1 - 10 of 36 |  | 
These are wonderful pencils...
November 8, 2011
These are wonderful pencils - incredibly smooth. Like writing with butter!! They are great for both general writing and for sketching/drawing. Well worth the money.
10 people found this helpful
I've been painting and...
March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase
I've been painting and drawing for nearly 35 years -- where has this DREAM pencil been hiding? I love both the regular Palomino Blackwing and the Palomino Blackwing 602. I tend to draw continuously on a piece of paper. I find both pencils very smooth and rarely if ever have they stopped my line flow with annoying snags along the pencils path. I have used some pencils in the past that have snagged ever few inches. I mean it when I call these DREAM pencils. Thanks for reintroducing them to the market. :)
6 people found this helpful
Superb pencils in every...
May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase
Superb pencils in every way... no ifs, no buts. Right up there and beyond with Tombow Mono 100 and Hi-uni. The eraser is a real sleeper...when I'm finished with a PB602 I remove the glued on ferrule and adapt it on to my other quality pencils that are otherwise eraserless. My Eagle Turquoise with a PB602 ferrule/eraser attached is a classy looking dude. Don't ever throw away your ferrules when the pencil is used up.
5 people found this helpful
I find the 602 to be...
December 27, 2011
I find the 602 to be harder and less dark than regular Palomino Blackwings. The 602 series are more faithful to the original Eberhart Faber Blackwings in lead content as well as design. I really like these for sketching where I use the darker Blackwing more for shading or life drawing they’re both very smooth pencils. I was surprised that the eraser works very well and is removable on a lot of pencils I find the erasers more of an afterthought and I need to carry a separate one. Over all there a great pencil all the ones I’ve tried had nicely centered lead cores.
6 people found this helpful
Received this after reading...
December 11, 2011
Verified Purchase
Received this after reading much fanfare in the press and blogosphere. The 602 is a well-made quality pencil. Lead centering is near perfect, all pencils in a dozen are perfectly straight, the finish is fantastic and well done, and the erasers actually work well. Who would know you can extend them quite a bit over the life of the pencil. It's a surprise the balance is not affected with the big eraser on end, and the cores are smooth, dark, and hold a point well. Will definitely get more. The only problem is choosing amongst some pretty fantastic stuff like mono 100s and hi-uni's.
5 people found this helpful
Pencil Snob
Awesome. Update review....
July 15, 2012
Update review. Ha ha, now that I've figured out the ferule and the eraser I actually would not change anything about it. It's perfect and unique. What helps is replaceble erasers which is nice to have.

5 stars.
3 people found this helpful
Top pencil. Great wood...
July 15, 2012
Top pencil. Great wood that sharpens beautifully and the graphite is top notch that hold the point nicely. Nice grey paint also. Writing or drawing with this pencil reminds me of Hi-Uni F grade pencil. Excellent for writing or drawing.

One thing I do not like is the ferule and flat eraser which results in pencil being 20cm long. I would preferred a standard size of about 17cm long without eraser or with round standard eraser as this ferule and eraser that sticks out sideways kind of creates some extra weight and gets in my way.

2 people found this helpful
A HUGE HUGE fan of these...
October 26, 2015
Verified Purchase
A HUGE HUGE fan of these pencils. From the smell of them, to the way they feels in your hand, and how smooth it glides and writes. Superb and totally worth all the money. I tend to find myself liking lead pencils and lead holders to normal wooden pencils but not anymore. These are the first things I reach for and sometimes the only things (in terms of graphite) I'll have to use nowadays.

Out of the blackwing, the pearl, and the 602's; the 602's are my favorite. Then comes the pearl and the "original" is my least favorite (but still a favorite in general.) I prefer harder pencils so that is why I find myself reaching for these the most. What I don't like is how often I have to sharpen them, which is why I used to always prefer to use a mechanical pencils. But I have found no mechanical pencil to be as smooth as these so sharpening them is worth it.

Can't recommend them enough for artists and designers and stationary freaks.
Super item. Best pencils...
October 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
Super item. Best pencils ever!
Wow, it took years for...
September 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
Wow, it took years for me to order these pencils because I didn't want a box of 12 if I ended up not loving them...

I'm so glad I finally caved and bought the box! They're smooth and the eraser is very good. I've given away 4 of them so far to people that will appreciate a nicer pencil.

The only downside, and it's slight, is that the eraser does cause the pencil to be a bit unbalanced for writing. I solve this by popping out the eraser while I do a longer writing session and then replacing it when I'm finished using the pencil. A bit of a tedious way to use the pencil, but I don't mind.
1 - 10 of 36 |  |