JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 8, 2011
These are wonderful pencils...
These are wonderful pencils - incredibly smooth. Like writing with butter!! They are great for both general writing and for sketching/drawing. Well worth the money.

9 people found this helpful
 
March 16, 2013
I've been painting and...
Verified Purchase
I've been painting and drawing for nearly 35 years -- where has this DREAM pencil been hiding? I love both the regular Palomino Blackwing and the Palomino Blackwing 602. I tend to draw continuously on a piece of paper. I find both pencils very smooth and rarely if ever have they stopped my line flow with annoying snags along the pencils path. I have used some pencils in the past that have snagged ever few inches. I mean it when I call these DREAM pencils. Thanks for reintroducing them to the market. :)

5 people found this helpful
jillcarnes
 
May 10, 2012
Superb pencils in every...
Verified Purchase
Superb pencils in every way... no ifs, no buts. Right up there and beyond with Tombow Mono 100 and Hi-uni. The eraser is a real sleeper...when I'm finished with a PB602 I remove the glued on ferrule and adapt it on to my other quality pencils that are otherwise eraserless. My Eagle Turquoise with a PB602 ferrule/eraser attached is a classy looking dude. Don't ever throw away your ferrules when the pencil is used up.

4 people found this helpful
 
December 27, 2011
I find the 602 to be...
I find the 602 to be harder and less dark than regular Palomino Blackwings. The 602 series are more faithful to the original Eberhart Faber Blackwings in lead content as well as design. I really like these for sketching where I use the darker Blackwing more for shading or life drawing they’re both very smooth pencils. I was surprised that the eraser works very well and is removable on a lot of pencils I find the erasers more of an afterthought and I need to carry a separate one. Over all there a great pencil all the ones I’ve tried had nicely centered lead cores.

6 people found this helpful
 
December 11, 2011
Received this after reading...
Verified Purchase
Received this after reading much fanfare in the press and blogosphere. The 602 is a well-made quality pencil. Lead centering is near perfect, all pencils in a dozen are perfectly straight, the finish is fantastic and well done, and the erasers actually work well. Who would know you can extend them quite a bit over the life of the pencil. It's a surprise the balance is not affected with the big eraser on end, and the cores are smooth, dark, and hold a point well. Will definitely get more. The only problem is choosing amongst some pretty fantastic stuff like mono 100s and hi-uni's.

5 people found this helpful
 
July 15, 2012
Awesome. Update review....
Awesome.
Update review. Ha ha, now that I've figured out the ferule and the eraser I actually would not change anything about it. It's perfect and unique. What helps is replaceble erasers which is nice to have.

5 stars.

3 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
July 15, 2012
Top pencil. Great wood...
Top pencil. Great wood that sharpens beautifully and the graphite is top notch that hold the point nicely. Nice grey paint also. Writing or drawing with this pencil reminds me of Hi-Uni F grade pencil. Excellent for writing or drawing.

One thing I do not like is the ferule and flat eraser which results in pencil being 20cm long. I would preferred a standard size of about 17cm long without eraser or with round standard eraser as this ferule and eraser that sticks out sideways kind of creates some extra weight and gets in my way.


2 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
December 8, 2014
I bought these for quick...
Verified Purchase
I bought these for quick drawing and I am happy i did. The lead is sturdy and the tips don't break off with a little pressure. Nice solid pencil for the price.

mjcolin2000
 
December 6, 2014
Got this as a gift for...
Verified Purchase
Got this as a gift for my girlfriend. She uses them as sketching pencils, and has ordered more.

 
October 23, 2014
Fantastic pencils! They...
Verified Purchase
Fantastic pencils! They are very pretty and I get a lot of compliments. They write really well too.

bsanfilippo123