JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.9 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 29, 2012
I have been using this...
I have been using this pen for a few months now, mainly writing in my Moleskine watercolor journal to annotate my sketches. I love the pink color and compact size of the pen--it fits neatly in my small watercolor sketch kit. It writes beautifully and reliably in response to a light touch. Too much pressure and it feels somewhat scratchy unless the paper is extremely smooth. I'm generally writing on generously sized, somewhat textured watercolor paper with it. It is fine on that with a light touch...I get a nice consistent line and ink flow whether I am writing cursively or in block letters. Here is an example page from my journal:

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7114/7094902931_74b0aba141.jpg

Recently, I refilled a cartridge with Noodler's Lexington Gray (using a syringe). It took some effort to flush out the original non-waterproof ink but once the Lex Gray started flowing through I finally had reasonably waterproof ink in my pen. That allows me to sketch in watercolor as usual and not worry that writing already in place may smear. And frankly, I feel the pen writes more smoothly with the Lex Gray than it does with its "native" cartridge ink.

The pen has stood up fairly well to my not-so-careful handling and frequent exposure to water, but it is worth noting that the words "Ohto Tasche" which are silkscreened onto the cap have partially flaked off. I'm not fussed about it (and didn't take any stars off) because my concern is mainly how well the pen writes and serves as a daily journaling tool. In that capacity it is great. Of course, if the pen were handled more carefully than I do mine, the paint flaking off might not be an issue.

If this pen were available with a medium nib, I would certainly buy it.

5 people found this helpful
 
January 31, 2014
I bought this pink Ohto...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pink Ohto Tasche to replace a silver one I'd owned for several years and then lost.

It is probably the most convenient pen I own since it closes into such a compact shape and fits perfectly into a pocket. The construction of the pen is solid and it is weighted nicely when posted. On the other hand, as several reviewers have pointed out, the nibs on the Tasche tend to be very hit or miss, and the ink it comes with is objectively TERRIBLE. If you're willing to try tuning the nib, however, it's a great cheap fountain pen.

Of note: although Ohto is a Japanese company, the 'fine' nib on this pen is MUCH closer to a medium than a fine, and writes with about the same thickness as a 0.7mm fiber tip pen.

2 people found this helpful
kofixaddict
 
November 3, 2011
Perfect and cute! I have...
Verified Purchase
Perfect and cute! I have no issues with pen skipping :D A good converter for this pen is the Monteverde Mini Converter.

2 people found this helpful
ziwei.hao
 
February 24, 2014
Nice small pen. I bought...
Nice small pen. I bought this to show support during breast cancer month. The nib is smooth, BUT is not as fine as I was thinking it would be :(

1 person found this helpful
 
December 12, 2013
This was my first Japanese...
Verified Purchase
This was my first Japanese fountain pen. I wanted to come back to fountain pens after leaving them for so long (My first was a Lamy Safari, medium nib, that my dad gifted to me) and since my handwriting has gotten quite small and neat over the years, I thought a fine nib would be right. Even though this pen didn't have the best of reviews, the price was good, and I liked the appearance.
For the price I paid, I'm very happy with it~ I love the colour and style. The nib, however, doesn't seem to really be a true "fine". It's either a very very wet fine, or a good medium... It makes my handwriting blur together a bit, since it's already small... I'm in search of a true fine nib that still looks good and is student priced ~ However, ink flow is very good, no scratching, and rarely any skipping.
I'd give it a 3.5, but since there's no half stars, I'll round up to a 4. I think it's an nice pen for beginning fountain users or people like me, returning to fountains after a long time.

1 person found this helpful
huongmao88
 
December 9, 2013
Although the description...
Verified Purchase
Although the description says "Fine", the pen I bought, is in fact a Medium point. When I bought it only medium was available.

It NEVER dries up, seriously. Sometimes I go up to a month without using it and it flows from the very first swipe on the paper.

Very lovely pink colour. I personally prefer to put the lid on to make it longer although it does get a big heavy at times.

Downfall, is that it is so smooth it sometimes slips between my fingers when writing.

A very good medium point but have now realised that I should have waited for the fine points to come into stock, which I believe they are now.

conchi.mosqueravazquez
 
April 23, 2013
OK, so I wrote my review...
Verified Purchase
OK, so I wrote my review too soon about this pen. After tweaking it for a couple months, I finally got the pen to work. I'm not entirely sure what I did to make it write better, but now I really like this pen. Now it writes smoothly and doesn't skip. It is cheap, easy to carry around, and so far doesn't have any noticeable blemishes. If you can get your pen to work, it is worth the buy.

fastpitchmegz24
 
October 16, 2012
This pen looks really...
Verified Purchase
This pen looks really cool but it is not good quality at all. My cheap pilot varsity writes better than this pen. I can only get it to write properly for short amounts of time. It is extremely scratchy and skips a lot. I wouldn't buy this pen again, nor would I buy any other tasche products in the future. I am pretty disappointed with this purchase.

fastpitchmegz24
 
November 24, 2011
Cute pen... is a bit...
Verified Purchase
Cute pen... is a bit scratchy but other than that it's great quality

ziwei.hao
 
August 2, 2011
I read the reviews but...
Verified Purchase
I read the reviews but was attracted to the design so decided to take a chance. I love it! I had no problem getting ink to flow. The nib functions properly and it writes very smoothly. I love the size-- I have small hands and enjoy a slimline pen. The pink is almost lavender-- lovely!

dream_true