1 - 10 of 24 |  | 
I have been using this...
April 29, 2012
I have been using this pen for a few months now, mainly writing in my Moleskine watercolor journal to annotate my sketches. I love the pink color and compact size of the pen--it fits neatly in my small watercolor sketch kit. It writes beautifully and reliably in response to a light touch. Too much pressure and it feels somewhat scratchy unless the paper is extremely smooth. I'm generally writing on generously sized, somewhat textured watercolor paper with it. It is fine on that with a light touch...I get a nice consistent line and ink flow whether I am writing cursively or in block letters. Here is an example page from my journal:


Recently, I refilled a cartridge with Noodler's Lexington Gray (using a syringe). It took some effort to flush out the original non-waterproof ink but once the Lex Gray started flowing through I finally had reasonably waterproof ink in my pen. That allows me to sketch in watercolor as usual and not worry that writing already in place may smear. And frankly, I feel the pen writes more smoothly with the Lex Gray than it does with its "native" cartridge ink.

The pen has stood up fairly well to my not-so-careful handling and frequent exposure to water, but it is worth noting that the words "Ohto Tasche" which are silkscreened onto the cap have partially flaked off. I'm not fussed about it (and didn't take any stars off) because my concern is mainly how well the pen writes and serves as a daily journaling tool. In that capacity it is great. Of course, if the pen were handled more carefully than I do mine, the paint flaking off might not be an issue.

If this pen were available with a medium nib, I would certainly buy it.
7 people found this helpful
I bought this pink Ohto...
January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase
I bought this pink Ohto Tasche to replace a silver one I'd owned for several years and then lost.

It is probably the most convenient pen I own since it closes into such a compact shape and fits perfectly into a pocket. The construction of the pen is solid and it is weighted nicely when posted. On the other hand, as several reviewers have pointed out, the nibs on the Tasche tend to be very hit or miss, and the ink it comes with is objectively TERRIBLE. If you're willing to try tuning the nib, however, it's a great cheap fountain pen.

Of note: although Ohto is a Japanese company, the 'fine' nib on this pen is MUCH closer to a medium than a fine, and writes with about the same thickness as a 0.7mm fiber tip pen.
3 people found this helpful
Perfect and cute! I have...
November 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
Perfect and cute! I have no issues with pen skipping :D A good converter for this pen is the Monteverde Mini Converter.
3 people found this helpful
Nice small pen. I bought...
February 24, 2014
Nice small pen. I bought this to show support during breast cancer month. The nib is smooth, BUT is not as fine as I was thinking it would be :(
1 person found this helpful
This was my first Japanese...
December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase
This was my first Japanese fountain pen. I wanted to come back to fountain pens after leaving them for so long (My first was a Lamy Safari, medium nib, that my dad gifted to me) and since my handwriting has gotten quite small and neat over the years, I thought a fine nib would be right. Even though this pen didn't have the best of reviews, the price was good, and I liked the appearance.
For the price I paid, I'm very happy with it~ I love the colour and style. The nib, however, doesn't seem to really be a true "fine". It's either a very very wet fine, or a good medium... It makes my handwriting blur together a bit, since it's already small... I'm in search of a true fine nib that still looks good and is student priced ~ However, ink flow is very good, no scratching, and rarely any skipping.
I'd give it a 3.5, but since there's no half stars, I'll round up to a 4. I think it's an nice pen for beginning fountain users or people like me, returning to fountains after a long time.
1 person found this helpful
I love this pen. Very...
August 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
I love this pen. Very smooth. It was smaller than I expected and it took my a moment to get the set up, but I love how handy it is, I love the small size, I love the color, its is absolutely beautiful and elegant.
seems short at first,...
June 26, 2015
Verified Purchase
seems short at first, but is normal size when you put the cap on the end to write. nice additon to my pen collection!
I love the shape and...
April 27, 2015
Verified Purchase
I love the shape and size of these pens. I have pink ink in this one.
Very nice...
March 23, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very nice
Although the description...
December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase
Although the description says "Fine", the pen I bought, is in fact a Medium point. When I bought it only medium was available.

It NEVER dries up, seriously. Sometimes I go up to a month without using it and it flows from the very first swipe on the paper.

Very lovely pink colour. I personally prefer to put the lid on to make it longer although it does get a big heavy at times.

Downfall, is that it is so smooth it sometimes slips between my fingers when writing.

A very good medium point but have now realised that I should have waited for the fine points to come into stock, which I believe they are now.
1 - 10 of 24 |  |