Page 1 of 2 |  | 
Having read the older...
January 17, 2009
Verified Purchase
Having read the older reviews about poor writing ability, I felt compelled to write a more recent review stating I find the Ohto Tasche writing ability to be excellent.

Using the default Ohto ink cartridge I find this pen puts down a fine line, about the same as the Ohto F-Spirit. I suspect that when the Ohto cartridge runs out and I replace the ink in it with Noodler's Black, it may write a slightly thicker line, but, I anticipate it'll be just like the Ohto F-Spirit in this regard.

Given how inexpensive this fountain pen is, it's a great deal. No idea if its steel nib maybe more prone to damage if too much pressure is applied to it, but, over the last three weeks, it's writing just fine for me.

My only regret about this pen is that it won't take an ink converter. I'm going to have to resort to using a syringe to refill a used cartridge when I want to use bottled ink. However, I do find that the Ohto black ink is fine (aside from lack of water proof qualities). For the price and the size, that's a small price to pay.
3 people found this helpful
mvillar24
I have 8 fountain pens,...
May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase
I have 8 fountain pens, and this is my favorite. I had some trouble with dry ink flow, so I flossed the tines of the nib with nylon thread I had from quilting. It wrote very nicely then, with an even flow. Then I switched from Noodler's Blue to Aurora Black ink. Now it writes like my friend's expensive Waterman, just wet enough and very, very smooth.

I love the cobalt blue color and the silver barrel, and the pen's overall design is very attractive. I like how compact it is. I wish it could use a converter, but that's a tradeoff in a pen this compact.
2 people found this helpful
I bought this pen a couple...
April 4, 2012
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen a couple of years ago and have been very satisfied with it. The nib is smooth and lays down a fairly wet, fine-medium line, unlike many Japanese pens which tend to run to extra-fine. I used it in my planner/notebook and it never failed to write when needed. It was also beautifully made, and the cap slid smoothly and snugly over the barrel. It exudes quality. I refilled the cartridge with Waterman or Noodlers ink and never had a problem with flow.

My only caveat is that, because it's a mini pen, the barrel is narrow. But, it fits where others don't.

I'd happily buy it again and recommend it highly.
1 person found this helpful
ikeharaw001
I love this pen! I've...
February 7, 2015
Verified Purchase
I love this pen! I've got an Ohto Rook, which is of similar size and design, but this one has a more solid feel and superior functionality. The cap fits into its posting position in a very snug and secure fashion, so that it can't wobble when you are writing with the pen (as can happen with the Rook), though it is also easy enough to remove from the tail and replace on the nib end. The nib is a bit scratchy, but, in a pen at this price, I have no complaint on that account. I don't think that there is a better miniature fountain pen priced below $50.
I just recently got this...
August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase
I just recently got this pen, and I love it!
It looks beautiful, it writes beautiful, a little thick for my tastes, but, it writes like butter.
*WARNING* You -might- have to do a little bit of work on the nib.
jaycpennies
Loved the pen from the...
May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase
Loved the pen from the start. I wanted a small pen for my everyday carry and preferred something I would like and care for (so as not to lose it). It was my first fountain pen and so there was a learning curve, I couldnt write w it for a while and then discover i had accidentally bent one of the nibs but then simply bent it back and has been working like a watch ever since. My one drawback is that as part of my everyday carry it has been clipped to my pocket every day and after 8 months the clip has slightly bent out so that it slips out a bit every now and again when i sit down.
sidneycarrasco7
I didn't actually buy...
April 19, 2012
I didn't actually buy this pen from jetpens, (because its been sold out forever) but this is a GREAT pen! I bought some blue kaweco ink and writing with it is a pleasure. Pros: Looks great, Compact, Good nib design, Easy to refill, Writes very well. My only con with this pen is that the cap is a little loose when posted and is easily removed or span around. other than that, Great pen! Highly recommend it.
nikolas.kovack
I've had an Ohto Tasche...
April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase
I've had an Ohto Tasche fountain pen for a couple of years (from JetPens) and found it to be a reliable writer. It runs a little wet with the inks I usually use, which is fine by me. Instead of the extra-fine line one usually gets from most Japanese fine nibs, mine tends to write a little more like a medium, which I like. I used it in my notebook and it was always a reliable writer. Never had the skipping problems some others mentioned. When I uncapped it, even after days of non-use, it would start up every time. It's collapsed size makes it great for use in planners or small notebooks.

The only drawback for me is that it uses a short international cartridge because of its compact size, which means it has to be refilled fairly frequently, and can't take a converter. Other than that, it's a well-made, good performing pen in a super compact size.

I'd recommend it and buy it again.
ikeharaw001
Don't buy this pen (or...
September 1, 2010
Verified Purchase
Don't buy this pen (or any of the other colors of this pen). I've been reading other blog sites, and apparently, the ink delivery is either too much, or, as in my case, too little or none. Skipping seems to be a universal complaint.

I can't get this pen to write unless I press really hard, and write really slowly.

I'm very sorry I bought it. Would like to return it, if possible.
iregister1
Well I was wrong. Don't...
August 20, 2007
Well I was wrong.

Don't waste your cash on this pen. I absolutely LOVE the style, weight, size, feel... Heck I even like the way the nib looks. The only problem is this is one of the worst writing pens I have ever experienced. It lays down about a gallon of ink per stroke, which could be delt with by using watercolor paper I suppose, if it wasn't for the fact that it DOES NOT lay down even strokes... You would think that with this much ink going down you would have continuous lines. NOPE. What you get many times is a gap (read as NO INK) at the beginning and sometimes during strokes...

For those of you suckers (like myself) that love everything about this pen (except its writing ability!), I have found that if you write with the nib upside down (meaning that instead of writing normally with the metal part of the nib up and visible, write with the metal part of the nib facing the paper) you can get some of the gapping to stop... it also seems to quench SOME of the copious inkflow, so it is sortof possible to use standard higher quality paper... you will still need to allow time for drying... DON'T expect to be able to write a note quickly and stuff the paper in your pocket... that is unless:

a) you can read smear-glish, smear-ean, or smear-anese
b) you are wearing clothes that match/or are a complementary color of your ink choice

save your cash and buy a bunch of Pilot Petit1 pens... they are wonderful, but a lot thicker barreled than this pen...
The nib however is much thinner and is quite nice to write with... If this Ohto pen had a nib like the Petit1 it would be the PERFECT pen (for me)...
entropic23
Page 1 of 2 |  |