JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.7 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 17, 2009
Having read the older...
Verified Purchase
Having read the older reviews about poor writing ability, I felt compelled to write a more recent review stating I find the Ohto Tasche writing ability to be excellent.

Using the default Ohto ink cartridge I find this pen puts down a fine line, about the same as the Ohto F-Spirit. I suspect that when the Ohto cartridge runs out and I replace the ink in it with Noodler's Black, it may write a slightly thicker line, but, I anticipate it'll be just like the Ohto F-Spirit in this regard.

Given how inexpensive this fountain pen is, it's a great deal. No idea if its steel nib maybe more prone to damage if too much pressure is applied to it, but, over the last three weeks, it's writing just fine for me.

My only regret about this pen is that it won't take an ink converter. I'm going to have to resort to using a syringe to refill a used cartridge when I want to use bottled ink. However, I do find that the Ohto black ink is fine (aside from lack of water proof qualities). For the price and the size, that's a small price to pay.

3 people found this helpful
mvillar24
 
May 5, 2012
I have 8 fountain pens,...
Verified Purchase
I have 8 fountain pens, and this is my favorite. I had some trouble with dry ink flow, so I flossed the tines of the nib with nylon thread I had from quilting. It wrote very nicely then, with an even flow. Then I switched from Noodler's Blue to Aurora Black ink. Now it writes like my friend's expensive Waterman, just wet enough and very, very smooth.

I love the cobalt blue color and the silver barrel, and the pen's overall design is very attractive. I like how compact it is. I wish it could use a converter, but that's a tradeoff in a pen this compact.

1 person found this helpful
 
April 4, 2012
I bought this pen a couple...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen a couple of years ago and have been very satisfied with it. The nib is smooth and lays down a fairly wet, fine-medium line, unlike many Japanese pens which tend to run to extra-fine. I used it in my planner/notebook and it never failed to write when needed. It was also beautifully made, and the cap slid smoothly and snugly over the barrel. It exudes quality. I refilled the cartridge with Waterman or Noodlers ink and never had a problem with flow.

My only caveat is that, because it's a mini pen, the barrel is narrow. But, it fits where others don't.

I'd happily buy it again and recommend it highly.

1 person found this helpful
ikeharaw001
 
August 14, 2013
I just recently got this...
Verified Purchase
I just recently got this pen, and I love it!
It looks beautiful, it writes beautiful, a little thick for my tastes, but, it writes like butter.
*WARNING* You -might- have to do a little bit of work on the nib.

jaycpennies
 
May 8, 2012
Loved the pen from the...
Verified Purchase
Loved the pen from the start. I wanted a small pen for my everyday carry and preferred something I would like and care for (so as not to lose it). It was my first fountain pen and so there was a learning curve, I couldnt write w it for a while and then discover i had accidentally bent one of the nibs but then simply bent it back and has been working like a watch ever since. My one drawback is that as part of my everyday carry it has been clipped to my pocket every day and after 8 months the clip has slightly bent out so that it slips out a bit every now and again when i sit down.

sidneycarrasco7
 
April 19, 2012
I didn't actually buy...
I didn't actually buy this pen from jetpens, (because its been sold out forever) but this is a GREAT pen! I bought some blue kaweco ink and writing with it is a pleasure. Pros: Looks great, Compact, Good nib design, Easy to refill, Writes very well. My only con with this pen is that the cap is a little loose when posted and is easily removed or span around. other than that, Great pen! Highly recommend it.

nikolas.kovack
 
April 27, 2011
I've had an Ohto Tasche...
Verified Purchase
I've had an Ohto Tasche fountain pen for a couple of years (from JetPens) and found it to be a reliable writer. It runs a little wet with the inks I usually use, which is fine by me. Instead of the extra-fine line one usually gets from most Japanese fine nibs, mine tends to write a little more like a medium, which I like. I used it in my notebook and it was always a reliable writer. Never had the skipping problems some others mentioned. When I uncapped it, even after days of non-use, it would start up every time. It's collapsed size makes it great for use in planners or small notebooks.

The only drawback for me is that it uses a short international cartridge because of its compact size, which means it has to be refilled fairly frequently, and can't take a converter. Other than that, it's a well-made, good performing pen in a super compact size.

I'd recommend it and buy it again.

ikeharaw001
 
September 1, 2010
Don't buy this pen (or...
Verified Purchase
Don't buy this pen (or any of the other colors of this pen). I've been reading other blog sites, and apparently, the ink delivery is either too much, or, as in my case, too little or none. Skipping seems to be a universal complaint.

I can't get this pen to write unless I press really hard, and write really slowly.

I'm very sorry I bought it. Would like to return it, if possible.

iregister1
 
August 20, 2007
Well I was wrong. Don't...
Well I was wrong.

Don't waste your cash on this pen. I absolutely LOVE the style, weight, size, feel... Heck I even like the way the nib looks. The only problem is this is one of the worst writing pens I have ever experienced. It lays down about a gallon of ink per stroke, which could be delt with by using watercolor paper I suppose, if it wasn't for the fact that it DOES NOT lay down even strokes... You would think that with this much ink going down you would have continuous lines. NOPE. What you get many times is a gap (read as NO INK) at the beginning and sometimes during strokes...

For those of you suckers (like myself) that love everything about this pen (except its writing ability!), I have found that if you write with the nib upside down (meaning that instead of writing normally with the metal part of the nib up and visible, write with the metal part of the nib facing the paper) you can get some of the gapping to stop... it also seems to quench SOME of the copious inkflow, so it is sortof possible to use standard higher quality paper... you will still need to allow time for drying... DON'T expect to be able to write a note quickly and stuff the paper in your pocket... that is unless:

a) you can read smear-glish, smear-ean, or smear-anese
b) you are wearing clothes that match/or are a complementary color of your ink choice

save your cash and buy a bunch of Pilot Petit1 pens... they are wonderful, but a lot thicker barreled than this pen...
The nib however is much thinner and is quite nice to write with... If this Ohto pen had a nib like the Petit1 it would be the PERFECT pen (for me)...

entropic23
 
August 3, 2007
Wow... this pen is cool! It...
Wow... this pen is cool!

It has a very well made metal body, beautiful all around. Perfect size/thickness for a pocket pen. The nib is thicker than I expected... i guess i was expecting something very thin like the Pilot petit1.

HOWEVER, when i first got the pen i noticed the same writing problems the other reviewers noted... I wasn't too happy about it... also the Ohto ink is pretty bad and uneven. The pen, for me, was unusable as it shipped to me (it's an ink problem as I detail below).

The good news is that I emptied & cleaned out a cartridge, cleaned all ink out of the pen, refilled the cartridge with Noodler's BlueBlack bulletproof ink, and VOILA! writes as smooth as a babies bum!

I must add that it no longer gaps and quits like with the OEM ink, but it still is a bit uneven in laying down ink... not a big deal really... I'm just stoked that a pen this cool and pocketable is usable again just by adding a different ink (which is an ink I prefer anyway)!!

So go ahead and do yourself a favor and buy one as long as you are willing to get rid of the Ohto inks!

entropic23