. Just because it says "Germany" does not mean that it is "Made in Germany." This fact has been documented by the famous pen repair and nib expert Richard Binder in a recent issue of Stylus magazine.
BTW, there is, in fact, a very short International-sized converter that probably fits the Tasche although using one defeats the pen's 'portable' design. I believe isellpens.com may carry the correct converter.
  For a long time, this..., November 19, 2011
For a long time, this was my favorite fountain pen. The design is gorgeous and slick, with a small size, well-engineered. My first one wrote great for a year or so; I refilled the cartridges with Noodler's Nightshade ink. There was a bit of nib creep, but I really don't care as it doesn't seem to affect writing at all.

I bought a second one, and from the outset it was scratchy and barely wrote 75% of the time... really frustrating. Then my first one quit - I opened it one day and it leaked all over the place, and never wrote the same afterwards. Very sad; I'll probably try to resuscitate it eventually, 'cos I love these things.
  If the definition of..., January 20, 2011
If the definition of a pen is to write with ink, then the Ohto Tasche is not a pen.

After a week of trying to get this pen to write a line, I gave up. Although ink does flow (erratically, at best), the only way I could get this pen to write is by applying lots of pressure, making the nib dig into the pager. This was even more uncomfortable than using a cheap bic ball point. I tested this pen with the Ohto black and blue-black cartridges on various paper types and qualities (from 100g printer paper to japanese notebooks) with the same crappy results.

I also bought the Ohto Fine fountain pen at the same time, and had the same problems (although, the Fine was even worse!).

Maybe I'm a poor fool that received two unusable Ohto pens at the same time. Sorry, never buying Ohto again.
  The look of the pen is..., January 12, 2011
The look of the pen is great and I like that it closes to such a small size. But the writing is not too great. The ink flows slowly so that it lays on thin on the paper and even falls behind if I write too fast. I even tried it with different brand of ink and it still was the same problem. Then after a couple weeks of moderate use the ink started leaking at the top of the nib. Thus, though it looks nice, I'm not happy with it since it leaks and doesn't write well.
  I might have had just..., January 31, 2010
I might have had just a bad unit, but

This pen LEAKS INK BADLY - ink seeps through the side of the nib as well as terrible nib creep near the breather-hole.

The nib is extremely scratchy - writing with it is torture.
  Unfortunately, this pen..., December 10, 2009
Unfortunately, this pen leaked like a sieve from the get-go. Left it sitting for the ink to filter into the nib, and it leaked all into the cap. Setting the back of the nib against any porous surface wicked the ink right out. Not sure if it's a design flaw or if I just got a dud. It's sad, since it has a nice look, smooth-writing nib, and even their "medium" nib was fine for writing.
  I absolutely love the..., November 13, 2009
I absolutely love the look and feel of this pen. It's easy to carry around, but extends to a full-sized pen when writing. Haven't had any problems with ink flow and it is quite comfortable even after continuous writing. The ink it comes with isn't the greatest, but I'm looking into other inks to fill it with when it empties. Too there aren't any converters that would fit in it.
  First off.. The design..., October 10, 2009
First off.. The design is absolutely beautiful =).. Probably one of the best looking fountain pen out of the thousands I looked at before buying it as my first fountain pen. When I first started writing, I noticed it was very scratchy.. I recalled that a user's review suggested to try fixing the tines so I tried it, and the scatchiness was gone =D. Then the next problem was that the lines it produced weren't as smooth as I wanted them to be so I spent time writing 3 pages of random text to try to "break it in." After I've done so, I notice the lines were a lot smoother. Overall its a very nice pen with some quirks but given the time it writes very nicely, so much that even a fountain pen beginner can tell. Oh.. note: I replaced the blue ink that came in the cartridge with Noodler's Red Black immediately. It's a beautiful color that, IMO, goes well with this pen =). The cartridge is quite small though.. I don't think it would be a smart idea to use a converter even if you find one. Just take a syringe and needle and fill it with ink. Works nicely =).
  can you put a converter..., May 28, 2009
can you put a converter on these? If so, which converter fits the best???
  I would agree with "greatdaysa..., January 4, 2009
I would agree with "greatdaysautoworks" for the most part. It is well designed & constructed, comfortable to write with, sleek & attractive, etc. I love the size that it break up & down into.

This is my first experience with refillable fountain pens, but it has been relatively good thus far. I have read other reviews of different fountains pens, and I hear the reviewers talking about a nib being scratchy or smooth. I sense that this nib is a bit scratchy depending on stroke direction & angle at which it is held to paper.

But I am over quite satisfied!
  This little puppy has..., February 23, 2008
This little puppy has become a cherished gem. I have one "on me" at all times now, i have one in my laptop case, one in my "man bag", and one on my desk---because i want one available at any and all times. It's just one of those "why didn't someone think of this sooner" items, and this one is machined like a fine watch. It actually writes well, to boot. I don't get gushy about many things, but this pen makes me grin.